I booked this property for two reasons:
(1) It's a Kimpton, and we love Kimptons;
It was meant to be a four night stay to celebrate a birthday.
Well, we never stayed here because check in was a hugely frustrating experience.
If you don't mind being instructed on the finer points of check in times (uh. 3:00?) and room availability by a unwelcoming front desk, then this might go better for you than it did for us.
If you are staying for a convention, perhaps you will be treated better. Because it matters not that you are Kimpton members. Yes, WE GET IT.
When we were eventually offered a room, we were told by the front desk supervisor that he had moved another guest to another hotel. HUH? To find room for us? But the room was vacant already, so where was this guest before you moved them to another hotel to make room for us? Uh, and we had just been told ten minutes earlier that NO ROOMS were available at that time. So, the mystery guests were hidden away in the closet?
Never mind, thank goodness we love Kimptons, because another Kimpton in Chicago took over our reservation at our request and salvaged our long weekend.
Never again at Palomar. This was reinforced after we received a rather crisp email reply from the GM of this property, challenging our account of our check in experience.
Okee dokee. Thanks anyway
Um, maybe any room available, so as to avoid interaction with the unfriendly staff
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6 April 2012
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor. As you stated we have already been in contact by e-mail, as well as me calling you a few times with no response. As a senior reviewer you have clearly reviewed many hotels and restaurants so we certainly think it is important to respond to your concerns.
Regarding your comment on my e-mail to you, I am very certain that my e-mail to you was not crisp, in fact as can be seen by all of my responses here on TA, I am always courteous and professional. The fact that I may not agree with your description of events and let you know that, does not make a crisp e-mail . It just shows we are both entitled to our points of view.
Once again, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations, and I am glad our sister property the Allegro was able to do so. It seems they may be a great match for your travel needs.
Have a wonderful day,
GM - Palomar Chicago
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC