Tours and Tickets
AMBER COVE-TAINO BAY Super Buggy Tour
4.5

AMBER COVE-TAINO BAY Super Buggy Tour

By DR PRIME TOURS
Recommended by 91% of travellers
91% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
from
C$187.93
per group (up to 2)
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-120, max of 30 per group
Duration: 150–180 minutes
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English, Spanish
More


  • Transportation round trip, English Speaker Tour Guide and Helmets.
  • Pick up and drop-off at AMBER COVE-TAINO BAY CRUISE SHIP PORTS
  • Googles and Dominican Flag Bandana per Person
  • MAMAJUANA Shots, Hot Chocolate and Coffee tasting
  • 1 Water Proof Phone Case per Buggy
What's not included
  • Alcohol drinks, Gratuities


Start:Multiple pickup locations offered.
  • Option 1
    Amber Cove Cruise Port, Maimón, 57000, Dominican Republic
    Come outside of Amber Cove, once you pass the Main Gate of Amber Cove, take the Left Sidewalk and continue walking for 100 meters and you will see our Tour guide Holding our Logo Company
  • Option 2
    Taíno Bay Cruise Port, Shore Excursions, Av. Antigua Via Férrea Muelle Turístico entre Av. Penetración Portuaria y, Calle Duarte, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
    Come out of TAINO BAY Cruise Ship Port, continue Passing the Taxis and you will find Us at the Main Gate of TAINO BAY Cruise Ship Port holding our Logo Company
  • Option 3
    Playa Dorada, Carretera Luperon Km 5, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
    At the Highway, the Main Entry of Playa Dorada Resorts.
Pickup details
  • AMBER COVE CRUISE SHIP PORT: Come outside of Amber Cove, once you pass the Main Gate of Amber Cove, take the Left Sidewalk and continue walking for 100 meters and you will see our Tour guide Holding our Logo Company DR PRIME TOURS.
Hotel pickup offered
During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included hotels.
    Airport pickup offered
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included airports.
    • La Union Airport, Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
    Port pickup offered
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included ports.
    • Amber Cove Cruise Port, Maimón, 57000, Dominican Republic
    • Taíno Bay Cruise Port, Shore Excursions, Av. Antigua Via Férrea Muelle Turístico entre Av. Penetración Portuaria y, Calle Duarte, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
    End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

      • Not wheelchair accessible
      • Pushchair accessible
      • Near public transportation
      • Infants must sit on laps
      • Infant seats available
      If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 327203P4

      • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
      • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
      • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
      • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
      • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
      • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
      • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travellers

      • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

      The tour operator has provided the following answers to customers’ questions.
      Is this tour appropriate for young children?
      All guests must be at least six years old to participate.
      Answered Jan 2024

      If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 327203P4

      Reserve your spot

      Similar experiences

      Itinerary
      • You’ll have 3 starting options
        Or, you can also get picked up
        See departure details
      • 1
        Puerto Plata
        Stop: 90 minutes
        See details
      • 2
        Playa de Guzmancito
        Stop: 30 minutes
        See details
      • You'll return to the starting point
      About the operator
      Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
      • DR PRIME TOURS
        356
        Caribbean
        Joined in October 2021
      • D3180NSashleyb
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Damajuaga Waterfalls AMAZING SERVICE
        William is the tour guide and is so incredibly sweet. He was full of information and made sure we were on time for our cruise. The tour guides: Jacob and Gordo were the best tour guides making sure we were safe and having fun. The waterfalls were beautiful, jumps and slides, the water was cold but felt amazing after the hike. The photographer Darlin was with us the entire hike and waterfalls and got great shots of us. Customer service is amazing, 100% recommend them.
        Written May 16, 2024
      • cindycP6021QY
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        Its a challenge
        This tour is not for the faint of heart. I have experience riding 4 wheel ATVs and it was a challenge. Lots of water and MUD. You will get very muddy on this tour so wear older clothes and especially SHOES. The company and guides were great and very patient with those that had less experience and those of us that got stuck in the mud or water crossings. Glad we did it, but still trying to get the mud out of our clothes and shoes.
        Written May 6, 2024
      • amberd802
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Perfect
        Me Encanto! I absolutely loved the tour. They treated us like one of they're own and made the experience very welcoming. I feel like i got a good taste of DR. I highly recommend water shoes!
        Written May 1, 2024
      • 971kishaf
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        It’s definitely a go!!
        We were a little weary of going outside the cruise for an excursion but my family had a great experience on the ATVS. All the guys were very professional and made sure everyone was safe on the ride. We would definitely do it again! The pictures and video offer was a great bonus as a vacation keepsake. Thanks guys!! 🥰
        Written April 27, 2024
      • Szucs1969
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        True Paradise
        Excellent day. Simply beautiful and the snorkeling was amazing. Bring your empty water bottles filled with pieces of banana, the fish lot it. Mangroves with the speed boat was so much fun. Highly recommend.
        Written April 22, 2024
      • Stay34852303982
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Best waterfall tour ever
        Anthony was paparazzi, Fernando driver and Piro was the tour guide. They were all great!! They took there time with us since it was our 1st time. Piro was the best "water taxi" ever if you're not a good swimmer. Pictures came out beautiful. Fernando took us to get the best lunch as well and kept our valuables safe while we were on tour. Please take their tour. 5 🌟 stars 2 thumbs up you won't regret it!!!
        Written April 20, 2024
      • Y712TJdanm
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great trip and great company.
        The waterfall hike was incredible for me (50) and my 2 teen aged sons. The hike is not the easiest thing so be prepared for a bit of a challenge but the reward on the way down is worth it.
        Written April 9, 2024
      • timoQ6431TG
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        The Best Experience EVER!
        I had the Best Time with this tour! DR Tours were PERFECT!! I made a mistake on my booking and the owner made me feel great! My family was at the wrong location and the owner and his staff helped us and made our experience absolutely fantastic! We also purchased the photo package which the photos came out Great! MUST BUY THE PHOTO PACKAGE! You will not be disappointed! Great Memories, I will recommend this excursion to everyone! Thank You! 🙏. Tim O’B
        Written April 8, 2024
      • Chloe T
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        One of the best excursions!
        This entire experience was 1000/10, the staff Anthony the shooter, Papi Champu our driver, and Leila our tour guide were remarkable. Everyone was very friendly, welcoming & energetic. The excursion itself was breathtaking and truly enjoyable. You can also book the excursion with lunch as well, after the tour they take you to a local restaurant. The food was fantastic!! You can tell it was made with love. Thank you for the experience! If you’re in Puerto Plata or close I definitely recommend this.
        Written April 2, 2024
      • robinorio
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        The perfect exciting adventure!
        Fantastic excursion for our day in Amber Cove from our cruise. Everyone involved was very friendly and made our adventure through the zip lines and waterfalls so much fun. It is well worth the cost!
        Written March 29, 2024
      • Traveler55211345142
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        My only choice when I visit DR!
        I absolutely love this company the did everything to make sure our trip went smoothly. The birthday girl was very surprised from beginning to end. Alfonso was an amazing ATV tour guide as well. DO NOT HESITATE to use this company. I will also choose them when I visit Amber Cove!
        Written March 21, 2024
      • N4062FJjg
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Tough hike, fun jumps
        This tour operator was very friendly and communicated well via Whatsapp. The driver and photographer were gracious hosts. The lunch provided was tasty. The hiking on the excursion was a bit more intense than we originally thought.
        Written March 21, 2024
      • Megan O
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great excursion with a local company for a great price in comparison to the cruise ship excursion.
        We had a great time! Even with a young 8 year old and a seasick 11 year old hiking we were all having fun. I was a little unsure on where to meet at first but we found it by asking around and when we got there we loaded up with our group and had no problems.
        Written March 20, 2024
      • S5000TTjoelj
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        DR Prime Tours gave a great experience!
        To be honest, I was a bit skeptical going outside Carnival to take this excursion, but when reviewing I saw that it was very similar to another excursion offered by the cruise line. I was also concerned a bit because the meeting point for the start of the excursion was outside the gates of the Amber Cove cruise center. These initial concerns, though, were allayed when we arrived at the meeting point and met the group of folks that took us on the excursion. The van they picked us up in was brand new and had very good air conditioning. The driver - Emil - was a great conversationalist and had a ton of information to share about the Dominican Republic and the general area. The photographer - Shooter - was also steeped with information and generally a straight shooter! The drive to the location was short and uneventful giving a glimpse of some of the areas and life of a citizen of DR. Once we arrive at the park, the process to obtain our safety gear and get on our hike was very easy and trouble free. Once we reached the water falls is when the real adventure began! These waterfalls are not for the faint at heart. A few of them required you to choose between a 10-20' jump into a pool, a natural stone slide or to chicken out and use the ladder. I was a bit surprised and concerned about the safety aspect but since we didn't chicken out, I was happy with the outcome. Pro tip - bring some nose plugs if you have an issue with water in your sinuses! Once we made it down from all the falls and back to our vehicle, we were driven to a family restaurant and provided with a buffet style "Dominican" meal. The food was terrific and included fried fish, fried chicken and some terrific rice and beans. There was also ample sodas and alcoholic drinks for everyone. While here, we were offered to buy the photo package for a fairly reasonable price. Be sure to consider this because the video and photo package provided is a great value - especially if you don't have your own GoPro or want to risk your phone or camera. After the meal, we were driven to a small farm with demonstrations of tobacco and coffee harvesting and cigar rolling. We were also given the chance to sample (and buy) the Mamajuana, cigars and a lot of other local crafts and items. The family wasn't overly pushy and the experience was pleasant. After this we were taken back to the cruise port with plenty of time to rejoin our cruise ship. This was a fantastic experience and done well by DR Prime Tours and Llames Co!
        Written March 20, 2024
      • lisagD8730NB
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        AMBER COVE-TAINO BAY 7-Damajagua Waterfalls and Lunch Tour
        This tour company was very professional and friendly. We had the best tour guide EVER! Ask for Paparazzo to take your photos and you will be very pleased. Both guides were very accommodating and ensured that a memorable time was made for the entire group. I would highly recommend using this family owned and operated organization! 5 stars for sure!!
        Written March 13, 2024
      See all 356 reviews
      These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

      Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

      Popular mentions

      4.5
      4.5 of 5 bubbles102 reviews
      Excellent
      87
      Very good
      6
      Average
      4
      Poor
      3
      Terrible
      2

      Pushpak P
      1 contribution
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Nov 2022
      Four of us booked buggy tour, after booking got msg from tour operator that it will be $100 extra since you are four people even though tour says group up to 15 people. We ended up paying $50 for an extra buggy. The tour included 30 minutes stop at the beach, which was beautiful and back to the origin. price does not include safety glasses or scarf. It only includes a helmet. glasses are $5 extra per person. Be prepared to get muddy.
      Written December 1, 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Hello Dear Guess 559pushpakp thanks for your review. I offered you a Full Refund and you agreed 1 day before doing your Tour to pay extra 50 USD for get 1 Buggy Extra ( i have the WhatsApp Conversation as a EVIDENCE). 1 Gallon of Gas is 6 USD at DR. We never pushed you to pay extra, we explained to you and you agreed to the 50 USD Extra for 1 extra 2 seaters Buggy, you supposed to get 1 Buggy 4 Seaters and you got 2 Buggys. Any way, thanks very much for your review and your Visit to the DR. God bless you 🙏🏾 William Gonzalez DR PRIME TOURS
      Written December 1, 2022
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Geoff K
      Lawrence31 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      We followed the directions we were given and ended up with a different company with a similar name. There wasn’t enough room in the transport to get us all there, because 7 of us weren’t supposed to be there. After waiting an hour in the sun 4 decided they had enough waiting for the transport and left. That left 3 for the 40 minute drive to the starting point. Somehow they hadn’t noticed that we were not on their manifest and checking with the lady in charge found that we were supposed to be with another company that was located back by our ship. They were going to drive us back to the company we booked with but after discussions between companies decided that we would stay with this company and the other would reimburse.
      So this review isn’t really for the company that we booked with except that their directions SUCK!
      Written January 8, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Hello Dear Guess GeoffK607. We are very sorry that you did your Tour whit other company. We were waiting for you at the Other Cruise ship Port Taino Bay. Some times Cruise ship Lines change the Itinerary whit enough information on time. Any way we will try to do our best that this not happens again whit other Tourists. Thanks for your Review and for help us to improve and provide a better Service. God bless you 🙏🏾 William Gonzalez DR PRIME TOURS
      Written January 24, 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Tammy L
      Cary, NC213 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Dec 2023 • Family
      The beach that was visited was extremely dirty, not at all like is mentioned in the advertisement. There was not a stop for drinks as advertised. There was a lot of driving on city streets which were very busy as opposed to off roading.

      We were late to the meeting point due to a confusion with the local time. The tour company was kind enough to have someone wait for us so that we could still do the tour.
      Written January 1, 2024
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Hello Dear Guess TammyL463. We are very Sorry for your bad Experience but You did not Participate on our AMBER COVE-TAINO BAY Super Buggy Tour. You are not in our Booking List. Make sure to put your Review to the Right Tour Provider. Is a little confused but Please Note. Our name is: AMBER COVE-TAINO BAY Super Buggy Tour. God bless you and join us next time for a Better Experience. José Dany González Crisóstomo DR PRIME TOURS Owner
      Written January 2, 2024
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Mostafa - Tabsh... J
      6 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great Experience. Less rough road leading with a cave swim and other activities. Enjoyed. People and staff are friendly. We had a little issue with our unit, they were prompt to fix. There two buggy assorted us to the main group.
      We even had a 75 year old lady in our group riding with her son and daughter-in-law.
      You can bargain the price, try booking as soon as you can if you are looking forward to doing this activity, so they can accommodate you. Though the place has enough units .
      Written January 21, 2024
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Ka7fns
      40 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      The tour was booked as a combination of a visit to 7 waterfalls area and a buggy ride on the beach.

      The weather was poor and the waterfall area was closed due to hazardous conditions. We all fully understood that and appreciate the safety concerns. What we don’t know was that the 7 waterfalls tour was separate from the buggy tour. We had thought part of the buggy trip was riding to where the falls were. Guess that’s not the case.

      None the less we rode the buggies through grimy water puddles on a nasty dirt road. I say nasty because the area isn’t clean. There’s a lot of trash (litter), garbage and for all I know where driving through greywater sewage from the run off out of the fields.

      We stopped by a beach that was overrun with pack of friendly, feral malnourished dogs that live on the beach looking for hand outs while they are making new puppies for us. Trash and general litter everywhere. I’m sorry but they can’t blame the garbage everywhere on the storm.

      We visited a rickety old roadside cigar factory and tried a sample of something homemade Mama Juana , then back to base to clean up followed then a crazy van ride to someplace for lunch. Don’t try the fish unless you enjoy a lot of bones.

      Not much there to enjoy to honest.

      Is at crazy van ride as we almost enjoyed a head on with a dump truck.

      On the way back from lunch to what we thought would be the drop off back at the port, we stopped by a chocolate factory and another cigar maker etc. we kind felt hostage at this point as the schedule wasn’t clear. We made back to the drop off point just fine though.

      The excursion didn’t measure up to the photos and other reviews and felt like we would have just been better off staying in the port area and enjoyed the shops and bars there. At least that area was clean and well kept.

      I will say all the people we met were very nice and the business we dealt with felt legitimate and was clean.

      Just set your expectations correctly before hand and you’ll be fine on your adventure.

      My only comment directly to the tour company would be to better communicate the plan from start to finish, especially if a portion of the tour we expected couldn’t be completed. We would have opted to skip the last couple of stops.

      Thanks.
      Written February 12, 2024
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Jessica A
      Tampa, FL12 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Feb 2023 • Couples
      What an amazing time. If you want to go through the jungle and get dirty this is the tour. We did the buggy cart and we had a blast. When I say dirty I mean you get dirty. They also have ATV’s so if u don’t want to get too dirty I recommend that. If you don’t mind mud everywhere and I mean everywhere then the buggy cart is the way to go. The buggy cart goes through the water fast the ATV you have to ride it slow. The crew was funny and fun they loved looking at as get wet & dirty. The camera guy took so many pictures of us it was really funny. Great time great experience
      Written February 10, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Alexander G
      5 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Dec 2023 • Family
      This excursion was adventurous. My party of 4 had the time of their lives. Truly unforgettable. Be prepared to do a 15-minute walk from the ship. I highly recommend bringing water shoes, clothes to change into, and some cash since you will be stopping by a spot where they sell merchandise. The guys who took care of us the whole time were amazing people. Not trying to spoil anything else here. Just be prepared to get dirty! Luis Miguel, Chris el Aleman, and Hector, thank you so so much for making this experience unforgettable. You guys are awesome. Please ask for them if possible!
      Written December 14, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Barb B
      7 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Feb 2023 • Family
      Family trip was amazing! We saw so much and had a great time with the Buggy Tour! Willaim was awesome with communication and organizing everything from our pick up to extra recommendations. Lunch was delicious and our driver Angelo was super friendly, and ensured safe travels everywhere we needed to stop throughout our day! Would recommend 100%!
      Written February 27, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Naomi V
      123 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      We had a wonderful time here exploring the DR and getting nice and muddy! They will take you to a place called “the jungle” where they sell cocoa, art, and jewelry. I made the mistake of spending over $100 on a latimar ring that ended up being fake and oxidizing on my finger. Just be aware! The tour itself is wonderful and I recommend it!
      Written November 25, 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Brian
      United States17 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Feb 2022 • Friends
      The pickup in Cabarete was prompt and easy. The instructions were mainly Spanish as were most of the participants. The buggies are fun to drive! You will get wet and muddy. You can control somewhat depending how you drive - hit the water with any speed and you will be awash - go slower and mainly legs get soaked. But you will get muddy. Stops on the tour are a little long and feel designed to present sales to local merchants. Still a unique and fun experience.
      Written March 1, 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Showing results 1-10 of 96

      AMBER COVE-TAINO BAY Super Buggy Tour provided by DR PRIME TOURS

      All Dominican Republic HotelsDominican Republic Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Dominican Republic
      All things to do in Dominican Republic
      Day Trips in Dominican RepublicCasinos & Gambling in Dominican Republic
      RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars