Toronto Tours
Algonquin Provincial Park Day Tour from Toronto
4.5

Algonquin Provincial Park Day Tour from Toronto

By Travelling Chicken
About
from
C$180.00
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 6-60, max of 13 per group
Duration: 12h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Live guide: English
More


  • Driver/guide
  • Transportation from Toronto by minivan or 15 passenger van
  • Canoe, snowshoes or ice cleats rental.
  • Entry/Admission - Oxtongue River-Ragged Falls Provincial Park
  • Entry/Admission - Lookout Trail
  • Entry/Admission - Beaver Pond Trail
  • Entry/Admission - Mizzy Lake Trail
What's not included
  • Gratuities
  • Breakfast
  • Lunch


Start:Multiple meeting point options.
  • Option 1
    904 Dufferin St, Toronto, ON M6H 4A9, Canada
    Meeting in front of Beer Store (Croatia and Dufferin Street) at 7.00 am.
  • Option 2
    Ripley's Aquarium of Canada, 288 Bremner Blvd, Toronto, ON M5V 3L9, Canada
    Meeting at Bremmer Boulevard at 7.20 am.
End:
  • Option 1
    Wilson, North York, ON M3H, Canada
    Yellow line (goes to downtown)
  • Option 2
    Dufferin, Toronto, ON M6H 4E6, Canada
    Goes to east and west site of the city (green line)

  • Not wheelchair accessible
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 74516P3

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 13 travellers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 74516P3

Reserve your spot

Similar experiences

Itinerary
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
About the operator
Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
  • Travelling Chicken
    189
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Joined in December 2016
  • pamelalf2017
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    GO!
    Leo was a great guide. The park is beautiful in all aspects. Some of the trails are very rocky so if you have any limitations, be prepared. The bus ride wasn’t easy for my 6’2” partner. It was a transit van really and there is little leg room but he still had a great experience.
    Written May 6, 2024
  • S J O
    0 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Tour cancelled the night before
    I booked a day trip to Bruce Penninsula for December 24th, was really excited as this was one of the few things I wanted to do during my time in Toronto. Was emailed at around 7.30pm the night before the trip saying it was cancelled. They wanted to move me to the 26th for the tour but that was the day I was leaving. Supposed to be getting a full refund but I am still waiting. Can’t comment on the quality of the tour itself as I never got to do it.
    Written January 4, 2024
  • Noz1
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great trip but be prepared for a long day!
    A packed full 12 hour day. Excellent venues to visit and would highly recommend this trip. There were only 6 people on our trip so bizarrely they stuck us all in a car that was quite cramped to be honest. They no doubt saved money not using a transit van equivalent. The trip is really about taking you from A to B as opposed to anything being "guided" but this was fine. The driver was a good person and did a great job ferrying us all around. He was Filipino (apologies can't remember his name) and a credit to the company. We did the boat included for Niagara Falls and this was simply brilliant as you experience the power and sound of the falls. Maple farm was good but the wine location was somewhat small and they only let you try the basic wines. Nonetheless, overall I would recommend this trip to others as we certainly enjoyed it.
    Written October 2, 2023
  • Grace B
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great Escape
    Had an amazing adventure. I took the Bruce Peninsula Day Trip. Seen things that were just breathtaking. It was like being taken to another country. Just the escape from the city I was looking for. Went solo and just felt like I was with a group of new friends. Joe was an amazing guide..great information…very funny…and makes sure you are safe and sound! Would definitely do it again.
    Written June 25, 2023
  • GinaC01
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Maple and Wine, Festival of Light
    I enjoyed the 1 day tour and festival of light. It was worth the money we paid for this fantastic day. Too bad we didn't stay over night, next year we will. Thank you!!!!
    Written December 29, 2022
  • OliviaAugust
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great Day in Niagara!!
    I had the best time on this tour! The itinerary was perfect and it was a well paced busy day with lots of free time to explore! We had some unique stops that If on my own would not have known to visit! Our tour guide Ramiro was very welcoming, organized, and spoke a lot about the area! I highly recommend booking a tour with this company … it’s a day well spent! I will book another tour with them again!
    Written September 6, 2022
  • lucaskT9850SS
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jump or not to jump – that is the question
    It was literally the most fun I had during my visit in Canada. The places we visited were wonderful and the weather was great, albeit this can't be impacted by Tripadvisor. ;-) Joe was an excellent tour guide: very considerate, always in a good mood and basically part of us. I would definitely recommend doing this trip.
    Written August 11, 2022
  • tammy10469
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    The Grotto and Tobermory with the Travelling Chicken tours and Mike
    My friend and I did a last minute day trip to the The Bruce Peninsula (the Grotto/ Tobermory etc). Our trip was organized through Lenka and Mike was our driver and guide for the day. I like doing my own trips and exploring, so I don't normally do group tours, but I really enjoyed this group tour. Mike was a great guide. He is very personable and knowledgable. He made sure everyone in the group felt included and was safe. He provided a good mix of group time for hiking and showing you the sites and free time to explore and make the day your own. This tour company uses a 15 seater van instead of a large bus, so it feels more like a day out with friends. We had an unexpected bonus stop at Inglis Falls on the wayThe weather was not on our side for kayaking to the Flowerpots, but Mike offered us the opportunity to spend the last part of the day at Sauble Beach after all of our other activities. The water at The Grotto and the swimming area is absolutely beautiful and definitely worth visiting. I highly recommend booking with Travelling Chickens and if you are lucky enough to get Mike as your guide, you will have a wonderful time! Thank you Lenka for organizing and making us the yummy lunch. Thank your Mike for a great trip and for putting up with 'wild locals'. :) We will be booking other tours in the future.
    Written July 26, 2022
  • dorothys798
    0 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great day trip!
    I did the Bruce Peninsula kayaking & hiking tour with Ramiro. It is a long drive and long day but it was worth it. It was so beautiful. I was pleasantly surprised that a picnic lunch was also provided. Ramiro was also our designated photographer. He took hundreds of pictures and created a shared album! Everything was great and I had an amazing time!
    Written July 26, 2022
  • mangelicamonroy
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great Day
    This was a great day- as usual with Travelling Chicken Trips, all the tour goes as described. Great logistics, ride, places we visited!!!!!!
    Written June 9, 2022
  • ivijank
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Thank You
    The trip was postponed by one day to have sunny weather and we started an hour earlier to enjoy the Niagara Falls not overcrowded. Simply beautiful! Both tastings were great.. thank for this amazing trip Mike!
    Written May 4, 2022
  • margot r
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great day!
    Great combination of activities! We enjoyed every bit of it. Advice; wait for lunch in Niagara on the lake.
    Written April 29, 2022
  • Dr_Gis64
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A little bit different from the rest and worth every cent
    We particularly wanted a smaller tour and didn’t want to be taken to the guide’s mates places. We paid extra to be picked up from our hotel and then to the meeting place where we met with our guide for the day- Mike. He was a very knowledgeable, affable chap who knew his stuff and nothing was too much trouble. What we really appreciated was his flexibility and willingness to cut shorter time spent at falls, as the Hornblower cruises weren’t yet running, and to spend more time at the other stops. He had good recommendations everywhere and was great company on what was a long day for him. Would definitely recommend this company and will use them again. Thanks Lenka for making all the arrangements
    Written April 26, 2022
  • ivijank
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fantastic
    Thanx Mike for a great day trip. Everything was well organized and our group of 9 was of perfect size. We even made a little not planned detour to see the beach.. FANTASTIC
    Written April 20, 2022
  • venkata8002
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Excellent traveling experience
    My 3 day trip was most memorable trip ever had. Though I was solo but Travel chicken ensured it's a friendly trip and not just a regular tours like others. Thank you Lenka...you are awesome and will always recommend Travel chicken
    Written April 20, 2022
See all 189 reviews
These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles34 reviews
Excellent
25
Very good
4
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
4

OldMacD0nald
South Wales32 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 • Couples
We enjoyed our day trip to the Algonquin park with Mike. It was a very long day but all the stops were well timed. Canoeing and hiking were fun, but the best part was swimming in the lake - such an amazing location and crystal clear water. The only downside was that Mike, although called a 'guide', didn't really guide us at all. He was basically just a driver. He didn't speak throughout the whole journey, just played music, and we didn't learn anything from him at the stops about the history of the park or the wildlife. Maybe I was expecting too much, but please be aware of this if you are expecting a guided tour.
Written August 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

John M
106 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We started at 8am for a four hour drive with one stop of at shop and one other pickup.

We canoed on the lake for 40mins. Then we where asked if we wanted to do a 5k hike or a 10.5 hike. We felt obliged to do the 10k as the guide seemed very keen as did the others.

This hike went on for four hours at high walking speed set by the guide up and down hills. It was boring and not something we wanted to do on our holidays to this length. We have done many hikes in the past much longer and tougher than this but didn't want to do this type of hike for this long on our holidays. Even though the wonderful owner Lenka said that we supposedly struggled by others.

After 4 hours of up and down hiking we got back and again stopped at another waterfall then stopped again at a shop for the guide to get himself tubs of ice cream. The tour seems to fit around the guide more than him knowing his audience. We got home at 10pm.

We contacted the wonderfully rude owner Lenka who went ahead without our consent and contacted the other members in our group who supposedly stated that we where struggling. Lenka didn't ask our permission to contact the other members of the group which is completely unprofessional and I think illegal.

This was a terrible experience from start to finish and an expensive tour when there.betyer ones out there much much cheaper.

I'd absolutely avoid and it's been reported to Toronto tourist board..

Avoid
Written September 22, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry for your experience. As we have exchanged few emails regarding this topic, I have offered you at the first place travel credit which could be used anytime in the future. This was refused from your side. In your first email, you were complaining about travelt time from Toronto to Algonquin. We can't really change the distance and we can't do anything about travel time. You can easily check Google maps before the tour which will show you 3 hour travel time from Toronto to Algonquin park west gate. Your travel time was 3,5 hours which includes additional stop at the second pick up point and washroom stop. We also have to drive from the West gate Algonquin to Canoe Lake for another 20 minutes as we have to drive between the hikes in Algonquin. Your second complain was about the hiking trail which has been picked by all of you. Our tour guide gave you a choice to hike shorter hikes or long hike and as you were small group of 5, everyone has agreed on longer hike as that is the most beautiful hike of Algonquin. The tour guide has asked 5 times to make sure everyone agrees. If even one person wouldn't agree, we would continue with a short hike. But everyone at that time voted for the long hike including you and your partner. The last complain was about the last stop at the Ragged Falls which is a short half an hour walk to the falls. I understand, that you were tired, however this stop was part of the itinerary and of we wouldn't stop it would not be fair to other travelers as this stop is the favorite stop of all travelers. There is always a choice to stay in the van and waot for the group if you bare tired. We are an adventure tour company and our travelers always loved that they can participate in customizing a tour. As I explained to you in a email, our tour guide could have take you on short one hour hike which would be much more easier for him, but he wanted to give you a full experience of Algonquinnand he spend his extra time and energy to show you the best of Algonquin. Also, we have asked for a feedback of other travelers joining the tour without naming anybody and they all said they had a great time and enjoyed the long hike. That's all what we asked...for the feedback. You have asked for a money refund in exchange of not posting a bad reviews on our social media...this is not a way how to safe little bit of money....Enjoy the rest of your vacation in Canada.
Written September 29, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rajat Saxena
Toronto, Canada14 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020
The tour itinerary was pretty good. The best part of the tour was canoeing at the Canoe lake , drive through the Algonquin park roads, fall colored visitor center parking and of course the coffee stops :) :)

Lookout point trail was very scenic for the fall experience but the lookout point was just good and not the most spectacular one. I personally feel Algonquin has much better lookout points to explore.

Ragged falls was very ordinary but the trail to reach there through the mud was fun, anyways it can be counted as only and only a one time experience.

Kudos to Travelling Chicken for arranging this tour.
Written October 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

jandel2017
Toronto, Canada6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Solo
Had sooo much fun on this trip! I was reluctant at first to go canoeing coz I’ve never done it before. But, Lenka and Jubert are very supportive to beginners and I enjoyed it so much that i’m planning for more canoe/kayak trips in the future. The view at the Lookout Trail is just priceless. All the destinations are amazing. I would definitely recommend 💯 oh, and we saw a moose. A fun surprise to end an amazing trip.
Written September 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Maria Luisa S
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Solo
The tour was very well organized. I felt I was traveling with friends even though I didn’t know anybody there. Mike was amazing!!!! You guys from Travelling Chicken are doing a great job. I had a very good time.
Written August 18, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Nick M
Paris, France8 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The places we were taken too were excellent, hiking and canoeing. Our guide, Joe, was so good. He did an excellent job. However, we felt that there was not enough correct information provided before the day (lunch arrangements and no mention of swimming). Also, for such a long day we spent a lot of time in the van. It would have been a better day if had been able to get out more and walk more. Finally, for safety reasons, two guides would have been a lot better. Joe had to do a lot of driving over the day. Not great for him or us.
Written July 30, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

swainejr025
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020
We had perfect weather for that day. We enjoyed the hiking tour very much. The hike was amazing and very challenging. The guides were organized, thoughtful with frequent washroom breaks. We also appreciated the posted photos after the tour. We will for sure to book for more tours with them in the future. Thank you for a great adventure.
Written November 24, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

rebecca332018
Newtownards, UK5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2022 • Couples
Not enjoyable at all. Wouldn't recommend. Long, boring and better tours out there at much cheaper rates.
Written September 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry for your experience. As we have exchanged few emails regarding this topic, I have offered you at the first place travel credit which could be used anytime in the future. This was refused from your side. In your first email, you were complaining about travelt time from Toronto to Algonquin. We can't really change the distance and we can't do anything about travel time. You can easily check Google maps before the tour which will show you 3 hour travel time from Toronto to Algonquin park west gate. Your travel time was 3,5 hours which includes additional stop at the second pick up point and washroom stop. We also have to drive from the West gate Algonquin to Canoe Lake for another 20 minutes as we have to drive between the hikes in Algonquin. Your second complain was about the hiking trail which has been picked by all of you. Our tour guide gave you a choice to hike shorter hikes or long hike and as you were small group of 5, everyone has agreed on longer hike as that is the most beautiful hike of Algonquin. The tour guide has asked 5 times to make sure everyone agrees. If even one person wouldn't agree, we would continue with a short hike. But everyone at that time voted for the long hike including you and your partner. The last complain was about the last stop at the Ragged Falls which is a short half an hour walk to the falls. I understand, that you were tired, however this stop was part of the itinerary and of we wouldn't stop it would not be fair to other travelers as this stop is the favorite stop of all travelers. There is always a choice to stay in the van and waot for the group if you bare tired. We are an adventure tour company and our travelers always loved that they can participate in customizing a tour. As I explained to you in a email, our tour guide could have take you on short one hour hike which would be much more easier for him, but he wanted to give you a full experience of Algonquinnand he spend his extra time and energy to show you the best of Algonquin. Also, we have asked for a feedback of other travelers joining the tour without naming anybody and they all said they had a great time and enjoyed the long hike. That's all what we asked...for the feedback. You have asked for a money refund in exchange of not posting a bad reviews on our social media...this is not a way how to safe little bit of money....Enjoy the rest of your vacation in Canada.
Written September 29, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Clay D
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 • Couples
Police pulled us over and ticketed our driver for spedding, guide was completely disinterested and kept getting distracted looking for moose, and we only got about 2 hours of hiking in an 11 hour trip. Absolutely awful and I will never book with Viator again.
Written April 16, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are sorry about your experience. As you have joined the tour in April, which is a high season for moose spotting, our tour guide has tried to search for the moose along the way to the scheduled hikes. There was a 10 minutes detour which has been approved by everyone in the bus. All the scheduled hikes at the itinerary has been completed in the scheduled timeline. The drive to Algonquin Park is 3 hours each way from Toronto so you have spend minimum of 5 hours in the park. Four moose were spotted that day and all three scheduled hikes were completed. We would like to learn about your detailed feedback. Please contact us via Viator messaging system.
Written April 19, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Elina
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Couples
It was a pleasure to participate in this daytrip! We saw many great places, canoed, walked two trails (waterfall and lookout point), swam in a lake, drove to the visitor's center and all of this with a very nice group of people.
Our guide Mike was super friendly and did his best to make us enjoy the day and see the beauty of Algonquin Provincal Park.
Highly recommended trip!
Written August 11, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 30

Algonquin Provincial Park Day Tour from Toronto provided by Travelling Chicken

All Toronto HotelsToronto Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Toronto
All things to do in Toronto
Day Trips in Toronto
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars