Brighton Tours
Walking food tour in Brighton
4.5

Walking food tour in Brighton

Recommended by 91% of travellers
91% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
We love Brighton and want to share the best of what our quirky city has to offer with the rest of the world! Our tour (2 - 3 hours) is a unique way to see Brighton, hear some stories and also get a feel for its food & drink scene. As eclectic and creative as its inhabitants, so is the food. Examples of our tasters are homemade cooking, tea, chocolate, beer, pies, crumpets, sausage rolls, cream tea, Belgian fries, exotic street food and ice cream just to name a few. These are examples only. We want to surprise you! IMPORTANT Please let us know about any allergies/intolerances you have before you book. We will let you know then if this tour is suitable. Bring comfy walking shoes and dress for the weather. Also bring a face mask (and hand gel if possible) You need to be able to walk 5 km. Private tours are possible. We can also offer tours in Spanish, French, Dutch, German and Swedish. Please get in touch to check your options.
from
C$136.50
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 18-100, max of 10 per group
Duration: 2–3 hours
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More


  • A local guide
  • If alcohol is included, it will only be served to guests that are 18 and over. If you do not wish to consume alcohol, we'll provide water, a juice or soft drink
  • There will be no bottled water as such, but tap water is available when we visit a place where we sit down.
  • As we change providers for food & drinks, sometimes coffee and/or tea are included, but not always.
  • This tour has several food & drink tasters (min. 4). We recommend you to not have a full meal right before the tour.
  • Discounts on purchases in some of the stores as part of the tour
What's not included
  • Additional food and drinks that are not part of the tour.
  • Transport
  • Gratuities


Start:
  • Brighton and Hove, Brighton BN1, UK
    We meet in Brighton at a location that is easily accessible on foot, by bus or train. As not all cafes, eateries and shops are open daily, the location will depend on the day of your booking. It will however be near Brighton station and we will communicate the exact location when you book.
End:
  • Brighton, Brighton and Hove, UK
    Our ending point is the last 'taster' stop on the tour. Our tours are never the same due to different opening hours of our suppliers. However, the last stop is either walking distance from the centre or a short bus ride. We will communicate this with you, so you can make your plans afterwards.

  • Near public transportation
  • Not wheelchair accessible
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 111659P10

  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • We do not accept guests with COVID-19 symptoms & guests who do not wear a face mask
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travellers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 111659P10

Reserve your spot

Similar experiences

Itinerary
  • Brighton and Hove, Brighton BN1, UK
    We meet in Brighton at a location that is easily accessible on foot, by bus or train. As not all cafes, eateries and shops are open daily, the location will depend on the day of your booking. It will however be near Brighton station and we will communicate the exact location when you book.
  • 1
    After a short introduction and brief about what to expect, we start our journey. This is a tour for all your senses: hear the stories from your guide, see, smell and taste the food and watch Brighton as we walk along. Our walking food tour varies as we cover different areas at different times: the historical city centre, arty Kemptown and the hidden gem of Hove. This tour is for those travellers who like a bit of mystery and want to experience Brighton as a local rather than having all the sights ticked off. There is time for photos and questions as we walk. The landmarks listed below are examples of things to see in Brighton and not necessarily what we will visit. Examples of tasters can exist of: cheese, meat, kombucha, kefir, street food, scones, ice cream, sweets, plant-based food and so on. Brighton is a true hub where your taste buds get spoiled! We will make stops for photos anywhere you would like to stop.
    Pass by
    Brighton Dome
    Royal Pavilion
    North Laine
    The Lanes
    Brighton Palace Pier
  • Brighton, Brighton and Hove, UK
    Our ending point is the last 'taster' stop on the tour. Our tours are never the same due to different opening hours of our suppliers. However, the last stop is either walking distance from the centre or a short bus ride. We will communicate this with you, so you can make your plans afterwards.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles12 reviews
Excellent
10
Very good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Jinlondon96
London, UK96 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Having done many food tours over the years, this was by far the worst we have ever experienced:

1. The “guide” was very poor, and didn’t even do the basics of being a tour guide. At every stop, they said nothing when we arrived and then nothing about the food! No introduction or basic explanation, why we were there, what was interesting etc. Nothing. Even when we asked, they were not able to say anything about the food! At one stop they didn’t even know what the food was we were eating! At one venue the owner did speak to us which was nice, but at all the others we may as well have gone on our own. Oh, and 2 of the stops were closed.

2. When I complained the next day to the tour company owner, they apologised but then I was met with continuous attempts to minimise our complaints “they are an experienced guide”
“they didn’t want to make too
much conversation or interrupt your eating” (we didn’t get any conversation at all!). One of the stores that was closed was an “extra stop” (never explained to us at the time).

After being offered a ‘free taster tour next time I visited’ (I haven’t been in 20 years), I asked for a refund which was flatly refused, and it was suggested I should have called the office to complain during the tour or simply refused to continue! So much for customer service.

I strongly advise you choose a different food tour company in Brighton if you actually want to experience the added value of a tour.

Doubtless the owner will respond to this review and again try to minimise my version of events or imply I am being misleading or unreasonable. I can only invite you to look at my 89 other reviews, the vast majority of which are 4 or 5 star, and ask yourself who you believe before you part with your money.
Written March 18, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much for writing your review and share your experience. We are sorry to hear that the tour was not satisfying. Feedback is taken seriously and we definitely do not minimise what guests say. On the contrary, all feedback is put into action. You emailed us the day after the tour with your thoughts and let us know that you were not satisfied with how the guide had lead the tour. We discussed the matter with them and they genuinely thought things went well. Although this guide never had any complaints before and is very experienced, they will pay extra attention when doing future tours. It is correct that one of our our partners was closed (the additional stop we had added). We immediately took action and asked them what had happened. There was an emergency with one of the staff and they had not been able to let us know on time. This was something the guide could not know as it was outside of our control. However, your guide apologised and at the last stop you were offered a full sized portion rather then a taster in order to compensate for this. After your feedback, we offered you another tasting tour free of charge as you don't live too far from Brighton. However, this was refused. No complaints were made during the tour, the tour was not terminated earlier because it was so "awful". Instead, it was completed with all the tasters. Therefore, we did not offer a refund. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.
Written March 21, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ray C
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020
We had an amazing morning with Sophie during our walking food tour of Brighton. It was our first time to the city and we covered a lot of what the city has to offer. From delicious local Bengal dishes with the enigmatic Chef Mohammad to a 'hole in the wall' Kambucha distillery (who knew there were so many types!!) to the quintessential tour of the famous Lanes. Sophie gave an expert tour filled with fascinating historical stories and context. I can't say enough good things about this tour. You will not be disappointed and you will NOT leave hungry. Thank you Sophie for an amazing morning in Brighton!!
Written March 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for this lovely review. Really grateful for this. Hope you had a safe journey back with great memories.
Written November 4, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hilly K
Tacoma, WA27 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022
Tours of Brighton was so great to arrange a walking food tour for me at short notice. Hannah was a terrific guide, really fun to hang out with, lots of good info and delicious food stops. Suggest taking some extra donuts back to your hotel for later! ;-)
Written May 22, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for your kind words! We are grateful that you enjoyed the tour and appreciated Hannah's knowledge and personality!
Written May 23, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jennifer S
Rockville, MD3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 • Friends
My friend and I had a great time! The food was lovely, and the tastings were more generous than I'd thought. Our guide, Sophie, was a great guide, and was quite familiar with the Brighton food scene; she also made sure to check for and accommodate allergies and preferences in advance, which I appreciated!
Written August 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad yo the tasters and got to see Brighton. Enjoy the rest of your stay.
Written August 8, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Andrew C
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 • Friends
Even though I live in Brighton, I still discovered new cafes and shops on the tour. I'll look forward to going back to them again and taking visitors to them. The tour was varied and well thought out.

I liked hearing stories from the owners when we visited, which wouldn't normally happen if I had gone in as a normal customer.

I went on my own but the group was friendly and I enjoyed meeting new people as well. Although it was mainly a food tour, the guide, Sophie, introduced us to some history on the way.

It was a great and different way to explore a town. Would also recommend it to locals.
Written December 26, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much for your review. Glad to hear you will go back to the places we visited. We do our best to support local suppliers as much as we can :)
Written December 29, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ray Nethercott
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really excellent way to spend a few hours getting to know Brighton better. Hannah was a star, a natural communicator with bags a knowledge and insight
Written March 10, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your kind words. Happy you enjoyed your tour and your time with Hannah!
Written March 11, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Penny and Tim
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021
Great tour with Sophie - friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We were the only people on the tour that morning so we had real 1 to 1 time with Sophie
Fantastic choice of foods to try - many of which we hadn't tasted before
Our only regret was having breakfast a couple of hours before the tour - we would then have done real justice to Mohammad's breakfast!

Thoroughly recommend this tour - you will see parts of Brighton that you may otherwise miss

Thank you all
Written October 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your kind words. Really appreciated! We are glad that you enjoyed your time with Sophie and loved the Brighton sights :)
Written October 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Christina D
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Solo
A nice morning out seeing parts of Brighton I may not have found on my own -- some hidden away gems and some high street standards made the excursion enjoyable and comfortable. I applaud Sophie for not being daunted by the wind and rain on the day of my tour -- I was afraid she would want to cancel, but we stormed on!
Written January 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much for your kind review! We admire people who are determined to have an enjoyable time despite the weather being rainy and stormy. Well done! :)
Written January 16, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

simonS7601SH
Brighton, UK1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 • Friends
I've lived on Brighton for years and on this tour we went to some great places I'd not been to before. A great way to explore the city as a visitor or a great tour to do with people visiting town. Highly recommended!
Written December 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you very much for your review. Much appreciated! We are glad that you enjoyed the tour and that you got to discover some unknown places in your own city :)
Written December 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Walking food tour in Brighton - with unbiased reviews

All Brighton HotelsBrighton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Brighton
All things to do in Brighton
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars