Tours and Tickets

Beatrix Potter and William Wordsworth Twelve Lakes Tour provided by Lakes Super Tours

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Beatrix Potter and William Wordsworth Twelve Lakes Tour

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$51.65
Date
2 adults
Options
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
A delightful tour, with detailed commentary to the many places associated with Beatrix Potter’s life and characters. We stop at Castle Rigg Stone Circle, a testimony to mans presence in the area 4500 years ago. Older but smaller than Stonehenge this is the second most visited Stone Circle in the UK and in much more beautiful surroundings and some say the highlight of the tour. From here we make our way back along the shores of Thirlmere, a fresh water reservoir which is the fifth largest lake in the Lake District. We stop briefly at Dove Cottage the once home of poet William Wordsworth for a photo stop and if time a look in the gift shop if open. On completion we ride along the shores of Rydal Water through the market town of Ambleside and the famous Little Bridge House, arriving back in Windermere at around 1745. For those catching a train we will drop them at the train station and everyone else back at their hotel /B & B. All this completes one of the finest tours in England.
Itinerary
+
You'll get picked up
See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Hill Top, Beatrix Potter's House
    Stop: 40 minutes - Admission excluded
    A delightful tour, with detailed commentary to the many places associated with Beatrix Potter’s life and characters. Who has not heard of Peter Rabbit, Jemima Puddle Duck, Jeremy Fisher, Tom Kitten and Samuel Whiskers and other characters brought to life by Beatrix Potter? This is a comprehensive tour of the houses, farms, villages, valleys, lakes and mountains linked to her stories. Also visiting Wordsworth’s earlier home at Dove Cottage. After lunch in Grasmere you are taken up to Keswick where you can experience a wonderful boat cruise on one of Lakeland’s most beautiful lakes Derwentwater; after which you continue on your tour through some of the most dramatic mountainous regions of volcanic origins from millions of years ago. We travel through the Borrowdale Valley up and over Honister Pass with views from the top down into the breathtaking Honister Valley below. For those wishing to take the opportunity there is a toilet/comfort stop in the Borrowdale Valley. We stop in Honister Valley to take in the scenic views and to take photos on the banks of the River Derwent. We proceed through the valley until we come upon one of the more unspoiled and remote lakes on the tour – Buttermere. Truly one of the loveliest spots on the entire tour. Slowly we make our way along the shore line overlooking the lake below and with views of the forest and waterfalls on the opposite side. We manage to view, in part, another of the remote and unspoiled lakes Crummock Water before negotiating the narrow uphill road through Newlands Pass to Moss Force Waterfall at the top where once again we leave our minibus to take photos of the waterfall and surrounding views of the mountains and Valleys. Next stop is Castle Rigg Stone Circle, a testimony to mans presence in the area 4500 years ago. Older but smaller than Stonehenge this is the second most visited Stone Circle in the UK and in much more beautiful surroundings and some say the highlight of the tour. From here we make our way back along the shores of Thirlmere, a fresh water reservoir which is the fifth largest lake in the Lake District. We stop briefly at Dove Cottage the once home of poet William Wordsworth for a photo stop and if time a look in the gift shop if open. On completion we ride along the shores of Rydal Water through the market town of Ambleside and the famous Little Bridge House, arriving back in Windermere at around 1745. For those catching a train we will drop them at the train station and everyone else back at their hotel /B & B. All this completes one of the finest tours in England.
    Read more
Important Information
Duration
8h
Inclusions
  • Tour B Beatrix Potter and Wordsworth Tour B
Exclusions
  • Lunch
  • Entry/Admission - Hill Top, Beatrix Potter's House
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
4Reviews
0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
zeynep wrote a review Aug. 2019
1 contribution
My friends and I attended an afternoon tour with Andy two days ago. I do not even know where to start. As soon as we got on the small bus, Andy was friendly and started chatting with us like where we are coming from, what we study etc. He seemed like a funny and talkative person
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Response from Andrewd101282, Manager at Beatrix Potter and William Wordsworth Twelve Lakes Tour
Responded Sep. 1, 2019
> Dear Madam, > Thank you for your review but most of it is, I am afraid 'fabricated' to extreme. No one was not talking of British colonialism as such but of Roman colonialism and in particular their occupation of Britain and of their presence in the Lake District. Oh Dear! The Vikings were here, until they had to leave after the battle of Stamford Bridge. (This is factual English history ) sorry if you were offended by it, and how their influence shaped the Lake District and why things and places got their names. Yes I asked if you had black sheep in Turkey because the black sheep here were brought by the Vikings when they eventually came as settlers. I have never been to Turkey so I was interested in Turkish things. Sorry for being so inquisitive, I was simply interested in learning something about your country. As for the Australian people no one mentioned a gun, only you in this review, this is a very offensive thing for you to accuse me of . I do not know what you are talking about nor where you have got your opinions from. For you to say this about me was, to use your own terminology. 'Shocking'. My comments on this tour were light-hearted and factual. Nothing personal nor racist was ever entered into. Yes I encounter people on the tours I conduct from every country in the world and I am pleased to say most people come to Britain because we have a history that goes back thousands of years and they are eager to learn something of our past. Most people compliment me on the extent of my knowledge. I believe I am quite knowledgeable and that also I am very professional in what I do. I was polite and courteous towards you and I tried to remember everyone's name, which to some extent I did and I often, throughout the tour, addressed some of your party by name. I thought you were nice girls! No one mentioned god or religion on the tour tour but there was reference to Druids, an ancient religion the followers believing more in The Sun , Moon, Planets etc. , being perhaps, behind Castle Rigg Stone Circle, which I pointed out no one knew for sure and may not be accurate since no records were kept. No one mentioned your religion , whatever it is, nor anyone else's. The information was given only as factual and not related. I have never heard of Gelibolu until you mentioned it in this review so could not have been mentioned during the course of your tour! Why you have brought this up perhaps only the Druids will know! This review is completely ridiculous and compiled by someone with some kind of ego problem. However you all seemed to have enjoyed the tour although some of the content seemed to have upset you thanks your eagerness to relate to everything as 'shocking'. Nothing personal was ever intended and I am deeply sorry you have interpreted it in this way. I least I did not insult you expecting you to believe a pack of lies. What was delivered was a narrative of factual and historical truth. There were other people on the bus who were delighted at all the information given. Thanks for your kind words about the tour and thank you for coming with us. Andy (your polite and knowledgeable tour guide)
Read more
Roger E wrote a review Aug. 2019
Scarborough, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
Where do I start!!! We booked for the Beatrix Potter and William Wordsworth tour, we received a confirming email the day before and the minibus arrived on schedule. The driver, Andy, got out of the bus and told us the tour we had booked was not going ahead, but we could go on an
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Response from Andrewd101282, General Manager at Beatrix Potter and William Wordsworth Twelve Lakes Tour
Responded Aug. 23, 2019
Dear Roger, Thanks for the review. We do say on our booking site that tours cannot operate if numbers are not met or the weather is too bad and we reserve the right to either cancel and refund or offer an alternative tour. No one said you would not have enjoyed the tour you had booked but it was explained that the alternative was as good if not better for scenery and other places of interest. The afternoon part of the tour was exactly the same as the tour you booked anyway; only the morning was different. Everyone loves Basil so thank you for the compliment and you did enjoy your tour which you say was 'entertaining'. At least we did not cancel the tour and totally ruin your day like some other operators do and leave you stranded at the hotel with nothing! We conducted a very professional tour for you and went through the day without a hitch and everyone had a great time. Thank you for choosing Lakes Supertours. Andy
Read more
jaagaume wrote a review Aug. 2019
Antony, France127 contributions29 helpful votes
A must if you are a Beatrix Potter fan. Wordsworth as a bonus can't be snuffed at. But the BP's originals are a delight . Suitable for teenagers
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Response from Andrewd101282, General Manager at Beatrix Potter and William Wordsworth Twelve Lakes Tour
Responded Aug. 22, 2019
So pleased you enjoyed your Beatrix Potter experience with us and we hope we can take you on another tour if you ever come back to the Lake District. Thanks again. Andy (operations manager)
Read more
Aparajita Roy wrote a review Jun. 2019
United Kingdom248 contributions8 helpful votes
I went for this tour on 26th June, 2019. It was an awesome experience.Its very difficult for people like us who can’t drive to explore Lake District as it’s vast and a car with an experienced driver is very much needed.The tour guide Andy was very knowledgable, he answered to
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Helpful
Response from Andrewd101282, Driver/Guide at Beatrix Potter and William Wordsworth Twelve Lakes Tour
Responded Jun. 26, 2019
Dear Sir /Madam, Thank you for this lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your tour of the Lake District with us. We do say we offer the 'best value for money tours in the Lake District' and reviews like reinforce this claim. Once again thank you for choosing Lakes Supertours. Andy
Read more
Write a review
What was your experience like?
Share your best travel photo
Let the world see your experience through your eyes.
Get quick answers
Ask fellow travellers and attraction managers your top questions.
About the operator

This experience only has a few reviews, but you can read what other travellers have to say about the operator.

By: Lakes Super Tours
Gill061
00
Roman Fortes, Hideaway lakes and Views View Views
There was four of us and we spent a great day with Andy on tour, he was very informative, did not rush us and tried
Read more
Peter G
00
Day tour of The Lakes District.
We intended to book the morning Beatrice Potter & Wordsworth (TourJ) but when talking with Andy in the office we ex
Read more
Shirsendu C
00
Good Trip but with some negatives
The tour guide was Andy. I would have given 5 star with the location got covered in time and with the knowledge he
Read more
luxovics
00
Winter
I would only recommend to discover other areas with this organiser I.e on your last day if you have already visite
Read more
sharon l
00
Tour B with Andy
We went on a day tour woth our Host Andrew from Lakes Lodge. What a great day we had with a fantastic tour guide. 7
Read more
cathcook1
00
Wonderful Beatrix Potter immersion half day tour
We didn't think to make a reservation for a tour prior to our arrival; but when we called this company the day we w
Read more
suegb2015
00
A great day out
I did full day tour with Andy. It covered way more than you could hope to do on your own. And it had the added bonu
Read more
ryan44
00
Wonderful halfday from Windermere
My son 12 and I had a very good day with supertours. Andy gave us good information about the district and lakes an
Read more
Pam S
00
Great Day Out
A real joy to get out from behind the wheel and enjoy the scenery. On both occasions the driver/guides were friendl
Read more
joseywale
00
Had a fun day
We took the full day tour and really enjoyed it. It was not your normal stuffy boring tour, Andy was full of fun an
Read more
Inginashi1
00
First class exploration of Lakes
Our guide Andy was knowledgeable, interesting and great fun - the facts came flying to us all day - not too many ju
Read more
trevor6410
00
Faultless tour of the lakes
On a wet, damp, grey day we needed something to do and wanted to visit as much as possible. Had never heard of Supe
Read more
00
Very terrible tour
Cancel without inform, reason was they don't know before they cancel! No apologize for they completely messed up my
Read more
Mathew A
00
The best way to see the lakes
We arrived on a saturday morning and tried to book for the sunday. The weather was not looking great and so Andy ne
Read more
DN1994
00
Very average tour...
Average tour, I would first try one of their competitors (E.g. mountain goat). More of a 'drive around' than a tour
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 8h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Hotel Pickup
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071

More options from Lakes Super Tours