This is a typical itinerary for this product
Pass By: Spa Diane Barriere Le Normandy, 38 rue Jean Mermoz, 14804, Deauville France
Around 1912 when French resorts were being developed, François André founded the Barrière group, with his partner Eugène Cornuché (owner of the Maxim's restaurant in Paris, and director of the Trouville-sur-Mer casino) with, among other things, the takeover of a Ostend casino in Belgium, and the construction of the Casino de Deauville, and this Normandy palace by the architect Théo Petit.
It is the first of the grand hotel palaces of the city, followed in 1913 by its neighbor the Royal Barrière Hotel. One year after its opening, funded by her English lover Boy Capel, Coco Chanel installs her boutique Chanel hats in the hotel.
The hotel is completely renovated in 2015.
Pass By: Eglise Saint Augustin, Square de l Eglise, 14800, Deauville France
On August 30, 1864, the Duke of Morny solemnly laid the foundation stone of St. Augustine's Church, raised on land donated nine days earlier by the Société immobilière de Deauville. Built by architects Desle-François Breney and Anatole Jal in the center of a walled garden, the building was consecrated on July 30, 1865 by the bishop of Bayeux. The cemetery is located outside the limits of the new town, on the heights of Mount Canisy.
Pass By: Hippodrome Deauville La Touques, 45 avenue Hocquart de Turtot, 14800, Deauville France
On the initiative of the Duke de Morny, founder of the Deauville resort, the racecourse was inaugurated in August 1863, during which two first race meetings were held on August 14 and 15. Gradually, the meeting expands, with the creation of the Deauville Cup in 1866, endowed with 20 000 F and an object of art of 10 000 F and the Grand Prix of Deauville in 1871. Today , the August meeting is always the most prestigious, especially at the time of the famous yearling sales at the Élie-de-Brignac establishment.
Stop At: Villa Strassburger, 1 avenue Strassburger, 14800, Deauville France
It was built between 1907 and 1912 on the plans of the architect Georges Pichereau Caen on behalf of Henri de Rothschild, on the site of a farm he had bought in 1875 Gustave Flaubert, farm Coteau . She is the archetype of the second generation of the neo-Norman style.
Originally called "Villa du Coteau", it is then called "Villa Strassburger" because it became, after having been purchased in 1924 from Henri de Rothschild, the residence deauvillaise of American billionaire Ralph Beaver Strassburger
Duration: 10 minutes
Stop At: Church of St. Lawrence, 2 Chemin de l'Aumône, 14800 Deauville, France
The current building dates from the 12th and 13th century.
The south wall is Romanesque, the north wall is the 13th century.
The building is registered as a historic monument on September 23, 1977.
Yves Saint Laurent contributed to its restoration.
The nomination belonged to the canon of the place4.
At the time of Arcisse de Caumont, Deauville was gathered at the parish of Tourgéville.
Duration: 5 minutes
Stop At: Tourgeville Military Cemetery, Chemin du Cimetière Militaire, 14800 Tourgéville, France
Duration: 5 minutes
Pass By: Hippodrome de Clairefontaine, Chemin L Hippodrome, 14800 Tourgeville, Deauville France
The Duke of Morny created the flat races at Deauville in 1864. In view of the ever increasing importance of these races which take place on the racecourse of Deauville-La Touques, it appears necessary to create in the heart of the country of Auge, a obstacle course to extend the season. The Pont-L'Évêque Racing Society was founded at the Broken Cross racecourse in Pont-l'Évêque in 1875. It quickly became clear that this racecourse was too far from Deauville and its layout was too limited. The activities of the Pont-l'Évêque Racing Society were taken over by the Société du courses du pays d'Auge in 1924. The latter proposed the creation of a racecourse at Saint-Arnoult. This project aborts because of the impossibility of purchase of the grounds.
Pass By: Casino Barriere de Deauville, 2 rue Edmond Blanc, 14800, Deauville France
In 1912, Eugène Cornuché1 had this casino built by the architect Georges Wybo. It is inaugurated on July 11, 1912.
A few days earlier, the same operator inaugurates the casino of Trouville-sur-Mer.
It is completely restored in baroque style by the architect designer Jacques Garcia in 1988.
On May 26, 1978, the casino is the theater of a robbery whose authors are Jacques Mesrine and François Besse