We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Salzburg Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Select Date and Travellers
From
US$58.39
Date
2 travellers
Options
Overview
Take a day trip to the home town of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart on a guided full-day rail tour from Munich to Salzburg. Considered one of the jewels in the crown of Europe, the city of Salzburg has been named a UNESCO World Heritage Site, framed by the majestic backdrop of the snow-capped Alps and famed for its old-world glamour.
Highlights
  • Hassle-free round-trip transport by high-speed train
  • Guided Salzburg tour: Get your bearings before exploring independently
  • See filming sights from The Sound of Music, including Mirabell Palace
  • Small group tour: maximum of 15 participants
What to Expect
Meet your guide and group at Munich’s Central Train Station. Then travel aboard an air-conditioned train, enjoying views of the Bavarian Alps and Austrian countryside on the journey to Salzburg. On a walking tour, listen to your guide’s comprehensive introduction to the city. Discover Old Town, a UNESCO-listed site; admire historic landmarks, such as the Domkirche Cathedral and the Hohensalzburg Fortress (Festung Hohensalzburg); and learn more about Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, who was born in Salzburg, and The Sound of Music, which was filmed in and around the city. After the tour, spend a few hours exploring independently. Stroll around Old Town’s medieval lanes and browse the shops for souvenirs, sample traditional Austrian cuisine with lunch at a local restaurant (own expense), visit Mirabell Palace, or climb the hilltop to take in the views from the castle. Your tour ends back at the Munich train station.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Arnulfstraße 3, 80335 München, Germany
Departure Time
9:15 AM
Duration
10h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • City map of Salzburg
  • Professional guide
  • City Walking tour of Salzburg´s historical center.
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel as you leave Germany and there are border controls between Germany and Austria
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
Cancellation Policy
If you cancel at least 3 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee. If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.
Reviews (1,518)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
126
24
4
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
126
24
4
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guide paul train ride maxine ryder minute walking tour oldest restaurant interesting details mirabell gardens radius tours beautiful trip gave us great recommendations enjoyable trip beautiful city european history three hours great job great introduction in depth knowledge
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Mark did a great job. As a matter of fact, we enjoyed the tour and Salzburg so much that we decided to stay the night. We were like Reacher without the toothbrush.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Pdbeav
Reviewed 1 week ago

Poor communication from the start. The whole group was confused from start to finish. The tour said we left from "Train Station A" but we actually met there, went on a mad dash into the subway and then went to another train station. The guide...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Jake T
RadiusToursMunich, Manager at Radius Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Sorry you did not appreciate the experience, but unfortunately your tour happened on a day when there was unexpected problems on the rail journey. This is the situation our guide was dealing with in ensuring that the group made an unscheduled transfer from one train...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I don’t think this was a small group (the group was 22), but can’t find another listing. Mark was a great guide - knowledgeable, perfect English, very helpful. He made sure to find out what each person/couple was interested in and make recommendations. Suggestion- bring...More

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Prosebradley
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband & I booked a tour to go from Munich to Salzburg for the day. Our tour guide was Maxine Ryde & she was fabulous! Maxine made it a fun day, she was very knowledgeable about the area & even with a little glitch...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 279SandraR
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I spent 4 days in Munich after a wonderful Viking river cruise. I had booked this tour hoping to spend a fun filled and informative day in Salzburg. I was not disappointed in the tour at all. For the money...it was fabulous....More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Dick T
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MariLizz
June 14, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sharon S | Reviewed this property |
I don’t think the weather is that much of a problem. Make sure you have an umbrella with you if there is a threat of rain. Weather was beautiful when we were there but I know of others who visited when it was raining and... More
0
Votes
BogeyPeter
I’m trying to provide my Review of our day trip to Salzburg May 31, but I can’t find a link? While the tour in Salzburg was worthwhile, the Radius Tour and in particular the Train trips were a Mis-Adventure, both ways! Thanks to Iain and Sabina for guiding this Large group (58?), which they split into two almost 30 each! (Not a Small Group, maximum 15 as advertised!) About halfway on our train trip from Munich to Salzburg our train was halted at a station where we were instructed we would need to leave this train (track/switch repairs?) and board buses to go 2 stops further to board another train to continue to Salzburg. There weren’t nearly enough buses for a packed train; and our guides decided we should just wait for a following train, which may now be able to continue through to Salzburg? When we boarded an hour later we were crowded onto an already busy train (many passengers were left standing)! This was our third train trip in Germany in May, and All of them have left paying passengers Standing for most of a trip of several hours! For our return trip, which Sabina had agreed to schedule an hour later so we had more free time in Salzburg, we had another poor experience. Again about 2/3 of our trip the train halts at a station and we were instructed in German to get off the train! Sabina said these cars were not continuing?? Once we got off, we realized people were getting on other already full cars to find Standing room only for the rest of our train trip! I guess the Train service decided to drop some cars? As you can tell, both of these train rides took away what could have been a great tour to beautiful Salzburg, but Viatours/ Radius tours need to find an alternative to unreliable train service! Our guides mentioned they have had recent train cancellations and delays earlier this week as well - not making their job the pleasure it should be, sharing their knowledge and stories. Thanks to Iain and Sabina for working to make the best of this journey. Unsatisfied traveler, Peter
June 1, 2019|
Answer
Response from Nancy N | Reviewed this property |
In your webrowsee, search TripAdvisor and the name of the excursion. There will be a link for Review. Unfortunate for the train troubles and group size. My group size was abt 30 people. We had no train troubles... More
1
Vote
Voyage59835080393
May 8, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Munichtravellerkina | Reviewed this property |
The station is very well laid out and it is location 32-34, you will see all the signs for each area, try be at the central station at 8.30 check in with Radius at 32-34 to let them know you have arrive, you will then have... More
0
Votes
Key Details
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • Free Cancellation up to 3 days in advance
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall: