We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Post
Inbox
Search

Capri island private boat tour

Save
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$156.83
Date
2 travellers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Itinerary
    This is a typical itinerary for this product

    Stop At: Marina Grande Public Beach, Via Provinciale Marina Grande 272, 80073, Capri, Island of Capri Italy

    Enjoy a day sailing around the island of Capri.

    Duration: 6 hours

    Pass By: I Faraglioni, End of Via Tragara, Capri, Island of Capri Italy

    we will sail or stop by the Faraglioni

    Pass By: Blue Grotto, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri Italy

    we will sail or stop by the Blue Grotto

    Pass By: White Grotta, Capri, Island of Capri Italy

    we will sail or stop by the White Grotto

    Pass By: Green Grotta, Capri, Island of Capri Italy

    we will sail or stop by the Green Grotto

    Pass By: Monte Solaro, Via Caposcuro, 80007 Anacapri, Island of Capri Italy

    you will have the chance to take the chair lift up to Monte Solaro, during your time on land in Capri

    Pass By: Villa San Michele, Viale Axel Munthe 34, 80071 Anacapri, Island of Capri Italy

    you will have the chance to visit Villa San Michele during your time on land in Capri

    Stop At: Chiesa San Michele, Piazza San Nicola, Anacapri, Island of Capri Italy

    you will have the chance to visit San Michele Church in Anacapri during your free time on land

    Duration: 3 hours

    Pass By: Red Grotta, Capri, Island of Capri Italy

    we will sail by the Red Grotta
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    1: Sorrento, Sorrento, Province of Naples, Campania
    2: Scogliera Kitchen & bar, Via Marina Piccola, 2, 80067 Sorrento NA, Italy
    3: Via Regina Giovanna, 5, 84017 Positano SA, Italy
    4: La Sibilla Srl, Via Marina di Praia, 13, 84010 Furore SA, Italy
    5: Piazzale dei Protontini, 84011 Amalfi SA, Italy

    Traveler pickup is offered
    Sorrento accommodation

    Sorrento train station

    Ports
    Sorrento, Positano, Praiano, Amalfi
    Departure Time
    Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
    from Sorrento - 28 ft
    3/15/2019 - 10/31/2019Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 10:00 AM

    from Amalfi Coast - 28 ft
    8/23/2019 - 10/31/2019Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 10:00 AM

    3/1/2020 - 10/31/2020Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 10:00 AM

    from Amalfi Coast - 38 ft
    8/23/2019 - 10/31/2019Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 10:00 AM

    3/1/2020 - 10/31/2020Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 10:00 AM

    from Sorrento - 38 ft
    8/23/2019 - 10/31/2019Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 10:00 AM

    3/1/2020 - 10/31/2020Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 10:00 AM
    Duration
    7h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Beverages
    • Snacks
    • Hotel pickup and drop-off
    • Private boat tour
    • Transport by air-conditioned minivan
    Exclusions
    • Gratuities
    • Entry/Admission - Chiesa San Michele
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
    • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Infant seats available
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    16Reviews6Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 14
    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    • 1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    +6
    We were a party of six, and yes, when they say private, they mean it. There was not a thing Francesco and Francesca (not a typo), could have done more to make the experience second to none. This included arranging for a Capri taxi tour of the island to the towns of Anacapri &
    Read more
    Response from JBL_Team, Owner at Capri island private boat tour
    Responded 2 days ago
    Dear Jerry, Thank you ever so much for your lovely review about the boat tours for which you Kindly engaged our company. We do feel this type of service delivers the most unique experience to see our stunning sites from a different prospective and are glad to read you agree with us. Our skippers are always eager to show their homeland and to be as flexible and accommodating as possible during these services. We will make sure to share your positive feedback with them, we are sure they’ll be happy to hear this. We do hope you will come back to Italy soon and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for some more great memories.
    Read more
    When in Rome , you must visit the Colosseum but when in Amalfi you must call Joe banana and treat yourself to experience the Amalfi coast line in the very best way. Nothing else compares to the amazing service and professionalism of this service , from booking your tour with
    Read more
    Response from JBL_Team, Owner at Capri island private boat tour
    Responded 1 week ago
    Dear Anna Maria, Thank you ever so much for your lovely review about the boat tour for which you Kindly engaged our company. We do feel this type of service delivers the most unique experience to see our stunning sites from a different prospective and are glad to read you agree with us. Our skippers are always eager to show their homeland and to be as flexible and accommodating as possible during these services. We will make sure to share your positive feedback with them, we are sure they’ll be happy to hear this. See you back next year!
    Read more
    Ok so this review has nothing to do with the van drivers we had for our transfers. Those were great. It's solely for the boats and customer service. We had a group of 14 people originally...4 being tiny children and were told we had to split into two different boats because no
    Read more
    Response from JBL_Team, Public Relations Manager at Capri island private boat tour
    Responded 4 weeks ago
    Dear Sir, While we appreciate that you took the time to describe your experience regarding the private boat tour to Capri, what you have illustrated is not a completely accurate portrayal of this experience. We are a professional company and do not appreciate the level of slander this review conveys. We wish to state the facts. To recap, you requested a private boat tour for 14 guests. Per Italian law, which our company abides by, the maximum number of guests on boat of that size is 12. The law does not take into account whether one of the guests is 1 month old or 95 years old, 12 guests equates to 12 guests, no exceptions if you wish to maintain your boating license. Therefore, you were quoted a rate for 2 boats which would accommodate your party of 14. As per your request, you were also quoted a much larger boat that could accommodate all 14 guests, however you declined and without persuasion, consciously booked the tour for 14 guests aboard two separate boats at the quoted rates. We cannot speak to the number of guests you may have seen on other boats that day as the Tyrrhenian Sea is quite large and many companies and private individuals utilize their own (non-commercial) boats in the area. Prior to insinuating that we erroneously quoted you for two boats, please educate yourself in Italian boat laws which, at minimum, speak to different guest limits in terms of boat size and type. Three days prior to the scheduled tour, you requested a change in the date of the service, to which we were completely accommodating despite our normal policy in which reservation changes must be made 7 or more days prior to the scheduled service date. The day of the tour itself, your confirmed party of 14 showed up as 16 guests, having advised our company of this change via email the night before your service day (when offices were already closed). Without receiving confirmation of the requested change, you proceeded with 16 guests, to which we were, again, completely accommodating. In regards to the manner in which the day began, when you were unknowingly separated from your wife and children on the two different boats, once the captain understood that this occurred, he offered to have you change to the same boat as them and you declined. Upon embarkation, our captains request that all guests remove their shoes in order to preserve the delicate woodwork and maintain the boats in optimal condition for future guests as well. Despite multiple requests, one member of the party refused to take off their shoes, which likely created a bit of tension and possibly the impression you have interpreted as him being “incovenienced”. Instead this is disrespect for our captains and our boats, which is not appreciated. Our captains love what they do and go above and beyond to give our guests incredible experiences. If someone repeatedly disrespects you in your work setting or comes into your home and attempts to damage it, do you smile and continue to allow them to do so? The boats normally do travel close together throughout the day, obviously they cannot be side by side while navigating, but they follow the same itinerary and when stops are made they do them together. It is our understanding that there was a difference in opinion amongst group members on each of the boats as to how to proceed with the itinerary for the day. Around Capri, there were understandably lines to enter the grottos, one group on one boat did not want to wait in these lines and wanted to continue with the tour, therefore they requested to continue on without waiting for the other boat. The captain obliged with this request in accordance with providing good customer service. Please also be advised that what may have seemed rushed to you in the grottos is not a lack of the captain wanting to spend time there, rather the respect for other boats waiting to see the sights as well and understanding that you enter the grotto, see the area and exit so boat traffic can continue to flow. Unfortunately, we cannot control tourist/boat volume around Capri. In fact, on this date, given the tourist volume was higher, the captain offered to go to the smaller marina in Capri, to help avoid the large crowds in the main port. Unfortunately, there is a supplemental fee associated with entrance to the smaller marina, which is where the discussion of 100€ originated. As explained over the phone, we apologized as this was a miscommunication between the captain and guests. Collection of this fee never occurred and we did apologize again for this miscommunication. During the first call with our customer service, you explained that the sandwiches were not offered (please note: the description indicated caprese salad sandwiches, not sandwiches and salads). We immediately apologized for the oversight and explained that we had recently updated our tours and the boat tour no longer included this service, however, as you had booked when this service was still included it was erroneously overlooked. Again, we addressed this, apologized for this and you were fairly compensated for this oversight. Please also be reminded that there were other snacks on board both boats, including other fresh snacks and sweets which normally are not present or described on the website. And, clearly the snacks were consumed, as the boat you were on in the afternoon was completely raided of the snacks and supplies onboard with a mess left that our captains had never seen before. You also mentioned that the Prosecco was not immediately available to you on one of the boats in the morning when you boarded the boat and that thankfully some guests brought supplies from the hotel minibar which they consumed. To clarify this, the drinks were on board and it is at the captain’s discretion when to offer alcohol on board in regards to guest safety. As guest safety is our priority, especially aboard boats in the middle of the sea, we do defer to the captains for this. And with children on board, we would hope that alcohol consumption would not be a highlight of the day. And to confirm, Prosecco was ultimately offered and consumed. During the second call with our customer service, our manager noted your list of complaints and authorized a greater discount than the simple reimbursement for sandwiches costs and informed you she would follow up with the skippers and be in touch, which she within 2 hours from your call. You received an email going into details on each point of your complaint and asking for clarification on the inconsistencies between your version of the story and the explanations received from both skippers (i.e. prosecco availability, request to swap boat, personal drinks consumption and more). To this email you replied saying you would get in touch when you had time, but the reply never arrived, rather we’re guessing you used this time to verbally abuse our work and paint a distorted picture of your experience with us on this site. The astronomical rate for the boat tour was actually far from that as we quite generously discounted the rates due to multiple bookings plus the reimbursement the day of the tour, which in hindsight was a grave error on our part. Please refer to your initial quotes, as it clearly states that we accept payment by credit card with the associated 5% service fee. This was not a fee that was “randomly added late”. During your talk to the manager you literally informed her that given the minor compensation offered you couldn’t assure her that no one would write a negative review of the company, which paints a perfect picture of the aim of this entire review, to be honest with you. As our manager advised over the phone we are not in the habit of being threatened with negative reviews and therefore just offer senseless discounts, but we stand by the generous discount offere even though it was clearly misinterpreted as a chance to feel entitled to ask for a major one, mainly based on your belief of our dishonesty in regards to the 12 guests law. What we do not understand is why the other guests as part of this tour were giving positive feedback and expressing appreciation to the skippers, while you were submitting complaints and requesting a refund. To speak further to the customer service we provide, please be reminded of the similar behavior you exhibited regarding the other two services with our company. A direct transfer with 1 drop off location turned into 2 drop off locations without prior advisement, to which we waived the normal fee. Followed by another transfer service for which you changed the pick up details (time and locations) 4 separate times within 6 hours of your scheduled service, the last of which was requested 2.5 hours before your already scheduled service, and all of these requests were accommodated. As you understand, we are a professional Limo and Travel company, not a taxi service, so the fact that we were so incredibly accommodating on multiple occasions speaks volumes to our customer service reputation. We regret that your interpretation of the boat tour experience and our staff was horrible and argumentative in nature. However, this is a subjective interpretation and if you have interpreted your experience with our company as such, it is unproductive for us to continue to state the facts as they will never be interpreted as such. We stand firm that we provide exceptional customer service and go above and beyond for our guests. We are in the business of successfully providing incredible travel experiences, which is clearly evident from our guests’ reviews. Unfortunately, the customer is not always correct and we are not willing to sacrifice what we have worked so hard to build based on the skewed perspective of one individual. After reading this review we can only hope that tripadvisor will create the opportunity for companies to rate guests as well, I’m pretty sure you would not be welcomed anywhere in the World. It is our hope that other guests reading this review appreciate that this complaint is not at all an accurate portrayal of our company. What we do not regret is the moment we said good bye to you at the train station and our hope not to have to provide services to customers like you. Thank God it happens only once in a decade to have clients like you.
    Read more
    My group of 4 LOVED our boat ride and day trip! The skipper was great! The drinks and snacks were a nice touch. I'm planning another trip and will book with them again. They are very professional and a beautiful boat!
    Read more
    Response from JBL_Team, Owner at Capri island private boat tour
    Responded Sep. 29, 2019
    Hi Lush Traveler, Thank you ever so much for your lovely review about the boat tours for which you kindly engaged our company. We do feel this type of service delivers the most unique experience to see our stunning sites from a different prospective and are glad to read you agree with us. Our skippers are always eager to show their homeland and to be as flexible and accommodating as possible during these services. We will make sure to share your positive feedback with them, we are sure they’ll be happy to hear this. We do look forward to hearing from you soon to start planning your next visit!
    Read more
    July 20 2019 we traveled to Sorrento Italy for our daughters wedding . We chose joe banana as our limo and guide service. We were surprising much more than just satisfied !!! Every guided tour which included Pompei, Capri and Gastro. Was wonderful and more than we could have
    Read more
    Response from gf28, Proprietario at Capri island private boat tour
    Responded Sep. 5, 2019
    Dear GoItalyNow, We appreciate you taking the time to write such a thoughtful review regarding the services you took with our company. We hope to be able to provide each of our guests with services that reflect the passion and integrity with which we run our company. Your review has helped us to understand that we were able to achieve this with you and your family. It is a pleasure for us to know that you were satisfied with our drivers/guides, the tours, and your overall experience was positive. We hope that the memories you made will last a lifetime and you will have the opportunity to create new ones with us on a future trip to Italy! It would be our honor to provide you with services again!
    Read more
    Previous
    Key Details
    • Duration: 7h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: