The Scuola Grande San Giovanni Evangelista is a little jewel in the heart of Venice. Founded in 1261, it is a monumental complex that boasts illustrious examples of gothic art and architecture, as well as of the Renaissance of the Venetian Baroque: it houses works by great masters such as Tintoretto, Palma il Giovane, Lombardo and Codussi, just to name a few.
For over seven centuries the Scuola Grande di Venezia has been home to the homonymous lay confraternity, as well as an important museum that contributes to the conservation of its historical heritage and is often chosen as a location for conferences, weddings, concerts, exhibitions and various events.
The importance of the Scuola in the city had been increased over the fifteenth century, partly due to the donation of the relic of the Holy Cross in 1369 by Philippe de Mezières, grand chancellor of the kingdom of Cyprus.
In 1454 the Scuola was enriched with the lateral facade in Flamboyant Gothic style and, with works carried out from 1478 to 1481, also with the marble septum in the entrance courtyard, by Pietro Lombardo.