We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Post
Inbox
Search

Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik

Save
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$85.00
Date
2 travellers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Itinerary
    This is a typical itinerary for this product

    Stop At: Reykjavik Sailors, Hlesgata vesturbugt F, Reykjavik 101 Iceland

    Imagine if Mother Nature herself would shoot fireworks and lighten up the sky, a moment so beautiful it leaves you out of speech, almost out of breath. We would love to take you on a special Iceland northern light tour away from the shine of the city to a place where you can truly see the northern lights dance around in the sky.

    Duration: 2 hours
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Hlésgata 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
    Duration
    2h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Informative, friendly and professional guide
    • Warm flotation overalls
    • Heated indoor cabins with toilet facilities
    • Wireless internet
    • Seasickness tablets, if needed
    • Entry/Admission - Reykjavik Sailors
    Exclusions
    • Hotel pickup and drop-off
    • Snacks and beverages (sold on board)
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Please be at the departure point the latest 30 minutes before the scheduled cruise time.
    • Please, CHECK YOUR VENDOR account or at tour operator DAILY DIARY before you come to tour operator office; all the important daily information of all our tours will be notified via vendor and on tour operator website. We recommend to contact tour operator if you wish another way to get in touch with you.
    • Please note: Northern Lights is a natural activity governed by the laws of the weather. If the trip is canceled due to bad weather, full ticket price will be refunded If you don't see any Northern Lights, you have the option to take the tour again any time for free.
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Please be aware that due to environmental reasons during certain times of the year our trips may be delivered on a shared boat with one of our partners. At Reykjavik Sailors we are committed to ensuring the environment is kept pristine by making sure fewer boats are on the water during slower periods.
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 120 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    27Reviews2Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 7
    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    • 2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    Although we didn't see the Northern Lights, the boat trip was amazing and informative. The crew aboard the boat was friendly and knowledgable. Since the Northern Lights are not guaranteed there's a 50/50 chance - but totally worth it
    Read more
    Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Office Manager at Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik
    Responded 1 week ago
    Thank you so much for your message! If you are back in Iceland, you are welcomed to try your luck again! Have a great day!
    Read more
    this a truly amazing and stunning sight to experience. this definitely a bucket list phenomenon to visit.
    Read more
    Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik
    Responded Jun. 3, 2019
    Dear rototank, Thank you for your feedback. We totally agree : northern lights are an absolutely incredible phenomenon to witness, and are without a doubt bucket-list worthy. Yet it can be so hard to spot at times... We're happy to read our guides managed to make your dream come true! The time spent braving the infamous Icelandic weather does not come in vain ;) We hope you had a nice stay in Iceland, and wish you all the best!
    Read more
    The trip was cancelled by the tour Operator citing weather conditions - which is totally understandable and is clearly indicated when booking that it is weather dependant. We were unable to make another reservation as the trip was not running the following night. The reason I
    Read more
    Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik
    Responded Jan. 23, 2019
    Dear Adventurer1956, Thank you very much for your comment, this will help us to improve the system. We will contact Trip Advisor/Viator to let them know that some people have problems to get the refund through their website, or at least, it should be easier to do it. On the other hand we appreciate you understood that we had to cancel because of weather conditions, it was a pity though. We hope you enjoyed your staying in Iceland. Best regards, Reykjavik Sailors Team
    Read more
    We picked this company for a variety of reasons. They had a smaller boat, family feel, offered warm clothing, etc. I never expected the lies, creepiness, and poor service. Last minute, they informed us they were pawning us off to a completely different company!!! This is not
    Read more
    Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front desk at Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik
    Responded May 2, 2018
    Dear tyhinkle, Thanks for your sincere review. First of all, we are very sorry for your bad experience with us. As you can read in our website and all our sellers, during some seasons we can transfer the passengers to our partners to be more environmental friendly and sail with the minimum boats; and if this happens, our partners are only 2-4 minutes away walking from our office. Of course the weather can change, sometimes has happened the opposite (we cancel and finally the sky gets clear), but of course, we cannot wait until last minute to put the tour on or cancel it. So, weather is quite unpredictable here. We apologize again for all this matter, but in this case, passengers are invited to come with us for free again. Best regards, Reykjavik Sailors Team
    Read more
    The Northern Lights Cruise we took in February was cancelled on the first night due to weather, but they transferred us to the following night when the boat did go out. We saw the lights dimly and briefly (for about 15 minutes total) and when I asked about why they appeared so
    Read more
    Response from ReykjavikSailors, Front Desk at Northern Lights Cruise from Reykjavik
    Responded May 2, 2018
    Dear MtnWill, Thanks for letting us know your opinion, is very important to have different points of view and each single one help us to improve. Well, Northern Lights are a natural phenomenon that nobody can predict if they will appear seconds, minutes or hours, but of course, some times can be stronger and other times weak. We wish that every night we had a great display of lights :) We provide of warm overalls on board, but we recommend to wear warm clothes too, as is in winter and the cold weather here is terrible. Also, we have indoor warm decks in the ship. Thanks for your sincere opinion :) Anyway, we hope you enjoyed the rest of Iceland. Best regards, Reykjavik Sailors Team
    Read more
    Previous
    12
    Key Details
    • Duration: 2h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: