Tours and Tickets

Reykjavik City Walking Tour provided by Reykjavik Sightseeing

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Reykjavik City Walking Tour

Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this experience is taking.Read more
Select Date and Travellers
From
C$78.16
Date
2 adults
Options
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during this experience
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Hand sanitizer available to travellers and staff
Read more
Updated 20-08-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20-08-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Overview
Reykjavik often serves as a base from which to explore Iceland’s natural attractions, but the capital also holds wonders of its own. On this walking tour, explore the city streets and see sides of Reykjavik many visitors miss. With all entrance fees included and your guide leading the way, there’s no need for a map—take in sights including Harpa Concert Hall, Hallgrímskirkja Church, and Thingholt.
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Laugavegur 5
    Laugavegur 5, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
    The tour starts at What´s On tourist information located on Laugavegur 5 in central Reykjavik.
    See address & details
  • Pass by
    What's On
  • 1
    Hallgrimskirkja
    Stop: 15 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Einar Jonsson Museum (Listasafn Einars Jonssonar)
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Reykjavík City Hall
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Althingi Parliament House
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • 5
    Harpa Reykjavik Concert Hall and Conference Centre
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • 6
    Sun Voyager
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 7
    Domkirkjan
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • You'll end at
    Tryggvagata 11
    Tryggvagata 11, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
    See address & details
+
Highlights
  • Get to know Reykjavik on foot, with your guide leading the way
  • See top attractions: Harpa Concert Hall and Einar Jónsson's statue garden
  • Visit the Hallgrímskirkja Church bell tower, with entrance fees included
  • Panoramic views across the city
What to Expect
Meet your guide in downtown Reykjavik, and then set off into the city to begin your walking tour. First, visit Hallgrímskirkja Church—a landmark on the Reykjavik skyline. Climb to the top of the bell tower and admire sweeping views over the red rooftops to Faxaflói Bay and beyond, while your guide sheds light on the capital’s layout. Next, head to Einar Jónsson's statue garden. Here, gain insight into the myths and legends of the Norse gods. Stroll along the lanes of Thingholt and visit Reykjavik City Pond—where ducks, geese, and swans paddle in the shallows. Take in city attractions including Harpa Concert Hall, the harbor, cathedral, parliament building, and other highlights. Enjoy fine views across the bay to Mt. Esja, and finish your tour in central Reykjavik.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Laugavegur 5, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
Duration
2h 30m
Return Details
Tryggvagata 11, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
Inclusions
  • Guide
  • Entry/Admission - Hallgrimskirkja
Exclusions
  • Lunch
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Comfortable walking shoes are recommended
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
88Reviews
6Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
ra0805 wrote a review Sep. 2019
Tigerville, South Carolina118 contributions28 helpful votes
Guide packed in a lot of info about the history of Iceland as well as the culture. Gave us a great basis for our driving independently. Have taken walking tours in many countries. This was overpriced compared to all others.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
tourguide050 wrote a review Aug. 2019
Adelaide, Australia65 contributions55 helpful votes
Excellent well informed guide. She spoke so clearly and waited for me as I am a bit slow in walking. She also took care of me in the Cathedral. She was happy to share her knowledge and experiences living and working in Reykjavik. It is so important to gain that inside knowledge
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Sara_Hardardottir, Director of Sales at Reykjavik City Walking Tour
Responded Aug. 19, 2019
Hi tourguide050 Thank you for your feedback of the walking tour you took with us! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the day! Hope to see you again someday :-) Kind regards, The Reykjavik Sightseeing Team
Read more
Erin R wrote a review Jul. 2019
Stellenbosch, South Africa50 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
I did this tour with my parents (~70 yrs old) right after arriving in Iceland on our first afternoon. It was a great way to loosen up after the long trip, and to avoid getting tired before bedtime. Lalli was wonderful. He told us many interesting facts and the history of
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sara_Hardardottir, Director of Sales at Reykjavik City Walking Tour
Responded Aug. 12, 2019
Hi Erin R Thank you for your feedback of the Walking tour you took with us! We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our services. Hope to see you again someday :-) Kind regards, The Reykjavik Sightseeing Team
Read more
Ian W wrote a review Jul. 2019
Warrington, United Kingdom34 contributions10 helpful votes
How fortunate we were to book a walking tour with Lalli of Funky Iceland on our first afternoon. Lalli is funny and engaging and also very knowledgeable. From the history of Iceland to saving money in Reykjavík we spent a fascinating three hours with him (he was only meant to do
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sara_Hardardottir, Director of Sales at Reykjavik City Walking Tour
Responded Jul. 19, 2019
Hi ianwG7977FQ Thanks for your thoughtful review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the tour and that Lalli was able to provide an entertaining experience! Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, The Reykjavik Sightseeing Team
Read more
TammyJClifford wrote a review Apr. 2019
Ottawa, Canada1 contribution2 helpful votes
Was fortunate to have a day of free time in Reykjavík before conference began. As I had arrived on an overnight flight, needed to keep moving to stay awake. I had booked the walking tour before I left home, and was fortunate to have the entire tour to myself! Adalheidur was a
Read more
Date of experience: April 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Reykjavik Sightseeing
Mimi A
00
Toss Up
I’m torn between the overall experience. We saw everything we were supposed to see and got a chance to see the wate
Read more
sarrushii
00
recommend
I feel if you get a hire car which we did regardless you could have done this on your own time and terms. The tour
Read more
135larsb
00
Lousy service upon cancellation
The operator cancelled our planned tour via e-mail and didn't even try to contact us on the phone. And they were ve
Read more
edelchuanico
00
Northern Lights Tour
Thank you for i had a wonderful time in Iceland. There's no boring moment i could say as all your staff knows how t
Read more
amyhughesbug
00
Amazing!
We took part in the Into the Ice and Lava combined tour. In both locations the guides were amazing. Very knowled
Read more
petedawn902
00
Driver "forgot to pick us up"
After two earlier tours were cancelled due to weather conditions (which I totally understand) we were booked on one
Read more
Bernice W
00
Sightseeing in Iceland
We had a very memorable trip with these guys. Fabulous Hans, and Seational Ziggi. What a team. The commentary
Read more
bobgoose
00
Very disappointed with trip advisor
I cancelled my trip on government advise that stated over 70s shouldn’t travel but got no refund because it was dec
Read more
Joep G
00
Great tours and guides!
During our stay in Iceland we did 2 tours with Reykjavik Sightseeing. The Northern Lights tour and the Golden Circl
Read more
blackchina
00
Under the circumstances
Despite the circumstances the tour operator went ahead with the tour. We were kept up to date on cancellation and r
Read more
skk324
00
Terrify arrangement
First stop they will send you to bus terminal and group you into a big bus around 50 people in a group. We found o
Read more
marymcrios
00
Great View of Northern Lights
Overall we had a great view of the northern lights but the experience was not as listed. There was no wifi on the
Read more
Jimmy E
00
A mixed bag
Our Golden Circle excrusion was uneventful. We had several interesting places to visit, even though I fell asleep m
Read more
GeorginaL0
00
Good photographs but that’s about it
We travelled around 20-30 mins out of Reykjavík to what can only be described as an off road parking spot where the
Read more
ewanc152020
00
Won't regret it
Iceland is anything but boring, nothing is too far away. Great culture, very kind locals all with perfect English.
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 2h 30m
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071