We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Post
Inbox
Search

Lapland Northern Lights Tour from Tromso

Save
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$129.35
Date
2 travellers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Don your warmest clothes and make your own way to a centrally located pickup point in Tromsø. Meet your guide and climb aboard a comfortable, climate-controlled vehicle for the journey into the Norwegian wilderness. As you travel, watch a video about the mystifying science behind the Northern Lights. 

    On arrival at your specially selected viewing station, opt to sit inside a warm lavvo (teepee-style tent) or beside a campfire. 

    Gaze upwards at the night sky, admiring dense swathes of stars as you await the fiery green glow of the Northern Lights. Enjoy steaming hot chocolate, coffee, and local snacks, or upgrade to enjoy a hot meal, like reindeer stew or fish soup.

    Keep your fingers crossed for an intimate look at one of the world’s most incredible natural phenomena. When the time comes, return to the coach and relax during the journey back to central Tromsø, where the tour concludes.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromsø, Sjøgata 7, 9259 Tromsø, Norway
    Departure Time
    6:30 PM
    Duration
    4h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Air-conditioned vehicle
    • Professional guide
    • Hot chocolate, coffee and cake (if tour only option selected)
    • Meal (if upgrade selected)
    Exclusions
    • Hotel pickup and drop-off
    • Food and drinks (unless specified)
    • Gratuities
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
    • A vegetarian or non-fish option is available (when tour and meal option selected), please advise if you require either at time of booking, using the special requirements field
    • Operates in cold weather conditions, please dress appropriately
    • Not recommended for child aged 4 and under
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    44Reviews5Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 7
    • 3
    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    The forecast wasn’t great weather-wise, however we drove for an hour and a half to a reindeer camp. The lights were out as soon as we arrived which was exciting. The stay at the base camp felt excessively long in cold conditions given the lights came out more than once, 3-4
    Read more
    Response from Tromso S, Product Manager at Lapland Northern Lights Tour from Tromso
    Responded Mar. 14, 2019
    How good to hear you got to see the Aurora with us, even several times throughout the night. We understand that staying at the camp for 3-4 hours seem like a very long time when you get to see the lights early on during the stay at the base camp. However, the lights might show ut later, be stronger, moving, more colourful, show different shapes etc, so even if you have seen them, many guests would like to see them over and over again, since they might not get any other chances. This is part of the reason why we guarantee that the tour will last minimum 5 hours, in order to cover the time of night with the best chances of seeing the lights, Of course, the longer we have to go in order to find clear sky, the longer the tour will last as well, but maximum 7 hours. However, it seems like part of the reason you would have preffered the tour to go back earlier, is because of the cold and the smoke from the fire. This is a very good feedback to us and something we will address with the host at this particular base station. The camp should not be this smokey and cold and we sincerely apologise that you suffered from this. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the many strong links to the Sami culture you find at this base camp, including the host, his yoik (chant) and the reindeer stew (Biddos). Again, thanks for your valuable feedback and for coming along on our Aurora Safari Base Station tour. Welcome back to Tromsø. Arctic regards, Oda (Tromsø Safari)
    Read more
    Enjoyed out time. Was abit of a long 1.5 hour couch ride out of the city but that was due to weather, had we not do this wr would not have seen any night sky and no opportunity to see the aurora. We went to a sami tent and we paid extra for the raindeer soup. This soup was
    Read more
    Response from Tromso S, Front desk at Lapland Northern Lights Tour from Tromso
    Responded Mar. 6, 2019
    Hello! Thanks for your positive feedback. Depending on the weather forecast, we choose the best base stations for the night and even if we drive a bit our guides are always there ready to entertain you with some storytelling and "technical" info about nothern lights :) Glad you liked the soup: our hosts, too, try to do their best so that you can enjoy the whole experience more, staying warm and cosy! Thermal suits are always helpful, but having more layers of clothes is a good decision! Have a great day and we hope to see you soon here. Cecilia
    Read more
    +1
    Everything was exactly as promised. No complains at all about this company and their service. I am not giving Excellent because it is a tough evening. To stay outside for ours, with no restrooms or a cabin to recover from the cold can be very difficult. We tried the next day
    Read more
    Response from Tromso_Safari_media, Public Relations Manager at Lapland Northern Lights Tour from Tromso
    Responded Jun. 3, 2018
    Hei and thank you for your feedback. Some nights is can be more challenging that others to stay outside scouting for the aurora, it has to to with temperature and wind. We are happy that you enjoyed the tour and also went to our baste station which is our pride and core aurora activity. Hope to see you on tour with us again. Have a nice summer!
    Read more
    Our guide was very friendly and professional. The tour took us to natural/wild places with no city light where we saw beautiful auroras (we were very lucky as the auroras depend on the meteorological and solar conditions, the guide cannot guarantee that you will see them). The
    Read more
    First of all, there is no guaranty to see the aurora. It is a matter of luck and weatherconditioms. On the night of my trip the chances to see the lights were low and it was freezing.5 minutes before the tour was over, the lights came out - lucky me. The guides were highly
    Read more
    Key Details
    • Tromso Safari
    • Duration: 4h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: