Tours and Tickets

Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso provided by Tromso Outdoor

Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
C$130.64
Date
2 adults
Options
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
Walking across deep snow is difficult without the right equipment. This snowshoeing tour from Tromso provides you with snowshoes and instruction so that you can experience the sensation of gliding across a true winter wonderland. Your guide takes you to the most scenic spots and provides an energizing hot drink and traditional Norwegian snack. Pickup and drop-off from the center of Tromso is included.
Highlights
  • Receive expert instruction for a snowshoe walk on Tromsoya island
  • Snowshoes and hiking poles provided
  • Pickup and drop-off from the center of Tromso included
  • Snacks and hot drinks provided
What to Expect
Start the morning with pickup from the center of Tromso. Board the minibus and travel inland to the snow-covered hills of Tromsoya island for your tour. After a brief tutorial, strap on your supplied snowshoes and follow your guide across the snow. Enjoy the sensation of gliding over, rather than sinking into, the deep snow. Traverse flat terrain and up gentle hills as you pad through the countryside surrounded by tranquil forest. Make a few stops along the way to admire the scenery and savor tasty Norwegian snacks, such as lefse (cake) and a hot blackcurrant drink. Your tour concludes at your original departure point.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromsø, Sjøgata 7, 9259 Tromsø, Norway
Duration
2h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Transport to the start and back to Tromsø city centre
  • Snowshoes and hiking poles
  • Hot drink and local sweet snack lefse
  • Local guide
  • Pick up point in central location close to most of the city hotels.
Exclusions
  • Winter clothes - but can be rented separately at Tromsø Outdor Rental Center upon prior arrangement. Come in good time before the trip starts, you will find us on Sjøgata 14, open daily 9am-5pm. Hotel pick up and drop off is not available on this tour.
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • IMPORTANT: Please advise shoe size (european) in the special requirements field at check out. If you fail to provide this information your booking may be cancelled.
  • In case we have no snow in the area alternative activity or full refund of the tour costs will be offered.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
36Reviews
4Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
More
Popular mentions
Jennyhuggett wrote a review Jan. 2020
Bury, United Kingdom24 contributions9 helpful votes
Did this trip with my mum. The two others booked on the tour failed to turn up so it was just the two of us.. perfect! Ester was our guide and she was lovely giving us some great info on the way round. The snow shoe experience was not too difficult so suits a variety of
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from Tromsø Outdoor O, Front Office Manager at Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso
Responded Jan. 20, 2020
Thank you for the lovely review! We will pass on this information to Ester too. Hope you had a fantastic time in our beloved city.
Read more
SC-Cardiff wrote a review Jan. 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom13 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked last minute at the Tromso Outdoor shop in town and the staff were very helpful in accommodating us and making sure we had the right boots and clothing without any “hard sell”. The experience was well organised and straightforward- we went 10 minutes by minibus to a
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Tromsø Outdoor O, Front Office Manager at Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso
Responded Jan. 4, 2020
Hi,thank you very much for your kind feedback.We are really happy to hear that you liked our trip.We will let Simone know that you enjoyed his guiding skills.
Read more
drAborige wrote a review Dec. 2019
Sao Paulo, SP83 contributions20 helpful votes
Among all the trips this was the worst experience I had. I could put as a word for this: inattention. I booked a tour in advance to make them a snowshoe on the 26th of December. I arrived at the hotel at night and went around town. Returning before bed accidentally seeing my
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Tromsø Outdoor O, Front Office Manager at Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso
Responded Dec. 29, 2019
Hello drAborige, thank you for your feedback.  Firstly I wish to say that we still hope you had some nice time in Tromsø. Secondly I would like to apologize that you have experienced Tromsø Outdoor service this way. We are a small private company and we strive to always offer the best service to our customers, but we also see that there is still room for improvement.   You expect excuses from our side, but I would like to explain the situation instead one more time. According to our terms, listed on your booking confirmation, we require minimum two guests to book the tour to run activity. It happens very seldom in main season, but it did happen that you booked an excursion on a day, when we did not have any other person interested in this tour. Therefore, unfortunately, we needed to cancel this particular trip. We do it evening in advance to not hold your day and give you possibility to make other plans in case we will not get any more bookings overnight.  Our procedure in this situation is to offer another trip which is available, spot on the same tour other day, rental of the equipment with very good advice on how to enjoy the outdoors on your own and if none of these is a possible change full refund of the tour costs. We have offered you all possible solutions we had, but unfortunately none of them suit your expectations. We are really sorry that we did not manage to find a good alternative for you instead of the cancelled tour and hope that when you come to Tromsø again you would bother to pay us a visit and give us a chance to compensate for your lost time and join us snowshoeing or cycling then. 
Read more
Danielle A wrote a review Nov. 2019
5 contributions1 helpful vote
My friend and I booked the 2 hour guided snowshoe tour on Tromsoya. Pick-up and drop-off was from one of the hotels in town which was convenient. They drove us to the park where we were fitted for snowshoes and poles. The guide we had was really friendly and provided us with
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Tromsø Outdoor O, Front Office Manager at Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso
Responded Dec. 10, 2019
Hi there, and thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your trip with Tromsø Outdoor and that you would recommend it to others! It was a pleasure to have you along with us. Until next time :D
Read more
atfitz wrote a review Nov. 2019
University Place, Washington16 contributions7 helpful votes
We arrived in Tromso on an evening flight and our first activity the next day was a snowshoe walk. Neither of us had ever snow shoed previously and we are both in reasonably good shape but we are not fitness junkies. Our guide, Sergio, gave instructions that were easy to
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Tromsø Outdoor O, Front Office Manager at Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso
Responded Dec. 10, 2019
Hey there, thank you for your detailed review, it is a pleasure to read that our guests had a good time on their tours. We like to make sure our tours are fitting for all levels of fitness, so this is also great to hear. We will let Sergio know too!
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Tromso Outdoor
richardb169
00
Great bicycle trip
Great bicycle trip around Tromsø! Fun with a guide. Saw a lot of Tromsø in a short time. Higly recomended.
Read more
229ernestov
00
One of the highlights of our trip
This was our first time skiing and we had such a great time. Sasha, the instructor, was super nice to us. He taught
Read more
Nora2505
00
Very good advices
Very good advices to compare snow shoe and bike options and propose a snow shoe hike which was fitting to our group
Read more
376annabellec
00
Wonderful Start to the Day
Very different from the slopes! it was good to begin in the tracks to start. We then tried a little in the powder s
Read more
bellecelloe
00
Lots of Fun!
The people at the shop were super helpful and had a lot of local knowledge and advice. We hired snow shoes for a d
Read more
silvanseapoet
00
Great Rental
The people were friendly and the gear was great. They gave good advice on the area and I was able to rent the skis
Read more
Trudy26
00
Hard work, but worth it!
As others have said, you need to have a good level of fitness for this snowshoe hike. When my partner and I were on
Read more
LongVehicle
00
Excellent service
A lot of information on where to practice snowshoeing, and quite easy-going when counting how long rental time real
Read more
vstewart76
00
Fab service
Great service allowing us to have a wonderful holiday. Travelled with 2 adults and 2 kids age 7&4. Everything was p
Read more
Marc196811
00
Equipment for skying and hiking
Very friendly guides and good advices about the equipment we rented as well as tours in the mountains around Tromsø
Read more
kimi91
00
Cross country ski rental - very bad equipment
We rented some xc sky, the personnel was nice, but they gave us a very old equipment. Maybe my granny used it as we
Read more
RebeccaA354
00
What a fab afternoon!
We thoroughly enjoyed our time learning to ski cross-country style. Our group ranged from total beginners to some w
Read more
FAILEDTOSTOP
00
Beginners cross country ski
We had a great time on our very first try of skiing ever and in the artic circle!! Thor our guide was pleasant,pati
Read more
carolinebU3462LS
00
Wonderful guide
We booked the beginners cross country ski experience and had great fun. Our guide Sina was fantastic. She was cheer
Read more
O7750DH
00
Exactly what I needed
Exactly what I needed to re-discover x-country skiing: a small group, an experienced coach, a few minutes only out
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071

Frequently bought together

Small-Group Aurora Hunt Northern Lights Tour from Tromso
from CA$281.99*
Popular: Booked by 2,625 travellers!
Reindeer Sledding Experience and Sami Culture Tour from Tromso
from CA$247.30*
Popular: Booked by 810 travellers!
Small Group Northern Lights Chase from Tromso
from CA$184.05*
Popular: Booked by 2,463 travellers!

Winter Sports

Tromso: Husky Sledding Self-Drive Adventure
from CA$286.12*
Popular: Booked by 338 travellers!
Lapland Lyngen Alps Snowmobile Safari from Tromso
from CA$285.76*
Popular: Booked by 753 travellers!
Dog Sledding - Evening
from CA$285.76*
Frequently Asked Questions about Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso