We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Sydney
Post
Inbox
Search

Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Tour from Sydney

Save
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$103.29
Date
2 travellers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Your Hunter Valley day trip from Sydney includes:

    Wine making tour

    Enjoy a 20 minute 'behind the scenes' wine making tour one of the Hunter Valley's world renown wineries. This particular winery has won “International Winemaker of the Year” at the International Wine and Spirit Competition in London 3 times.

    You must wear enclosed shoes to take part in this wine making tour.

    Private Group Wine Tastings

    Next, visit a traditional winery and taste a range of different wines including red, white, sparkling and fortified. Here you will discover the wine making process and the qualities and character of every wine you taste.

    Family owned wineries

    As this tour focuses on supporting the locals, you will visit a small family owned winery and one of the Hunter Valley's pioneering winemaking families.

    Restaurant Lunch

    Enjoy a delicious restaurant lunch with the choice of many different meals to tempt your taste buds and suit all dietary requirements. Relax with a glass of wine, beer or soft drink in hand as you take in the beautiful scenery that is the setting for our lunch, a world class champion golf course. With rolling hills, lakes and vineyards what more can you ask for?
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Traveler pickup is offered
    Departure Point: Kings Cross

    Sydney Central

    Circular Quay

    Directions: Kings Cross: 7.15am

    Holiday Inn, 203 Victoria St. Behind Kings Cross Station in front of the Holiday Inn, Victoria St

    Sydney Central: 7.30am

    St Laurence Church, 812 George St @ 7.30am

    Circular Quay: 7.55am

    Sydney Harbour Marriott, 30 Pitt St @ 7.55am

    Dates: Tuesday, Friday, and Saturday

    Return point: Sydney Central at approx 7pm
    Duration
    11h
    Return Details
    Sydney Central at approx 7pm
    Inclusions
    • Lunch
    • Driver/guide
    • Live commentary on board
    • Local guide
    • Pickup and drop-off from designated meeting points
    • Round-trip shared transfer
    • Transport by air-conditioned minivan or coach
    Exclusions
    • Food and drinks, unless specified
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
    • Please bring your own water bottle
    • Minimum age is 18 years
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    31Reviews2Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 16
    • 3
    • 0
    • 4
    • 2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    They have unreliable buses they don’t care about the safety of the passengers on board their buses after our tour to the hunter valley on 26th October our buses clutch stopped working we over heard the boss of the company tell the bus driver to limp the bus home even though
    Read more
    Response from GaryakaDave, Owner at Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Tour from Sydney
    Responded 3 weeks ago
    Hello Sharon, I apologise that you and all our guests had this experience on the return journey to Sydney. We know that any bus breakdown is a big inconvenience and it’s the last thing we want as well. Our review history shows that for a 20 year old company that every year drives more kms than to the moon and back, bus issues are very rare. To operate in NSW we have to comply with very tough licencing accreditation and fleet management. Our buses are fitted with GPS tracking so we can see where buses are, what speed they’re travelling and if any drivers have breached any road rules. I am one of the owners of the company but it wasn’t me that spoke to our driver. Our priority was to get you home safely and while it was 4 hours after our scheduled return time, on being informed of the issue when it occurred, we immediately advised our guests that we would reimburse everyone $20 to cover any refreshment costs they may have incurred while waiting at the roadhouse. In regard to the tow truck arriving before the bus, these are two entirely separate services. The tow truck came from locally but our bus had to travel from Sydney. Bus breakdown aside, I hope your actual time in the Hunter Valley was an enjoyable one.
    Read more
    Great tour, 3 cellar doors, distillery, chocolate factory and delicious lunch. Terrific value and Sam our guide was so informative and entertaining.
    Read more
    Response from GaryakaDave, Owner at Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Tour from Sydney
    Responded Oct. 7, 2019
    G'day Andrew. Thanks for the 5 star review. Glad you enjoyed yourself, and appreciate the value and variety on this tour. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Sam.
    Read more
    Billy was an excellent host for the tour. Knowledgeable, affable and interesting. group size (20) was just right
    Read more
    Response from GaryakaDave, Owner at Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Tour from Sydney
    Responded Sep. 1, 2019
    Thanks for taking the time to review your recent wine tasting tour of The Hunter Valley with Billy. Cheers
    Read more
    We were picked up in Sydney. We followed the directions to get there 15 minutes early. The pickup time is the same time no matter where you get picked up. That was the first issue. The time should be staggered passed on your pickup point. We waited over an hour for pick up
    Read more
    Response from GaryakaDave, Owner at Small-Group Hunter Valley Wine Tasting Tour from Sydney
    Responded Aug. 18, 2019
    Hi StuXU, Thank you for your feedback. When you booked the tour with a third party, unfortunately you did not choose a pick up location so we had no way of knowing where you were. Our pick up times in the morning are in fact staggered (for example, Bondi is at 7am, Circular Quay is 7:45am, with a couple in between). This is clearly listed on our website, and we have checked that our third party agents list the same information. As we had no idea where you would be, we went to all four locations, in case you were at one of them, and as it turned, you were at the last location. We also tried calling you on the number you provided, but there was no answer. In regard to the third cellar door, the wine you taste here is from smaller, local wineries that simply do not have their own cellar door, yet have great wines. We apologize if this wasn't clearly explained to you.
    Read more
    Great day with Paul who is friendly, informative and approachable. The vineyards are carefully selected and really give you a good range of experience in terms of their product, atmosphere and approach to wine tasting and buying. The Lunch venue is a highlight and through the
    Read more
    Previous
    About the operator
    By: Colourful Trips
    377 reviews
    Pam_ora57
    135
    Super tour guide
    Fantastic day with super views. Tour guide Ronnie, I think I have the name correct, was exceptional informative &
    Read more
    Gelerias
    London, United Kingdom
    5612
    Perfect nature trip
    Our guide Billy was absolutely brilliant - friendly and funny, told us loads of interesting facts and made the
    Read more
    ScotlandKam
    Scotland
    3425
    Great trip
    We had a great day with Gaz who took us to Featherdale wildlife park and then some of the Blue Mountain walks. Gaz
    Read more
    Kyle H
    10
    The day flew by
    The tour was fascinating, and our guide Gary was very insightful and fun. I'm excited to share all of the amazing
    Read more
    Q9028NLsharonf
    Brisbane, Australia
    30
    Colourful trips
    They have unreliable buses they don’t care about the safety of the passengers on board their buses after our tour
    Read more
    M9637KAnathalies
    10
    Fantastic day in the blue moutains
    Excellent trip Sam was fantastic as a guide tour We highly recommend eco active day We really enjoyed this tour
    Read more
    IoanaD62
    10
    Wonderful 2 day tour with Ronnie and Sam!
    I have been on a few tours in Australia, but none of them were so entertaining and full of information as the 2
    Read more
    Andrew D
    30
    Andrew
    Great tour, 3 cellar doors, distillery, chocolate factory and delicious lunch. Terrific value and Sam our guide
    Read more
    Lizzie3127
    30
    Blue Mountains Bushwalks and wildlife park
    Had a great time on this tour it was a 1 day tour but there was lots to do so great value for money. Our guide
    Read more
    sayer2019
    Houston, Texas
    156
    Canberra Trip
    It's a long day trip but you can see all the important areas in the Australian capital. It was fun driving around
    Read more
    Mere5280
    10
    Nigel and the Blue Mountain tour are both a delight!
    Our all day tour included both the Wildlife refuge and Blue Mountain. Nigel was a fantastic guide, who look the
    Read more
    Scoobyfidotravels
    Singapore, Singapore
    20
    Blue Mountains & Wildlife Day Trip
    For the benefit of those considering this tour, here are few things I'd like to highlight from my experience: -
    Read more
    RebeccaGvegas
    USA
    30
    .
    Awesome tour with very friendly and funny guide! Loved the animals at the wildlife park and great hike around the
    Read more
    Dream402598
    10
    Great day in the blue Mountains!!
    Excellent trip! Ronny was amazing as our tour guide! He brought us to none tourist areas which was great. He made
    Read more
    Vacation38598744385
    21
    Weather didn't damper our day
    This was a great tour. The weather was threatening but Gaz was prepared to adapt the schedule to the weather. We
    Read more
    Key Details
    • Colourful Trips
    • Duration: 11h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071