Tours and Tickets

InterIslander Ferry - Wellington to Picton provided by Interislander

InterIslander Ferry - Wellington to Picton

Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this experience is taking.Read more
Select Date and Travellers
From
C$64.27
Date
2 adults
Options
Low Price Guarantee
No Booking Fees
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during this experience
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Hand sanitizer available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 20-07-26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from InterIslander Ferry - Wellington to Picton
The safety and wellbeing of our passengers and staff is always a top priority. Aligning with expert advice, we have increased the focus on hygiene aboard our ferries. Our ships are cleaned during and after every sailing with disinfectant with a focus on high touch points.
Read more
Updated 20-07-26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Overview
Travel comfortably from Wellington to Picton with a one-way passenger ticket aboard the Interislander ferry. Select your departure time at booking and ensure your journey across Cook Strait, which links New Zealand's North and South Islands. Ferry services depart daily from Wellington Harbour and cruise through Queen Charlotte Sound before disembarking at charming Picton.
Highlights
  • One-way passenger-only ticket from Wellington to Picton
  • InterIslander offers daily ferry services
  • Cruise across Cook Strait in 3.5 hours
  • Dolphins, seals, and whales inhabit the scenic waterways
Important Information
Departure Point
Wellington Ferry Terminal,District of Freedom#8573311~!#, 1 Aotea Quay, Pipitea, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Duration
3h 30m
Return Details
Auckland Street, Picton 7281, New Zealand
Inclusions
  • One way InterIslander ferry trip from Wellington to Picton
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks
  • Kennels are provided for traveling with dogs at a cost of $15
  • Carrying additional bicycles and sporting gear cost of $15 per item
Show More
Additional Info
  • Apart from designated areas, smoking is not permitted inside the ship.
  • The InterIslander fleet has 3 vessels: The Kaitaki (carrying up to 1600 passengers), The Aratere (carrying up to 350 passengers) and the Kaiarahi (carrying up to 550 passengers).
  • From Picton, some InterIslander ferry sailing's connect with the Coastal Pacific train service to Kaikoura and Christchurch.
  • Check in at the terminal at least 45 minutes prior to departure time
  • Cafes and a food court
  • Fast-food takeaway bar
  • Shop for travel needs, souvenirs, magazines and confectionery
  • Movie theater (on selected ships)
  • Video games parlor
  • Lounge and tavern bar
  • Observation deck
  • Children's play area and nursery
  • During off-peak sailing's, some facilities are only open for a limited time
  • Surcharge applies to additional services including extra luggage, large sporting equipment, traveling with pets. The option of carrying additional bicycles and sporting gear (for example, canoes or surfboards), is an additional cost per item. If you are traveling with dogs, kennels are provided at an extra cost, ensuring your pet's comfort and safety, and your peace of mind. There are a limited number of kennels available.
  • The luggage allowance is two (2) items of baggage per person. Additional baggage items may be carried, subject to availability and on the payment of an additional charge. Larger baggage, including backpacks, must be checked in at the Wellington terminal. Baggage can then be collected from the carousels at the port of arrival. InterIslander will not accept individual baggage items which exceed either 32 kilograms in weight, or 200 linear centimeters (height and length and width) in dimension. For safety reasons, there are no exceptions to the weight restriction. However, the restriction in dimension is relaxed for sporting equipment.
  • Infants aged 1 year and under travel free of charge.
  • Children aged 2 to 14 years inclusive qualify for the child rate.
  • Youths aged 18 years and under are not permitted to travel in the Plus Lounge.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
186Reviews
7Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 81
  • 30
  • 9
  • 6
  • 6
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
More
Popular mentions
VJ wrote a review May 11
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand1 contribution
Great trip. Was my first tone to travel with Inter-islander and I enjoyed my journey. Will do it again. Thanks
Read more
Date of experience: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen_GJNZ, Online Crew at InterIslander Ferry - Wellington to Picton
Responded 2 days ago
Kia Ora! Thank you for your lovely review! So great to hear you had a wonderful first trip travelling with us! Such a beautiful way to travel and enjoy the Cook Strait. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
Read more
Mark J wrote a review May 3
1 contribution
Excellent service friendley crew . Departed late due to circumstances beyond their controle . Happy friendley crew made the 3 hour trip fly by
Read more
Date of experience: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Kirsten_GJNZ, Online Crew at InterIslander Ferry - Wellington to Picton
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora Mark J, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review on your recent Interislander sailing - we appreciate it! We are so pleased to hear that you found our crew very friendly – we truly have the best team of people. Looking forward to hosting you again soon! Best wishes, Kirsten | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
Read more
Monza Monza wrote a review Apr. 2021
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand1 contribution
I've always found the Interislander to be a good way to travel. However, for the first time in 20 years I've needed to lodge a complaint (about having received completely incorrect information from a staff member over the phone when I rang to check something. That incorrect
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen_GJNZ, Online Crew at InterIslander Ferry - Wellington to Picton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are incredibly sorry to hear about your bad experience. From investigation I can see this is not a complaint but a refund request for a booking you have made which does go through a CRM system. I will follow this up directly with the team for you to see how we can help. We do apologise for any inconvenience you have experienced. Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
Read more
cruzykaz wrote a review Apr. 2021
Timaru, New Zealand2 contributions
Currently sailing on the 9am from Welly to Picton it is absolutely freezing and quite a few traveller's arnd saying the same. Went to reception to see about getting a blanket they were closed said go to shop went there got told they were on a break so waited arnd for another
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen_GJNZ, Online Crew at InterIslander Ferry - Wellington to Picton
Responded 4 weeks ago
Kia Ora cruzykaz, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very sorry to hear about the uncomfortable temperature onboard your sailing. The air conditioning/ heating system does take a while to circulate around the ship. I have passed this onto management to review. We hope you have a better sailing if you choose to travel with us again. Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
Read more
T W wrote a review Apr. 2021
1 contribution
I highly recommend Nautical mile membership. Have never had any trouble getting on the Ferries regardless of whether we were a little late, Nautical miles members get first on first off a priority. As if that's not good enough, you get a one-off complimentary pass to the plus
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen_GJNZ, Online Crew at InterIslander Ferry - Wellington to Picton
Responded 4 weeks ago
Kia Ora! Thanks for your fabulous feedback! We are so pleased to hear you are making the most of our Nautical Miles Loyalty Programme. This has recently been updated and includes great benefits! We look forward to welcoming you back again! Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Interislander
notenoosuwan
notenoosuwan
00
Nice experience!
Very comfortable, free wifi and power on board! No need to prepare food, there is many cafes and shops. The bathroo
JenniferH1104
JenniferH1104
00
Bad
My family and I used to rely on them for traveling between islands but no longer. Always late and not by a few minu
Declan O
Declan O
00
Disgusting toilets
The men's toilets near the food outlet were revolting and filthy. Despite a cleaning schedule in the wall they coul
Elizabeth V
Elizabeth V
00
Great experience all round
It had been some time since we had last travelled on the Interislander. So when we took return trips around the Eas
MarieAnnNZ
MarieAnnNZ
00
GREAT SAILING
Just mainly the comfort. The whole experience on the interislander was just perfect. So many comfortable seats to
dreamers17
dreamers17
00
Can't beat this on a good day!
Thoroughly recommend the lounge - extra cost excellent value for money. Wonderfully smooth sailing and the dolphin
Jadedog
Jadedog
00
Service is excellent
Service and facilities on board were very good. The bars and eateries provide excellent options and not too expens
67chrissb
67chrissb
00
Loved it
Hadnt been on the ferry in years and LOVED our experience. Everything about it was just right - food, drink, enter
neilcS1420VQ
neilcS1420VQ
00
Two sailings, a week apart.
Abliging staff who were very helpful with our requests, and not so crowded with "sadly covid-19" but it worked for
854DP
854DP
00
One of the best ways to see the sounds
Cruise from Wellington to Picton on one of the 3 Interislander ferries that regularly go back and forth. Sit on top
leoniec215
leoniec215
00
New Zealand transportation
I was surprised on our trip over to the south island. There was alot to offer plenty of seats good was ok. Loved th
johnfT7716DQ
johnfT7716DQ
00
Lovely cruise-friendly crew and good food.
This was a lovely cruise though beautiful scenery. Crew were friendly and helpful. Onboard facilitates were excelle
BlueshiftLQ
BlueshiftLQ
00
Waiting to disembark
4.5 stars for the staff and most of the experience, negative 3.5 for the bloke micro managing his well behaved gir
nattynatty2018
nattynatty2018
00
Travel with a Spoodle
Our dog was in one of their kennels. It was so good yo know he was safe and we were certain he would be out of the
ajbelson
ajbelson
00
Interislander
A simple check-in process, efficient loading onto the ferry and plenty of room inside or out to view the stunning s
Key Details
  • Duration: 3h 30m
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071
Frequently Asked Questions about InterIslander Ferry - Wellington to Picton