We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chichagof Island Tour: Brown Bear Search

Select Date and Travellers
From
US$117.45
Date
2 travellers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Itinerary
    This is a typical itinerary for this product

    Pass By: Icy Strait Brewing, 286 Front Street, Hoonah, AK 99829

    Drink Beer & Be Merry!
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Hoonah, Hoonah, Alaska

    Traveler pickup is offered

    Ports
    Icy Strait
    Duration
    3h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Picks Up & Drops Off at Icy Strait Point
    • All individual seating in van, no bench seating
    • Small Group Tour - Max of 12
    • Local Native guide
    • Bottled water
    • National Park fees $5.40
    Exclusions
    • Gratuities (Never expected always appreciated)
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Tour Time is Departure time. Please meet 15 minutes prior at the Icy Strait Point Excursions Hub
    • Each Child on tour must be accompanied by an adult
    • No Smoking
    • At time of booking, cruise ship passengers must provide ship name
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Most travelers can participate
    • Children Under the age of 8 are not permitted on this tour
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    58Reviews6Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 16
    • 3
    • 5
    • 3
    • 1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    We were in Hoonah on June 21, 2019. I booked this tour for our family of 4: grandma, mama and 2 boys (9 & 11 yrs). Stu was our guide and he was awesome!! We prefer tours by locals and Mr. Stu did not disappoint. He was full of knowledge of the area and clearly took pride in
    Read more
    We were in Hoonah on July 9,2019. We had this trip booked and paid in advance. Unfortunately we were running late but only by 8 minutes and this group left us without trying to contact us. We had small children and had about 10 min walk from the boat to the excursion hub. We
    Read more
    Response from HoonahAK2019, Owner at Chichagof Island Tour: Brown Bear Search
    Responded Jul. 14, 2019
    Hello again, as we have said to you before when you demanded a refund, we were sorry you missed your tour with us! Had we had an opportunity to sell your seats a refund might have been possible. Your ship docked hours before your tour started. You had ample time to reach us. In our confirmation, which we know you received, we ask that all guest arrive 15 min prior to departure. This allows for guests to theoretically "run late", but still arrive on time for departure. We pride ourselves on leaving right on time. It is only fair to everyone else who have have been waiting for 15 minutes. All guests this day arrived on time or early, even those with small children. You arrived 23 minutes after the requested arrival time, and 8 minutes after, the specified departure time. Our company representative did try to call you but the area on the island where the tours depart from are in a dead spot and we could not get through. After you did finally arrive, we offered you an alternate tour which you refused. We wish you would have taken the alternate tour, your family would have had a great time. Instead, you chose to insist the tour return for you which was not possible. We hope this unfortunate event encourages you to arrive early at future excursions.
    Read more
    I took this day trip while on an Alaskan cruise. The guide who was informative began by telling the group that the area being part of a rain forest normally gets about 300 days of rain annually. As of 7/11/19 when I visited , no rain had fallen for a month. As a result the
    Read more
    Enjoyed a pleasant drive up to the trailhead where our guide Devin told us many interesting facts about the town of Hoonah and life there in all seasons. He also told us about the various natural habitats we drove though on the way. When we reached the trailhead he heard that
    Read more
    We booked this tour hoping to see brown bears. Since it was only July 1, we knew we were a little too early in the season, but took the chance anyway. Our guide was a local Tlingit native who spent the entire tour telling us about the traditions and history of their culture.
    Read more
    Key Details
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall:
    Travellers Also Viewed
    Fishing Charter
    from US$325.00*
    1 hour self-guided ATV Tour
    4 Reviews
    from US$140.00*
    Icy Strait Shore Excursion: We're...
    5 Reviews
    from US$232.39*
    Tlingit Canoe and Culture Experience
    15 Reviews
    from US$101.25*
    Kayak Tours
    11 Reviews
    from US$150.00*
    Icy Strait Shore Excursion: We're...
    5 Reviews
    from US$232.39*
    Guaranteed Whale Watching Adventure...
    96 Reviews
    from US$152.00*