Destin Tours
Dolphin-Watching Speedboat Cruise in Destin Harbor
4.5

Dolphin-Watching Speedboat Cruise in Destin Harbor

By Screaming Eagle Sports
Recommended by 92% of travellers
92% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
This Destin dolphin-watching experience takes you out on the Gulf of Mexico in search of wildlife like dolphins, sharks, and stingrays in their natural habitat. Not only is this tour a fun and informative way to pass the afternoon, but it is limited to a small number of people, making for a friendly and intimate outing that’s perfect for families.
from
C$67.57
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 14 per group
Duration: 1h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More

Highlights
  • Destin dolphin-watching tour on the Gulf of Mexico
  • Opportunities to see dolphins, stingrays, and more
  • A guide helps you spot wildlife and provides fun facts about the animals
  • A popular choice among families with kids

  • dolphin thrill ride
  • music
  • guided tour with Captain
  • life jackets for age 6 and under (required)
  • Complete coverage with shade over boat
  • kids get a chance to be Captain on the boat upon request.
  • Lots of laughs and amazing memories with our fun crew
  • Speedboat provides a small intimate setting
What's not included
  • Gratuities

Your tour begins after you make your way to the Destin Harbor waterfront. Meet your captain-guide and set sail in the Gulf of Mexico, admiring views of the famously blue waters and white-sand shoreline as you go. The small boat gives this experience a more personalized feel, so you can ask your guide plenty of questions—perfect for families with curious kids—while shade cloth keeps you comfortable on board. During the tour, your guide provides information about the local wildlife and helps you spot animals like dolphins, stingrays, loggerhead turtles, and sharks. Loop around Crab Island, a sandbar only reachable by boat, before returning to Destin Harbor.

Start:
  • 316 Harbor Blvd, Destin, FL 32541, USA
    Departure Point: Screaming Eagle Sports is located down the hill in Mobile Sports Banana Boat Ride kiosk. Please check in there. Parking is at 314 Harbor Blvd. Follow instructions on the sign in the parking lot to pay for parking. (We are not in the Happys Watersports trailer)
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Infants must sit on laps
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 32745P1

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • A maximum of 14 people per booking
    • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
    • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Most travellers can participate
    • Each person including infants requires a ticket
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 32745P1

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Screaming Eagle Sports
      474
      Destin, Florida
      Joined in August 2014
    • dony973
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Definitely recommend
      The views were amazing and the driver know what he’s doing, we enjoyed the music and it’s a must you ask for them to put on the a/c 😂😂
      Written July 20, 2024
    • J973KFcs
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      SUPER FUN!
      SUPER FUN! definitely worth every penny ! would do it again!! hosts were very nice and super friendly. highly recommend.
      Written July 20, 2024
    • 633shaquandap
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      An Even on the water watching the sun set
      I was an awesome Ride. We got to see many dolphins. I would Definitely recommend !!Rhe captain and attendant was very friendly
      Written July 20, 2024
    • duncanhV5830BZ
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Wonderful Sunset Evening
      Perfect intimate sunset cruise- very nice boat- Thank you to Randy- it was wonderful- the perfect atmosphere. We appreciate it-
      Written July 16, 2024
    • emilyfR8690LF
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Thriller is great
      So fun and such a great family running the business! Love seeing all the dolphins too! Get some speed and splashing good time.
      Written July 16, 2024
    • stephanieaX6082YH
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Don't want this to ever ever end.
      The best experience ever. Savannah and Captain Trent are the best host.My family and i had fun. Will do again!. Loved seeing the dolphins they were sooooooooooooooooooooooo cute.!!!!!!
      Written July 6, 2024
    • osvelyv
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Vacation 2024
      Amazing experience my wife and me enjoyed this adventure. Excelente service and the guy very friendly. Good music on boat. Will be back next year
      Written July 6, 2024
    • Seaside39630695590
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      4th Celebration as a local
      My spouse and I are locals and enjoy watching the 4th fireworks on the water. It was enjoyable and Logan found a great spot away from all of the other boats in the area. Will probably make this a tradition.
      Written July 6, 2024
    • Traveler49384644998
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fast and fun!
      Really fun time! Highly recommend. The ride was fast and we saw dolphins. Also the sunset and lights on the harbour at night were beautiful.
      Written July 5, 2024
    • U9492CEjessicat
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Super fun family activity
      Super fun ride! Loved the water splashes. They even let my little 2yr old drive the boat. :) Definitely recommend for a nice family activity!
      Written July 4, 2024
    • hudsonu55
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fun
      Went fast driver and assistant were nice was a good experience, whole family enjoyed it we recommend it to anyone that isn’t boring. One of the best parts of our vacation.
      Written July 4, 2024
    • mel s
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      must do!!
      captain trent and savanah were incredible we had the perfect mix of a fun fast boat ride, good dolphin viewing, and a beautiful sunset couldn’t have asked for a better trip thank you guys we will for sure be back again 😊
      Written June 18, 2024
    • shannonrL2060JI
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Timeless
      If you want to ride the fastest boat in the harbor, see dolphins and see your kids face light up like Christmas morning!!! Then book this boat ride.
      Written June 5, 2024
    • 174lindsiet
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Family Loved This Speedboat!!!
      This boat is next level! If you are looking for a fun experience for the whole family, Thriller has you covered! We saw a ton of dolphins and enjoyed seeing the Destin harbor. Once we were out in the gulf we were able to go super fast. This was an added bonus to this cruise that had everyone smiling. 10/10 would highly recommend this experience!
      Written June 5, 2024
    • 713macyn
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Highly recommend!!
      Thriller Speed Boat in Destin was great!! The driver and his helper were very professional and so fun!! We saw several dolphins and going fast was a blast!! Highly highly recommend!!
      Written June 5, 2024
    See all 474 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles212 reviews
    Excellent
    187
    Very good
    9
    Average
    6
    Poor
    6
    Terrible
    4

    Heather B
    1 contribution
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Apr 2021 • Couples
    We booked a sunset dolphin cruise the day prior. 1 hr 15 min before our arrival, I received a voicemail that our trip was being moved to 5:30. We were ok with this. Then 45 min before the start of the ride, we received a text that we were completely canceled because there were not enough people who bought tickets and the 5:30 time was going to be a private cruise. I called the manager who was unapologetic and tried to upsell us by saying I could buy 2 more tickets and then he would take us out at 4:30. The company did not seem to care that it was such short notice that we could not make other arrangements and we were leaving the next day. We called other companies who told us this is not their business model. They only cancel for bad weather. Please consider booking with a more reputable company. If a company is going to require 24 hr cancellation from their customers, the customers should have the same expectation from the company (unless conditions are unsafe).
    Written April 16, 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Heather, I am very sorry we were unable to run the trip time today. We are a small family business and we require six person minimum to run a trip. We are sorry for your frustration, but from a business standpoint, we aren’t financially able to run trips with two to four people on them. We have to factor in our fuel costs, labor for our deckhand, insurance, etc... Bigger businesses that take out 60 people at a time might have different policies, but all the businesses in the harbor that I know have our same policies. We work hard to get our customers out on the water. We can’t control the times customers are booking online. The majority of our bookings are booked online through our website. We have had rain for the past several days and it has slowed down bookings. The number one reason we we don’t call 24 hours prior is we typically get bookings up until the trip time. We try to give the trip a chance to make to get our customers out on their trip. However, if a time doesn’t make, we do call and try to move the customer to a different time slot. We even tried moving you to tomorrow and you were unable to do so. Many customers when under the minimum, purchase the remaining ticket or two, to reach the minimum number. We did offer this to you and we are sorry if that offended you. The majority of customers do this and it ends up being their idea. We were trying to give you options and it’s unfortunate you booked on the day before you were leaving. Our site recommends booking earlier in a customers stay in case there is bad weather and we have to rebook. We are sorry it has been rainy and slow, but these are things we can’t control. Since we were unable to accommodate you, we issued you a full refund while on the phone. Once again we are extremely sorry we didn’t hold up to your expectations.
    Written April 17, 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Sam
    2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jun 2020 • Family
    The cruise was amazing. My family's first time on a boat and they loved every second. The kids were screaming so loud enjoying themselves they were having the most fun. My daughters were shocked at the taste of the saltwater lol but they loved the mist from the gulf. We saw a few dolphins and we also saw a shark cute fish and I was hoping the dolphins would follow us. The captain knew how to rip the waves as we coasted perfectly against the current. I had a moment where I was definitely like "Yesss this is awesome!" We had help getting pictures of the family from the co captain. I just wanted to put my phone away and enjoy. We visited near crab island and the private beaches. I would recommend Screaming Eagle Sports to anyone in Destin. Great adventure.
    Written June 27, 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    We are so glad everyone had a great time. Thank you so much for the great review. We hope we were able to create some awesome memories.
    Written June 28, 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    gobluegirl93
    Livonia, MI12 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2021
    Screaming Eagle definitely has the potential to offer a great cruise. Unfortunately, they don't have the commitment to do so. My sister and I took a dolphin cruise on the Screaming Eagle in late September. Trent was very friendly at check-in and was generally helpful throughout the cruise. We got off to a good start--the boat is fast and can offer a really fun ride and we saw a number of dolphins pretty quickly, although none of them were particularly close. The captain decided to cruise west along the shore, but then the boat slowed, then stopped. The captain was giving directions to Trent to try to get the engine started again, but no go. The captain had to go back to work on the engine to try to get it going. We sat there waiting patiently. Finally, after 18 minutes, he was able to get the engine started. We assumed that he would make up that lost time and continue on with the cruise. We knew there was no rush to return since I was told that morning that this would be the only trip of the day. We would have also understood if he said that it was too risky to continue the tour because of the engine problems and offered a partial refund. Instead, the captain gave no explanation and offered no apology. He just turned the boat around and headed straight back. I even called out (I was sitting directly behind him) that there were dolphins right next to the boat, and he didn't even slow down for a moment to give us a chance to watch them. We returned to the dock 1 hour and 2 minutes after our departure for a 1 hour tour. Since 18 minutes were spent just sitting there doing nothing, and that's nearly 1/3 of the tour, we felt that we didn't get a full tour. We talked to several of the other passengers after we got off the boat and they were also stunned that the captain didn't say anything about the lost time caused by the mechanical failure or make any attempt to tack that time onto the end of the cruise. My sister has called several times since that day and left messages explaining the situation and asking for a partial refund, but there has been no response. A business owner should always try to do right by their customers, but the management at Screaming Eagle Sports apparently lacks the integrity to do what's right. Save yourself the headache and disappointment and cruise with another company.
    Written October 12, 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Heather, thank you for withdrawing your comments and for being understanding. As I stated per our phone conversation, we are a small family business and I was sick with Covid Pneumonia for 8 weeks. That left my husband who is also the captain and my deckhand, who is my son to do my job, which is scheduling trips, checking customers in, responding to emails, reviews, taking care of refunds etc… as well as them doing their jobs etc… Not only were they doing their job, they were also taking care of my part of the business as best they could and running our daughter/sister to and from school, practice etc. I receive about 85 emails a day, not to mention calls coming in. Once again, I am sorry for the oversight of the not getting back to you in a timely manner. I just returned back to work last week and have been playing catch up over the last several days. Even though we perform regular maintenance on our boats, They will have issues sometimes unexpectedly. Like I stated on the phone, I wished you had talked to the captain or deckhand when you arrived back to the dock immediately to address your concern with them. We would never intentionally cheat someone out of time. I spoke to both of them about this matter and they thought they left early since we have customers arrive 30 min early, we do that sometimes when all customers arrive. If it was an oversight on their part, I am sorry. The other groups on the boat said they had the time of their life and one group tipped $100. I was glad when I called that I was able to work this matter out with you.
    Written October 15, 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Linda C
    1 contribution
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2021 • Family
    Never leave reviews, but this experience was worth the effort. We took went on 4 dolphin cruises during our week in Destin and this was the most expensive and by far worst. But I can't leave zero stars so my I suppose the one star is deserved since a.) not much vacation time was wasted (it was even a few minutes short of the advertised hour which was great since we were all bored and just playing on our phones) b.) the parking fee was less than we paid at other locations and c.) although signs were posted, they did not explicitly ask for tips as we exited the boat so at least they know they are undeserving
    Written August 19, 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    We are sorry you were bored with us. We offer dolphin cruises on a speed boat. Our maximum capacity is 14 which gives you a more personable experience. We are a small family business and our top notch crew is very deserving of a tip. It’s all about perspective so I’m sorry you were bored on a boat ride in Destin Fl. I’m not sure what your expectations were, but we offered the service that we advertise. Unfortunately, we don’t do juggling acts and jump through rings of fire. We cruise the Gulf of Mexico across the beautiful emerald green waters looking for dolphins, sharks etc … The captain points out interesting facts along the way. Once again we are sorry you were bored.
    Written August 23, 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Tracy T
    14 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    I liked that the boat was smaller than a lot of the other excursions and we had plenty of room to relax instead of being stuffed in like a can of sardines. The seats were comfortable. They delivered on our expectation of viewing animals in their natural habitat...we saw dolphins, stingrays and even a shark. Once we were out of the harbor and had already viewed some of the marine life, the captain asked if we wanted to go fast. When we did, the wind and ocean spray in our faces was truly exhilarating.
    Written July 27, 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    We are glad to hear everyone had a great time. We hope you make plans to come back again.
    Written July 28, 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    7doks
    Fort Wayne, IN34 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Oct 2020
    My family of 8 took a dolphin cruise with the this wonderful family. We had a great time. The captain and his son were very informative and kept us entertained the entire time. We did get to see dolphins and our entire family considered it one of the highlights while we were in Destin.
    Written November 5, 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you so much for the review. We are so glad you had a great time.
    Written February 6, 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Joy Z
    1 contribution
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2020 • Family
    For people with infants should have a disclosure before purchasing tickets that the boat will exceed comfortable speeds. I was upset putting my one year old grandson and his mother through that terrifying experience. The driver was trying to give young college aged people a experience of a lifetime, so he sped up extremely fast and hit choppy waves which, for them was fine, but for us it was upsetting. This should not have happened with a infant/toddler on board. We were there to enjoy the scenery and see dolphins, which we did. Just not for the shenanigans.
    Full disclosure should be available before purchase. I had a good time over all just really mad at myself putting my kids in such a uncomfortable situation. I would not have done it had I known.
    Written July 19, 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    We are very sorry you felt you had a terrifying experience. Screaming Eagle Sports is a speed boat dolphin tour company. We offer a fun, thrilling boat ride at safe speeds. When booking on Trip Advisor, there are multiple options for dolphin cruises ranging from slow rides on big boats to thrilling fun rides. We are a small family business that welcomes customers of all ages that range from babies to seniors. Safety is our top priority. Anyone 6 and under are provided with a life jacket as they are required by Coast Guard to wear on board. Many times young children even fall asleep. We try to be very accommodating and during our trips the Captain and deckhand talk to our guests and check on them. Everyone on this particular trip seemed to be having a great time. We could have answered any questions you might have had about the trip by calling us directly. The captain was providing the fun ride on a speed boat that everyone signed up for at a safe speed. Overall, we are glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and had a great time with us on the Screaming Eagle.
    Written July 20, 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Toni Sharp
    Grove, OK1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2023
    Always wanted to do a dolphin tour, glad we picked this one! Young, fun, friendly, cute captain & co-captain made great effort to find dolphins, not too many people, cool boat, boat ride was great, and sunset was gorgeous! Worth every penny, would highly recommend!
    Written July 9, 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    We are glad you had a great time. Thank you for booking with Screaming Eagle Sports.
    Written July 9, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    elma c
    1 contribution
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jun 2023 • Family
    My original personally paid scheduled time was changed 1hr before by staff at Screaming Eagle Dolphin-Watching Speedboat Ride. I was told that there wasn't enough people scheduled for our 11am time. I was with a party of 4 (me, my dad 72 yrs, my daughter 21yrs & her boyfriend 21yrs). Having my trip already scheduled for our 3 day stay they put me in a predicament. I was offered 7pm the same day, stating that time had room. My family was disappointed because to see dolphins or any other water wild life was going to be difficult to see. So come to see there was another party of 3 for the 7pm. Just as expected it was sunset and dusky to see anything. Took them 30 minutes to chase down a couple of dolphins that blended with the water that pictures were impossible and only got a video of choppy water. Then the 45 minute $175 fee was over. The captain was very friendly and made everyone feel safe but we were disappointed due to seeing nothing worth what I paid.
    Written June 14, 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed however, we cannot control the wildlife and wind/weather conditions. As stated on our site, if we are under the minimum, we have to rebook to a trip that will run. This ensures you get to go on your trip. We have expenses per trip we have to cover therefore we are unable to run with just 2 ppl. Once again we are sorry for the disappointment.
    Written June 17, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Erica D
    Albuquerque, NM46 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Mar 2024 • Family
    We did see dolphins, so I’ll start with that fact. The company asks you to be there 30 minutes early, yet they aren’t there until closer to the actual departure time. They put you on a “speed boat” and then go about 2 miles an hour at most, and that was outside of the no wake zone”. To top it off the person driving the boat acted less than enthusiastic about being there. Truly was a disappointment that we paid to have the experience we did.
    Written March 13, 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed in your time. All companies in the boat charter business suggest being 20 to 30 minutes early to help you get here without missing the boat. We know that our customers may not be aware of how bad the traffic can be. Also, it gives you time to find parking, use the restroom and get checked in. Our company as well as, all charter companies run on a strict time schedule. If you are late, you miss your cruise and unfortunately we cannot refund for that. Our crew runs back to back trips all day long. Being early ensures you don’t miss it. The speedboat cruise is also a dolphin cruise which is stated in the title. We slow down and stop to look at dolphins as well as, give a fun go fast ride. The other customers on this trip had a great time and tipped our crew very well. The person driving the boat is a licensed master captain. His priority is to captain the boat and keep everyone safe. There are times on the boat he is able to interact with the customers, but unfortunately he is not able to perform a juggling act and jump through rings of fire. We try to have a balance of listening to music, watching the dolphins, and talking with our customer's. We want to give everyone a chance to enjoy their time out on the water. Once again, we are sorry you were disappointed in your time.
    Written March 13, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 207

    Dolphin-Watching Speedboat Cruise in Destin Harbor provided by Screaming Eagle Sports

    All Destin HotelsDestin Hotel Deals
    All things to do in Destin
    Amusement Parks in Destin
    RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars