Tours and Tickets

Sunset City Tour provided by Anchorage Downtown TourGroup

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Sunset City Tour

COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this experience is taking.Read more
Recommended by 100% of travellers
Select Date and Travellers
(Price varies by group size)
2 adults
Select tour language
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during this experience
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Hand sanitizer available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20-07-13 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sunset City Tour
City and State mandates require testing 72hours prior to arrival. Your guide is tested once a week and the vehicle is sanitized after each tour. Please see airline requirements and Airport guidelines for the latest Statewide requirements for travel.
Read more
Updated 20-07-13 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Offered both winter and summer. (Daylight restrictions may apply) This tour, along with our Sunrise Tour, is our most popular wildlife and city tour. Depending on the time of year, we see moose, sheep, whale, goats, wolves, bear and more. While animals are never guaranteed, it is your best chance to see wildlife in Anchorage and the time of day ensures the best possible views of our city. This tour is the same price for a private or group tour.
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Flattop Mountain Trail
    Stop: 5 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Turnagain Arm
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Chugach Mountains
    Stop: 2 hours
    See details
Important Information
  • Bottled Water
  • Gratuity
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infant seats available
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Traveller rating
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Popular mentions
Alan W wrote a review Sep. 2019
Reading, United Kingdom703 contributions211 helpful votes
We had a very interesting trip around Anchorage and its environs and Russ is incredibly knowledgable and pleasant. However hard he tried the nearest thing to a bear was bear excrement and a moose seen on his camera, so don't expect to see anything and if you do be happy!! One
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Response from Russ R, Owner at Sunset City Tour
Responded Sep. 28, 2019
I am sorry you lost money due to the exchange rate and most importantly, due to our mistake. I have issued an additional $20 refund to cover any additional expense. I hope this note finds you well. I am thankful for your honest review of our services. I hope you get the opportunity to visit again. I am not sure if I told you that I do offer copies of all my photos, for personal use, to anyone who travels with me. Please reach out to me via email and I will send you a link so you can download any photos you wish. Thank you for allowing Anchorage Downtown TourGroup to help plan your adventure. FYI; Public Law 92-203, approved December 18, 1971, authorized Alaska Natives to select and receive title to 44 million acres of public land in Alaska, and $962,000,000 in cash as settlement of their aboriginal claim to land in the State. Cheers, Russ
Read more
Mish_H50 wrote a review Sep. 2019
Japan386 contributions201 helpful votes
Russ is nice, if a bit strange, but has extensive knowledge of Alaska on all aspects. He himself is passionate about the wildlife but when I mentioned I wasn't too ekkn on that, he was incredible at switching to accommodate my interests. He added a place to show me some Native
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Response from Russ R, Owner at Sunset City Tour
Responded Sep. 14, 2019
Mish, thank you for choosing Anchorage Downtown TourGroup for you adventure in Alaska. I truly enjoyed our time together. I do hope you get the opportunity to visit us once again. I would welcome the opportunity to show you Anchorage in the winter. I think you would enjoy it. Maybe someday I will have the opportunity to tour with you in Japan. Cheers, Russ
Read more
Read 2 more reviews on Viator
Write a review
What was your experience like?
Share your best travel photo
Let the world see your experience through your eyes.
Get quick answers
Ask fellow travellers and attraction managers your top questions.
About the operator

This experience only has a few reviews, but you can read what other travellers have to say about the operator.

By: Anchorage Downtown TourGroup
This agency did not even call to cancel
We booked the Matanuska Glacier Walk with this company, paid and had our confirmation almost a month before. We cal
Read more
Amazing tour!
I had so much fun!!! Driver and tour guide were really nice and informative. Be prepared for the weather so dress a
Read more
Must do
Russ was great! Really accommodating and friendly, even texted us later that weekend to give us a heads up to catch
Read more
Amazing tour & guide
My husband and I did this tour today with Russ. I can’t say enough good things about it and about our guide, Russ.
Read more
This was by far one of the most magical experiences. The view is breathtaking. Russ was sooo accommodating and swee
Read more
This is a must do!
I have done many amazing activities during my stay in Alaska, and this is by far the best one! Words cannot describ
Read more
Excellent way to experience the Glacier
The tour is well guided with all safety gears provided by the touring company. Breath taking experience. If you are
Read more
One of your to do list in your life
Our guide is Russ. He is very nice and knowledgeable. We have big storm when we drive toward to glacier, and we kin
Read more
All in one; Glacier Hike
I was skeptical about traveling to Alaska during Pandemic in October but i talked to Russ (Downtown Anchorage tour
Read more
Incredible, Unique Experience
Worth every penny. Our tour guide was Russ. He's a very good and experienced tour guide and can tell you everything
Read more
Fun times during Covid times
Great views. Very informational. Overall great experience. Would definitely recommend. A bit long total Duration wa
Read more
Awesome trip
My tour guide was Russ Reno. He is so friendly. His car is so clean. I took a private tour. He showed me the most
Read more
Highly recommend
I had a one of a kind experience. Russ is like the ONLY tour guide that doesn’t cancel on you if there’s less than
Read more
Excellent tour! Russ is an awesome guy, thought me alot about Alaska and a good driver ;) great sightseeing Nd good
Read more
Amazing tour and guide
Special Thanks to Russ for taking us on an incredible drive along the Glenn highway all the way to the Matanuska Gl
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Pickup offered
  • Languages Offered: English, Chinese, Chinese
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunset City Tour