We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Summit Experience at University of Canterbury Mt John Observatory

Select Date and Travellers
From
US$114.07
Date
2 travellers
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Visit: Dark Sky Project, 1 Motuariki Lane, Lake Tekapo 7945 New Zealand

    Immerse yourself in the stunning surrounds, pristine night skies and sophisticated viewing technologies as our expert guides and astrophotographers share the science and stories of our Southern Skies. Our talented astrophotographers will ensure you have a reminder of your unforgettable experience with us.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Dark Sky Project, 1 Motuariki Lane, Lake Tekapo 7945 New Zealand
    Duration
    2h
    Inclusions
    • GST (Goods and Services Tax)
    • Professional guide
    • Pickup and drop-off from our Lake Tekapo Office
    • Entry/Admission - Dark Sky Project
    Exclusions
    • Food and drinks
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • A maximum of 30 people per trip time
    • Minimum age is 8 years
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    37Reviews8Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 28
    • 2
    • 4
    • 2
    • 0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    We have a couple of astronomy enthusiasts in the family and had been looking forward to this for ages, and it didn't disappoint. The whole experience was excellent from start to finish and the company is very professional and knowledgeable. We loved that they use te reo and
    Read more
    Response from Marketing_NTT1, Marketing Intern at Summit Experience at University of Canterbury Mt John Observatory
    Responded 5 days ago
    Kia ora krispa2019, Thank you for taking the time to write such an awesome review, it is always great to receive feedback of this nature. We are over the moon to hear that you had a great experience with our team here at Dark Sky Project during your recent visit to Lake Tekapo. It's fantiastioc to hear you enjoyed our knowledgeable guides and the weather cleared for your tour, making it perfect for exploring the night sky above. We are pleased to hear that we were able to provide you and your family with an experience to remember. Once again thank you for the great review and recommendation. We hope you visit us again. Ngā mihi, Lauren
    Read more
    We booked this months in advance for our family of 5 and then just crossed our fingers for a clear night. We got lucky and had a beautiful night. It was quite fun and an adventure for our children to stay up late until the middle of the night and go on a trip up the mountain in
    Read more
    Response from Marketing_NTT1, Marketing Intern at Summit Experience at University of Canterbury Mt John Observatory
    Responded 1 week ago
    Kia ora southseaislandabroad, Thanks for taking the time to write such an awesome review, we really appreciate it. We're over the moon to hear that our Summit Experience was a highlight of your family holiday to the South Island. It's great to hear that you all enjoyed learning about the night sky from our passionate and knowledgeable guides - being generally qualified astronomy experts and many being researchers themselves, they love sharing their knowledge and showcasing the night sky to all our visitors. Once again thank you for the great review and we look forward to the next time you visit us at Dark Sky Project. Safe travels. Ngā mihi, Lauren
    Read more
    We were there for 2 nights and both night were unsuccessful in doing the Summit experience due to clouds and high winds. However, Dark Sky Project were very apologetic and refunded our money without any fuss. We were given the option to transfer to another tour for the 2nd day
    Read more
    Response from Marketing_NTT1, Marketing Intern at Summit Experience at University of Canterbury Mt John Observatory
    Responded 1 week ago
    Kia ora Gymjunkie20077, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we really appreciate it. We are sorry to hear that your tour was cancelled due to the weather. Unfortunately the weather (especially cloud cover) in the Mackenzie District can at times be changeable and unpredictable. Our tours operate where possible and we have recently launched our new Dark Sky Experience which is an indoor opportunity to learn about the night skies from both a cultural and scientific perspective. We hope that you visit us again and the weather is more favourable the next time. Ngā mihi, Lauren
    Read more
    A fantastic experience for everyone, we had a beautiful clear night perfect for star gazing. Our guides were Holly, Kade and Rintaro, Holly did most of the talking and had a fantastic knowledge of Astronomy and was able to answer all of the questions asked. The jackets were
    Read more
    Response from Marketing_NTT1, Marketing Intern at Summit Experience at University of Canterbury Mt John Observatory
    Responded 4 weeks ago
    Kia ora bsf5176, Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments. We are over the moon to hear that you had a perfect night for stargazing and thoroughly enjoyed the Summit Experience. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed learning and asking questions about the night sky with our knowledgeable and friendly guides. I will pass your comments onto the team. Once again thank you for the review and we look forward to you visiting us again with your kids in the near future. Ngā mihi, Lauren
    Read more
    Squeezed this in on my first night on the South Island. Was quite tired from more than 24 hours of flying from the South of France but boy was it worth it!! Dan and his colleague (so sorry, I forgot his name... he is French and from the town of Lille!) gave passionate and
    Read more
    Response from Marketing_NTT1, Marketing Intern at Summit Experience at University of Canterbury Mt John Observatory
    Responded Sep. 1, 2019
    Kia ora rhys_phillips, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us, it is always great to receive feedback of this nature. We are over the moon to hear that you had an amazing time on the Summit Experience. It's fantastic to read that you enjoyed seeing the amazing views of the stars and planets from Mt John and learning about the night sky from our knowledgeable guides. Thanks for choosing Dark Sky Project and we wish you safe travels for your holiday in Aotearoa (New Zealand). Ngā mihi, Lauren
    Read more
    Previous
    Key Details
    • Dark Sky Project
    • Duration: 2h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: