We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boschendal: Tours & Tickets

Features Animals
Save
All photos (948)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“wine tasting”(293 reviews)
“manor house”(64 reviews)
“picnic basket”(50 reviews)
About
Agriculture and a simple farm lifestyle is at the heart of Boschendal. One of the oldest farms in South Africa, founded 1685, the farm has grown with the passing centuries into a cherished source of wholesome produce, great wines and happy memories...more
Certificate of Excellence
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Pniel Road, Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7680, South Africa
Website
+27 21 870 4273
Call
Improve This Listing
Boschendal Tours and Tickets
from US$89.52
More Info
from US$113.63
More Info
from US$136.35
More Info
from US$175.60
More Info
from US$309.89
More Info
from US$79.19
More Info
from US$99.85
More Info
See all tours & tickets
Reviews (1,402)
Filter reviews
1,095 results
Traveller rating
629
268
110
51
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
629
268
110
51
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting manor house picnic basket rose garden farm shop vegetable garden oak trees pate great picnic salad picnic area cellar door bread bean bags the cottages cellar tour wine estate
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,095 reviews
Reviewed today

As part of our tour we visited to taste their wines and were totally disappointed - I don't think any of the group finished their wines. The quality was not brilliant and for the last wine the guide admitted that it was not yet ready...More

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank John A
Reviewed 2 days ago

This place was captivating from start to finish. It’s one of the oldest wineries in South Africa and a can’t-miss destination for wine touring in the region. The grounds are lovely, with bucolic views everywhere you look. We sat on a shaded terrace and tasted...More

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank WispyRobin
BoschendalEstate, Community Manager at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Robin, We love your thorough review of our Cellar Door Wine Tasting and Rose Garden Picnic. Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us, we're super happy you had a great experience. Kind Regards, The Boschendal Team

Reviewed 2 days ago

We had such a wonderful day wine tasting followed by a picnic at Boschendal. It was absolutely incredible and the food was so fresh, the setting so stunning and the wine beautiful. The staff were very attentive. You do have to book a few days...More

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Emily M
BoschendalEstate, Community Manager at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Emily, We love reviews like these, thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon. Kind Regards, The Boschendal Team

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We didn’t get much time to view the estate or sample wines, but we did have dinner at Werf, and it was fabulous. We did the three-plate option, and everything was fantastic. On top of our three plates, the staff brought us about five other...More

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank 205JamieR205
BoschendalEstate, Community Manager at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Jamie, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at The Werf Restaurant. We're delighted to see you had a fabulous meal and we hope to welcome you back in future to come and enjoy the Friday Night Market as...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in November at the orchard cottage. Private but decent views. Nice cute little cottage and had everything you could need! Excellent service. Breakfast was out of this world. Top notch. Loved it. Would definitely go back. Just a note, the...More

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank Foodie1707
BoschendalEstate, Community Manager at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Foodie1707, Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Boschendal. We are so glad to see you had a good time and will give your feedback to our team. Kind Regards, The Boschendal Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed our visit here with a very instructive tasting session by a guy whose family have lived at Boschendal for generations.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Kevin D
BoschendalEstate, Community Manager at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to review your wine tasting experience. We will give Francois your compliments. Kind Regards, The Boschendal Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You had the very very best model for a outside restaurant,best food,ginger beer,service,now a commercial place running numbers,Terrible.More

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank coen_12
BoschendalEstate, Community Manager at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi coun_12, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Deli. We are so sorry to see you were disappointed. We would like to give all our guests a great and personal experience at all our outlets. We do this by...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed here in the past but we always stop by at the deli for Lunch or the legendary Picnic in the trees. Love the spot

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank DaveCockle
BoschendalEstate, Community Manager at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Dave, thank you for taking the time to review your experience on the farm, we appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back for a glass of wine and one of those legendary picnics soon! Kind Regards, The Boschendal Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Busi is very helpful and knowledgeable. Enjoyed my time there. She answered all my questions that I had and service was fast.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Justin C
BoschendalEstate, Community Manager at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Justin, thank you for taking the time to review Boschendal. We will certainly give your compliments to Busi. Kind Regards, The Boschendal Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came to have a look at Boschendal and have a couple of drinks with good friends. The service was pretty average and the waiter's knowledge of what was on the menu was limited. We had high expectations in coming to the Estate and felt...More

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank AntK284
BoschendalEstate, Community Manager at Boschendal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi AntK284, Thank you for taking the time to review Boschendal. We are sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience as you should have. Please could you let us know at which outlet you experienced this service by emailing us at ReviewR@boschendal.co.za Kind...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Simondium's Country Lodge
18 reviews
3.82 km away
Angala Boutique Hotel
453 reviews
4.94 km away
The Hydro at Stellenbosch
135 reviews
6.60 km away
Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis
42 reviews
7.38 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 4 nearby restaurants
The Werf Restaurant at Boschendal
196 reviews
.15 km away
La Paris Bistro
49 reviews
6.51 km away
Babel Restaurant
1,133 reviews
7.75 km away
The Deli at Boschendal
310 reviews
1.38 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 4 nearby attractions
Vrede en Lust Winery
426 reviews
5.37 km away
Anthonij Rupert Wyne Estate & Terra del Capo Tasting Room
154 reviews
5.25 km away
Rupert & Rothschild Vignerons Tasting Centre
108 reviews
5.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
528idaj
August 9, 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from BoschendalEstate | Property representative |
Uber is available in the area, but you will wait a while for them to reach you on the farm. For pre-booked local taxi firms please contact: Winelands Experience 074 106 4796 Shuttle Up 072 246 4592 Go Shuttle 072... More
0
Votes
C1531NZsharonw
October 30, 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from 409margueriten | Property representative |
Yes lunch is available everyday
0
Votes