We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good20%
  • Average20%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible0%
8 Sep 2019
“Make sure you have a backup battery”
1 week ago
“Best way to enjoy Boston”
About
We offer driving and walking tours of several popular destinations globally. While guided tours are often expensive and require that you stick with the group and your guide, we offer an innovative way of touring at your own pace with a pre-recorded...more
Contact
The Freedom Trail, Boston, MA 02108
Website
+15085061844
Call
Self-Guided Tours by Action Tour Guide Tours and Tickets
from US$4.25
More Info
from US$4.12
More Info
from US$4.12
More Info
from US$7.00
More Info
from US$4.00
More Info
from US$3.75
More Info
from US$3.75
More Info
from US$4.80
More Info
See all tours & tickets
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
37
16
4
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
37
16
4
3
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Enjoyed the Cliff Walk with my audio accompaniment. The walk was beautiful on an overcast fall day. The narration was helpful and interesting. Ear buds were the way to go. Totally doable in an afternoon.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Connector191668
actiontour, Owner at Self-Guided Tours by Action Tour Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks a lot for the review. Hope you enjoyed the fall colors.

Reviewed 5 days ago

I’m so glad we found this tour. We enjoy going at our own pace and this fit the bill. At this price, you can’t go wrong. We followed the very easy to identify red brick trail and used the map to keep us on track....More

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Patti L
actiontour, Owner at Self-Guided Tours by Action Tour Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks a lot for the review. Glad to hear that our users love our self-guided tours.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had just a day, really less, and yet this walk-around tour proved the best of other things we did. The more costly trolley was not nearly as effective.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Paul W
manoj G, Owner at Self-Guided Tours by Action Tour Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks a lot for the review. The audio guide allows the user to take the tour at their own pace which makes it more indulging and effective.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoy doing our own audio tours. This app was very good. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because there were times when he would say "drive slowly" and it was because if you didn't, you wouldn't hear everything he had...More

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank 311kathrynb
manoj G, Owner at Self-Guided Tours by Action Tour Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi. Thanks a lot for the review. Glad you liked the app. The reason sometimes we say during the tour to drive slowly is because the tourist may miss an attraction while driving fast.

Reviewed 1 week ago

For only £2/3 you have a handy guide in your pocket. The information was interesting and the narrator engaging. The app has a useful map to follow too and the guides auto play when you reach certain locations. Although upon entering the 17 mile scenic...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank cprids
manoj G, Owner at Self-Guided Tours by Action Tour Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi. Thanks a lot for the review. The tour is indeed designed to give you more info than the leaflet that is provided.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful experience. Walking through various ethnic neighborhoods was an added and unexpected bonus to the Freedom Trail. We had lunch in an (open air) Italian restaurant and the lobster ravioli was the best meal in our entire 10 day New England trip!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Douglas W
actiontour, Owner at Self-Guided Tours by Action Tour Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks a lot for the review. It feels really good to have people liking the experience.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had problems with GPS at start. Otherwise everything did work fine. Can not be compared to a human tour guide what I did at MIT.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Ulrich H
actiontour, Owner at Self-Guided Tours by Action Tour Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks a lot for the review. The GPS problems are mostly related to the phone that you use. We will look into the issue and see what can be done.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was a little hassle to download the app. But that was announced in advance, allow 20 minutes for that. When we came to the starting point we did not know if we should follow the trail - a red line painted (or red bricks)...More

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank anetter544
actiontour, Owner at Self-Guided Tours by Action Tour Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi. Thanks a lot for reviewing us. The app needs to be downloaded on the phone so that it can be used even if there is no internet. The 15-20 minutes after the booking is needed to set up your tour and the password. However,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very well organized tour, hits all the talking points along the trail. Make sure your phone has a full charge.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank tampagerry
actiontour, Owner at Self-Guided Tours by Action Tour Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks a lot for taking the tour and reviewing us. Hope to see you again for our other tours.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We loved the information given on the tour. We really enjoyed it. The application worked great. We would love to use it on another road trip

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank KAREN P
manoj G, Owner at Self-Guided Tours by Action Tour Guide, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks a lot for the review. Do consider us for your next tour.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 92 nearby hotels
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
5,514 reviews
.13 km away
Hyatt Regency Boston
4,928 reviews
.24 km away
XV Beacon
1,243 reviews
.28 km away
Omni Parker House
9,390 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3,718 nearby restaurants
Yvonne's
399 reviews
.08 km away
Stoddard's Fine Food & Ale
282 reviews
.08 km away
jm Curley
170 reviews
.03 km away
Boston Chops
52 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,048 nearby attractions
Freedom Trail
17,031 reviews
.13 km away
Boston Ballet
120 reviews
.19 km away
Park Street Church
128 reviews
.14 km away
Downtown Crossing
177 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Daydream18084614589
September 5, 2019|
Answer
Response from manoj G | Property representative |
Yes. The application will work without internet.
0
Votes