Prompt Cycle Culture
Prompt Cycle Culture
4.5
About
Cycle hire and sales in Bourg d'Oisans at the base of Alpe d'Huez. We also provide cycle hire for the Northern Classics in April
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles9 reviews
Excellent
8
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Helen C
Basalt, CO27 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2019 • Couples
We were very happy with our rentals from Phil - everything was great. The bikes were perfect, and Phil was friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend him.
Written October 23, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Many thanks for your review.
Written October 25, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Caitlin L
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2019
Was in the area for one day and was able to hire a bike last minute to climb Alp D’Huez. Outstanding experience - very knowledgeable, great bike, received helpful advice on routes and what to expect condition-wise. The shop was a perfect little mix of gear/bike service/coffee :) would highly recommend Prompt Cycle!
Written October 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for the comments and we are really happy you had a good time. Hopefully see you again in the future to ride some of the other classic climbs in the area
Written October 20, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

John C
Aberdeen, UK4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2019 • Friends
Gteat service and good advice from Phil. Bikes were in good condition
and any tweaking was done very quickly.
Written September 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

D Goff
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2019
A great experience at Prompt Cycles, including helpful suggestions from the owner. The bikes were in excellent condition and were just what was needed for cycling in the Alps - 1:1 gear ratio and great brakes!
Would definitely hire from Prompt again.
Written September 23, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Many thanks for your kind review
Written September 24, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

John
Cheltenham, UK34 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2019 • Friends
Great place to hire from. I hired a wilier road bike Ultegra which upgraded to Di2.
On arrival the owner put by seat on and made sure di2 was fully charged. Bike was in great condition and I had zero issues over the 4 days. I did take the bike back for a recharge on day 2 which I would recommend even if it’s just to check there is enough charge left.
Ps my friends hired from another shop and had issues so personally I felt prompt were the best as service was just that bit more attentive and personal. Recommend..
Written July 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Many thanks for the great review
Written July 24, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mark0d0nnell
County Galway, Ireland2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2019 • Family
I’ve hired bikes from Prompt several times in the past , both from their base in Bourg d’Oisans and also at the spring classics e.g. Paris-Roubaix, Flanders, and most recently my wife and I hired bikes while on holiday in the Oisans. Excellent quality bikes equipped with either Ultegra mechanical or Di2, and well maintained. Hassle free rental from nice people. Like dealing with your local bike shop. Highly recommended.
Written June 30, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Deb D
Altoona, Pennsylvania54 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2019
I rented a bicycle from Phil to climb Alpe d’Huez. He was very easy to communicate with via email. When I arrived everything was good to go and no adjustments were necessary. Bike was perfect.
Written June 24, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Merser1066
Bolton, UK22 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2019 • Friends
A group of four of us used Promt to hire bikes for a weekend climbing Alpe D'uez et al. I tried a few other local shops but they were murder to deal with. Phil at Prompt however, was superb. Allowed me to book via email and it was very slick.

The bikes were great and one was even brand new. Nice little workshop allowed us to add our own pedals and make and adjustments to the bikes.

Two of the lads have used Phil previously and also rated Prompt highly. The fact the owners are British probably helped; certainly when booking via the internet.

Cant really understand the negative review that someone has left. Its the opposite to our experience.

We will use them again later this year when hopefully the weather will be kinder!
Written May 22, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

joef-trips
Dublin, Ireland16 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2018 • Friends
Paid a deposit for 7 bikes in July - for a trip to the Alps in September.
One person had to pull out - but when I went to pay the balance 2 weeks before travelling I was told that deposits are non refundable (so read the T&Cs).
Checking out the bikes was a bit slow - as every scratch is marked on the rental form.
There is a €100 deposit per bike (even though rental paid in full in advance.
This can be paid in cash or by card (but card payments are deducted and refunded later).
One bike had a dodgy valve - this was fixed before we left.
Brakes failed on another bike about 2km up the road - a loose clamp screw was tightened and off we went.
The bikes were good - Wilier or Bataglin - carbon with full Ultegra.
I got a puncture as I arrived into Alpe d'Huez. When I took the tube out it already had 2 patches on it (not impressed, but glad I had a new tube in for the downhill).
When we returned the bikes a 5mm scratch was found on one brake lever that had not been recorded when the bikes were taken out and the hirer was asked for €20.
After some negotiation this was waived.
Net - net. The bikes were good, the price was reasonable, but the service would not inspire repeat business.
Written October 29, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for the feedback. Its common practice to take a non refundable deposit on all hire bikes when hired. We have a short season here in the Alps and if a bike is hired then it is not available for someone else to hire. This is clearly explained in the Terms and Conditions that you have to agree to at the time of the reservation and also on the page that you make the payment We are very careful when bikes go in and out and mark any damage to avoid the issue that you describe. If we do this quickly then we both may miss something and it can cause issues when the bike is returned - as perhaps in this case (this is the same as when you hire a car for example) Unfortunately there have been times when clients have completely disrespected our bikes and they have been returned very damaged. Although this is a small minority we want to insure that the bikes you receive are in top condition and that you can enjoy them. This is why we take a security deposit in cash and also check the bikes with the customer before they go out. We are not sure what happened with the inner tube and brake so can only apologies for that. Hope that helps Prompt Cycle Culture
Written April 24, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Prompt Cycle Culture - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Le Bourg-d'Oisans
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars