We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mariner Cruises Whale and Seabird Tours

Features Animals
Brier Island, Canada
More
About Mariner Cruises Whale and Seabird Tours
Come have a whale of a time with Mariner Cruises! Enjoy our friendlines, hospitality and expertise on board the Chad and Sisters Two as you watch whales and birds while sailing on the famous Bay of Fundy waters off of Brier Island. Expect to be amazed while making memories that last a lifetime!
Read more
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travellers talk about

Mariner Cruises Whale and Seabird Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
972Reviews9Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 929
  • 34
  • 3
  • 3
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
45563002elaine wrote a review Sep. 2021
Hamilton, Canada70 contributions68 helpful votes
The company had posted a notice only after we arrived on the island that they had not been finding whales or anything of note to show visitors for days. We were already there and had rented an entire house from the same company for our family of five. We read the notice on the door of the office the day of the sail and since we had paid we opted to go out. Mind you they were not offering any refund or return on anther date but just to opt out of the booking. The seas were rough and the crew kept saying that this was nothing compared to commercial fisherman's experience all the while passing out sick bags! All in all not a good experience and with no option for another day or sail. With the cost of travel to the island and the house rental and the boat fare it was an expensive outing for an unpleasant boat ride. I did see postings from other whale watch tours that did find whales that same day which rubbed salt in the wound.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from FundyMariner, Owner at Mariner Cruises Whale and Seabird Tours
Responded Sep. 28, 2021
Hello, one thing you forgot to mentioned in your review is that these whales are in their natural environment not a zoo and we have no control what we do or do not see daily, We are actually visitors to their environment, another error was you could get your money back if you did not sail, you choose to sail. I wrote the note after we had not seen whales for two days. I was trying to be honest and up front with everyone and like the whales we have no control over the weather. When you go to a movie or buy a lotto ticket do you get your money back if you are not happy ? I think not., it is very hard to please everyone but I operate an honest and safe tour. Please remember I do have staff, fuel and other expense to pay. People do not work for free, they are earning a living and being paid by me. Sorry you were unhappy but we did our best, Fair Winds Penny Graham
Read more
JenCanadian wrote a review Sep. 2021
Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada154 contributions30 helpful votes
We had lovely tour and got to see a puffin, gannets, a dovekie and three humpback whales The tour was more than four hours and was well worth the ticket price. My only issue was that as a hearing impaired person, I would ask the staff to consider offering written out versions of the safety instructions. I was with my husband so he was able to fill me in, but if I had been alone, the tour would have been inaccessible to me. I know he staff are doing their best given covid, but I did want to put this out there. Other than that, it was a perfect outing.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from FundyMariner, Owner at Mariner Cruises Whale and Seabird Tours
Responded Oct. 1, 2021
I am glad you enjoyed seeing the whales but I was very sad to read that you are hearing impaired and didn't understand what was said during the safety briefing. I wish you had of mentioned this to me when I was greeting everyone and we would not have minded making sure you understood, actually like I always say that is the most important info give before we sail. I have had hearing impaired visitors onboard many times and we write notes back and forth during the tour and being a mother of a hearing impaired son I know just how difficult this can be when you don't understand what is being said and I understand completely. Thank you for sailing with us and I hope you have a great winter. Fair Winds Penny
Read more
Karan Bhambra wrote a review Sep. 2021
Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada1 contribution
We travelled from Halifax on a Sunday afternoon but the tour cancelled due to bad weather, luckily we are staying overnight (Bay of Fundy Inn) and were fit-in on the next day. With a bright and sunny ocean permitting weather on the next day this was our first whale watching experience. Since the whales had moved further in the ocean overall tour was 6 hours..woww !!. We saw 2 schools of dolphins, many puffins, 1 shark and at least 15 HUMP BACK WHALES....Penny made every penny worth it :)
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
dragonseeker wrote a review Sep. 2021
Canada241 contributions43 helpful votes
We took our first trip to Nova Scotia to check off another bucket list experience and Mariner Cruises sure delivered! We felt completely safe at all times. The crew is passionate and knowledgeable, and Amy's passion for "her whales" is contagious. We were out for about 5.5 hours and it was worth every minute. There was a collective sound of awe on the first close sighting and we were able to sit for about 30 minutes being completely overwhelmed by the size and beauty of the whales. We chose the lodging/whale watching package which was a great value. The house is large and charming, and a good continental breakfast was provided. We were able to explore Brier Island and hike to seal cove to watch the seals play. Our experience on the island with Mariner Cruises was absolutely unforgettable. Thank you Penny, Amy, and crew!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
D Hunt wrote a review Sep. 2021
9 contributions1 helpful vote
This 2 hour whale watching trip spoiled me for life! Could not have been any better between the knowledgeable crew, Penny herself and the 2 pods of 4-5 whales including babysitting the humpback who rose out of the water to eyeball us! Don’t go anywhere else. The trip to get there makes it even more fun. Spent the night in Digby.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456