We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gallery Bar

Closed Now: 10:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
Review Highlights
Fabulous

Great place, quirky basement bar. Staff are 10 out of 10. Great value. Love the place. We take... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
784brettn
,
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
via mobile
40th Birthday Celebrations

After only recently moving to Castle Cary and with a large group of friends about to descend on us... read more

Reviewed December 5, 2018
Hafod W
Read all 49 reviews
14
All photos (14)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good18%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 a.m. - 11:30 p.m.
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Feb
Mar
11°
Apr
Contact
The Old Bank House | High Street, Castle Cary BA7 7AW, England
Website
+44 7901 671495
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
32
9
2
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
32
9
2
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooked to perfection gallery bar fantastic pizza cocktails treasure somerset
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Came to Castle Cary for a romantic weekend with my boyfriend and after several lovely ‘pub grub’ type meals, we fancied something a bit different for our final evening meal. We hadn’t booked so expected to wait. Asked whether they had a table and Jane...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Rachel1994
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Great place, quirky basement bar. Staff are 10 out of 10. Great value. Love the place. We take friends and family and are treated fabulously well. Thanks

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank 784brettn
Reviewed December 5, 2018

After only recently moving to Castle Cary and with a large group of friends about to descend on us to help celebrate my 40th Birthday, I needed somewhere we could go to in walking distance and with only a couple of weeks notice. I had...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Hafod W
Reviewed November 18, 2018

Yes I'd admit we only live a stones throw away but it's one of those places you keep going back, yes there are the odd little hic up but nothing to worry about, you get good food a mixture of music and good company, the...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Robert K
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

I’m no stranger to this underground cellar bar and Pizza restraunt. I had not been for over a year but heard “David Lunes” was playing, so I called to find out the exact night and time he was due to play. Unfortunately the staff didn’t...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank willrogerson
bunny24, Owner at The Gallery Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Hi Will- Sam here, manager/owner of The Gallery Bar. You have known me for around five years now and the only reason you have written this review is because we had a minor disagreement in The George Hotel and it seems that I have evidently...More

Reviewed October 6, 2018

Had dinner here recently with my partner. The restaurant is downstairs in what looks like a converted cellar so very atmospheric - was recommended to us by some locals in The George pub so was expecting it to be really busy on a Friday night...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank RichSutton
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

This is literally my 2nd favourite place to eat and we drive 25 mins to get there. Food is amazing, atmosphere is cool and edgy. Service is lovely.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank davidanthony420
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Myself & my partner have been here a couple of times now and both times it's been amazing. Food is sooo good, atmosphere has been great and the staff have been so friendly! Can't wait to come back. :-)

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank curlywurly55
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

A very special place. Interesting menu now that it has added pasta to its limited food items. Pizzas are their speciality. Great little garden area, characterful cellar bar and a restaurant off the street. All of which you can eat in. Good choice of starters...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank RonVic
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Even though they do not do take away, they made us some delicious salads to take on the train. Excellent service. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank SQR2013
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
George Hotel
227 reviews
.07 km away
Horse Pond Inn
16 reviews
.24 km away
Travelodge Wincanton
370 reviews
7.99 km away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
1,268 reviews
10.52 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 15 nearby restaurants
The Bay Tree
105 reviews
.83 km away
The Bakehouse
95 reviews
.00 km away
Home Castle Cary
50 reviews
.03 km away
Levant
87 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 13 nearby attractions
Needful Things Interiors & Gifts
10 reviews
.03 km away
Bailey Hill Book shop
9 reviews
.15 km away
The Market House
9 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Sally B
Dear Francesca, We were very much hoping you'd contact us as there was a great amount outstanding on your bill despite us recompensing you, owing to over £100. We do hope that you'll speak to your friend about this that was kind enough to come around and offer this. We were so sorry you were so disappointed with the Gallery Bar. I know that a member of staff misheard 'no chillis' for 'no cheese' and this caused some confusion in the kitchen but we were never informed of an allergy to chillis. We only offer one pizza on the menu with chillies and so why they would order this pizza when they had that allergy we are confused. There were three pizzas with chilies made in your big group under the same order when this was brought up as a mistake, and so as a good will gesture we took all of these off the bill amounting to a considerable amount even so we did think you enjoyed them as they were certainly all eaten!
October 3, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from francescapP3774GI | Reviewed this property |
Are you having a laugh? We insisted that we paid for the dishes we ate, but were refusing to pay for the items such as the banoffee pies and other desserts on our bill (which we wanted but were never offered to us because... More
2
Votes