We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Review Highlights
Value for your money

Had evening meal and was offered 2 meals for the price of 1. The food quality was quite good and... read more

Reviewed August 28, 2018
Norman7357
Looking tired !!

i have been a customer in the Stonemasons since it opened...... but feel it needs a refurbish... read more

Reviewed January 25, 2018
514joycej
,
Merriott, United Kingdom
Read all 66 reviews
6
All photos (6)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good18%
  • Average30%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible16%
28 Aug 2018
“Value for your money”
25 Jan 2018
“Looking tired !!”
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Nov
Dec
Jan
Contact
The Stonemasons Harts Close, Ilminster TA19 9DJ, England
Website
+44 1460 57816
Call
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
14
12
19
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
14
12
19
10
11
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Went here on recommendation great choice on specials menu 2 for 1 good service and food superb we had rib eye steaks and plenty of it will definitely come here again when in the area.More

Thank 705shelleyl
21danc, Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

705shelly, Thank you for your great review! We always strive for great food, great service and great value so its awesome to hear when we get it right! For the 5* review we would like to offer you a free drink on your next visit!...More

Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Have been here a lot of times but the last two have been the worst food I have had for a long long time basically chucked on a plate 241 umm really half portions at most avoid until upgrade or food upgrade is done

Thank Eileen M
Dan C, Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

Eileen, Thank you for your feedback We are having a new menu and refurbishment in November with pizzas and new items We look forward to seeing you then.

Reviewed August 28, 2018

Had evening meal and was offered 2 meals for the price of 1. The food quality was quite good and was served hot, but the prawn cocktail (first course) was not very good. The carpet floor covering etc looked tired so I feel the place...More

1  Thank Norman7357
Dan C, Director of Sales at The Stonemasons, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Norman7357, Thank you for your review. We offer 241 on all main meals everyday. We are due for an "upgrade" on the 18th of November. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We were cream crackered after a day exploring caravan sites for our soon to arrive caravan. Stumbled upon the stonemasons 2-1 pub Good choice of food good prices we had 2 sirloins port and Stilton sauce started with usual bits and pieces and a couple...More

Thank jonesyboy27
Dan C, Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

jonesyboy27, Thank you for your honest review! I hope you found some great caravan sites around us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed January 25, 2018

i have been a customer in the Stonemasons since it opened...... but feel it needs a refurbish looking tired and sad..... There is always a good menu with always about 3 items i cant decide which to have..... last week i had a burger meal...More

Thank 514joycej
Dan C, Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2018

Joyce J, Thank you for your honest review. Its always nice to hear from our regular custom. I can assure you the scampi is from Whitby as stated on the menu. We are looking at a refurbishment in the near future. Cheers

Reviewed January 22, 2018 via mobile

We’ve been to The Stonemasons at Ilminster on about 5 occasions in the past year whilst passing through, it’s a Marstons pub and always has the 2-4-1 deal so it helps on the wallet. Nothing to shout about until last evening......What a difference!! Excellent table...More

1  Thank rocket3dude
Dan C, Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2018

rocket3dude, Thank you for your review, I am happy to see you are a regular customer. There has been no change in management in recent months, we must just be improving. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed December 28, 2017

Was at a loose end a few days ago so thought we would nip to the Stonemasons for Lunch, nice bug car park. Went to the bar and was served EVENTUALLY.. I ordered 2 cokes(NOT LARGE) and a Blackcurrant and soda came to just over...More

Thank whithjas
Dan C, Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

whithjas, Thank you for your review, I feel our drinks prices are very competitive in the area as well as the industry, three alcoholic drinks would come to over £10. We are currently looking to improve our service and always have a minimum of 2...More

Reviewed December 17, 2017 via mobile

We went with some friends, large pub which is well decorated and plenty of parking. Service is not brilliant and food service is extremely slow - don’t go here if you are in a hurry! Food was okay, very basic but filled the gap. Wouldn’t...More

Thank TNel123
Dan C, Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2018

TNel123, Thank you for your review. We are continually looking at improving our service, this will act, as always as a training tool for our team.

Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

On a quiet Thursday night we waited over 1 hour for our food. When the food arrived we had no apology for the wait the waiter himself was very curt and clearly did not want to be there. The food itself was very poor. The...More

Thank Matt M
Dan C, Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Matt M Thank you for your review we will talk to the meat suppliers about the meat quality. Dan

Reviewed October 3, 2017

Having visited your pub on Sunday afternoon we were shown to our seats which was a table for two. The pub was quite quiet less than 20 people in the pub we waited for just over 20 minutes and no one came to take our...More

Thank 10987654321AB
Dan C, Manager at The Stonemasons, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

10987654321AB, Thank you for your review, I am sorry you had to wait so long for service and will look into this Many thanks

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
323 reviews
.49 km away
Travelodge Ilminster
352 reviews
1.04 km away
Dillington House
102 reviews
1.79 km away
Hornsbury Mill
206 reviews
4.39 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 36 nearby restaurants
F.east
261 reviews
.71 km away
Monks Yard
286 reviews
1.53 km away
Celandines
158 reviews
.82 km away
The George at Donyatt
183 reviews
1.47 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 12 nearby attractions
Sharandys Birds of Prey
47 reviews
5.67 km away
Barrington Court
652 reviews
5.83 km away
Church of St George
12 reviews
7.21 km away
The Hatch Inn
9 reviews
7.49 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Stonemasons staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines