Dolphin Encountours Research Center

Dolphin Encountours Research Center

Dolphin Encountours Research Center
5
8:30 AM - 1:00 PM
Monday
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
8:30 AM - 1:00 PM
About
Welcome to our world, a world filled with dolphins, whales and an underwater kingdom just waiting to be explored. We invite you to take the plunge, face your fears and experience something truly magical when coming face to face with the Dolphins of Ponta, were we experience the true essence of being wild and free!Operating within the Ponta Partial Marine Reserve, Dolphin offers boat based marine activities that includes volunteer programs, in-water encountours over multiple launches, holistic dolphin retreats and day visiter options.Our focuses is on observing dolphins in the wild whilst following the DolphinCare code of conduct allowing for dolphin friendly, non-intrusive viewing on the dolphins terms. Whales are seen regularly during season (jun to nov) whilst opportunistic sightings are had of other special species that include whale sharks, mantas and turtles (season and conditions dependent). Our programs have been created to ensure that a nurturing rather than needy approach is followed. No feeding, forcing or coaxing, just you and our dolfriends face to face in the big blue. An experience that often leaves us wondering ‘who is actually watching who’! The stuff dolphin dreams are made of! Senior crew on on-board consist of our dolphin surf skipper, a marine biologist and original founder Angie Gullan who has for almost 20 years been exploring the realms of conscious interaction between dolphin and human while dedicating her life to monitoring and befriending the population of wild indo-pacific bottlenose’s she met in the December of 94.Options are structured and are used as a data collection and educational platform that offer a special insight into the life of the wild dolphin through a program that resonates with sustainable and ethical marine mammal tourism whereby participants are actively contributing.Ponta do Ouro is situated on the southern most point of Mozambique and is easily accessible from the Kosi Bay Border or Maputo.
Ponta do Ouro, Mozambique
Meets animal welfare guidelines

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travellers talk about
(4 reviews)
(4 reviews)
(3 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles111 reviews
Excellent
97
Very good
6
Average
5
Poor
3
Terrible
0

Marion S
Johannesburg, South Africa1,649 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 • Friends
A bucket list experience. Nobody should leave Mozambique without visiting Angie at Dolphin encounters . She had her first encounter with the dolphins in December 1994. She then went on to start Dolphin encounters in 1996. There are about 250 bottle nose dolphins in the reserve. We got to meet Elvis who is approximately 16 years old. Skipper Mitchel Niemeyer does a fantastic job. The sea tours last approximately 2 hours. We were also spoilt in that we got to see the whales up close. No touching of the dolphins is allowed but they come up close as they are naturally inquisitive. Angie provides an educational before setting out to sea, it’s really informative. Highly recommend this experience
Photos taken by Dolphin Encounters as we of course can’t take our phones in the water
Written September 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Roving32508086718
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 • Friends
I only have good things to say here! First of all they were sweet and cooperative enough to wait for me. I was out diving, and my group of friends were going on the dolphin safari - so they waited for me, so I could join!

When we went out one of the girls was insecure about being in the boat, so they were so great to take her to shore.

The boat ride was amazing! We got to see two humpback whales like 30 meters away, and then we were snorkelling with like 15 bottlenose dolphins. Wonderful!! I mean I have been diving with dolphins before, but not this many. I felt so blessed.

10/10 would recommend to everyone!!
Written October 11, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

krugerandmore
Mbombela, South Africa428 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022
Wow what a wonderful morning. We went out just the two of ,plus one of their volunteers. We had no expectations , that might be the secret!. What we saw we would be happy with. The crew were professional and accommodating. Thanks .They even changed the launch time for us to 6am. A dream come true we swam with about 14 dolphins that morning. Learnt a lot. Thanks guys what more can we say. Thanks a million .
Crazy Dave
Written February 18, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Rickenkarien
Tilburg, The Netherlands28 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2015
Absolute amazing experience and highly professional! Warning: when you go to ponta d ouro, people try to send you to the dolphin center in a huge and modern building. This is not the right one, you need to go to the small and wooden building at the market! Some people even say that Angie stopped with her work. This is not true!! I highly recommend her, we had a wonderful trip with her!
Written August 15, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Barbara N
London, UK1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2012 • Family
From those looking for some insights on Mozambique, Maputo and Ponto de Ouro

We flew in to Maputo for one night and stayed at the Duqueza, which is an adorable colonial style hotel where the service was genuinely welcoming. It felt certainly more authentic that the global hotel chains. We then drove to Ponto de Ouro, using the services of Sandra (Ponta-based taxi), very professional with the added benefit of volunteer stories on their country and took us through the elephant reserve on the way back to the Maputo airport (we were lucky and saw nearly 100 elephants). For our first nights in Ponto de Ouro, we stayed in the totally magical Tartaruga, in luxury tents, with the occasional visit of Monkeys, facing a paradisiacal beach, and walking distance to a very acceptable restaurant with daily catch, and hamburgers when these are required. We were then planning to stay at a place called Vista Alta, which we had booked on the internet. The place is a real sham, looking nothing like their website, one house right next to other, making it feel like a neighbourhood of a dull city, the dangerous climb to the beach adding to sense of imprisonment. We decided not to stay (why bother going to the other side of the world for this) and in their customer un-friendly way, Alta Vista refused to give us a penny back. Our fall-back was “Praia do Ouro Sul” again we felt in Africa, staying in their luxury tents and appreciating the warm welcome of their manager and their staff - as well as an absolutely stunning walk down to the beach. In one of they days, we went to see dolphins “Dolphin Encounters”. We did see dolphins, so we recommend this. However, if you have young children, you may want another provider, as the two ladies taking us on this one were more interested in getting to see the dolphins for themselves than making sure their guests were safely in the water.
Written May 7, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

des610
Johannesburg, South Africa35 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2016 • Friends
The best Dolphin Swim Company in the world!! They treat the dolphins with respect and do not invade their space in the water. Angie and her team are absolutely amazing and knowledgable and have the utmost respect for the ocean.. She has the best skipper in Ponte and Mich with his dry sense of humour keeps you on your toes. Dallas is there to assist us in and out of the boat and keeps the boat spotless. Would not recommend any other operator for a first time dolphin dive.
Written October 25, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MarlainJohannesburg
Johannesburg12 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2014 • Friends
We were booked for a four night three swim dolphin encounter - travelled from Johannesburg for this.
We were able to have one of the three dolphin encounters - the one we had was an awesome experience. Better communication about the constraints and possibilities of having limited encounters would have been appreciated - as well as an unfortunate mis-communication when the second encounter did not happen. We were scheduled for the 6am encounter - however due to weather constraints this was cancelled and we were not included on the 8:30 one which took place - allegedly due to over-booking. Disappointing communication and a long way to travel for one encounter. In addition, the guest house which is included as part of the encounter is VERY far from the beach.
Written April 29, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your dolphin encountour did not meet your expectations. Sadly we are governed by the weather and although every attempt is made to ensure our multiple launch participants get all their launches done and have at least one Class A Encounter with the wild Dolphins of Ponta, sometimes it is not possible, in which case refunds are offered. Your first launch was a Class A encounter and sadly the second encounter had to be postponed due to weather. I sent two messages regarding the canceled launch, one through a Dolphincare Volunteer and another through the lodge as i did not have my computer down at the center while teaching. I was informed that you had received my message however were screaming mad at the lodge owner. As soon as I heard this, I made my way to the lodge between trying to reschedule the days dolphin encountours. We were not able to include you on the 08:30 launch on day two when there was a gap in the weather due to a pre-booking that was already had, there was no over booking. Instead of re-scheduling the entire day, we move the postponed launch to the next available slot of the day which was 11am, sadly the weather tuned once more and and the launch had to be cancelled and refunded, with our guests loosing out on the experience and ourselves loosing out on income. We scheduled for the 6am launch on departure day (as most guests launch before they depart) but were informed that this would not suit travel plans. The lodge is chosen by ourselves as one of our accommodation providers and is 10 minutes walk from the beach. A number of options are available on the booking form, some of which are closer to the beach. The final choice is up to the guest who completes the booking form and accommodation requirements. For the Love of Dolphins Angie Gullan
Written May 5, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Meindert
Enkhuizen, The Netherlands4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 • Family
Absolutely lifetime and educational experience! We’ve seen so many curious dolphins around us. Amazing!
Written April 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

ZUBZ
Centurion, South Africa60 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2019 • Family
What an amazing experience!!! we were a group of three adults & five kids. One adult and two kiddies ages 4&7 didn't get into the water as they were not comfortable swimmers, they still had a blast thou. We had to meet at the Dolphin encounters office at 6am for a very informative briefing on what Angie, Sabrina & team do to conserve the marine life on their part of the coast .It was a bit chilly at that time of the morning , being some of the cooler parts of the year. (time to invest in a wet suit). Once we were in the water there was no gripes thou, water was a good 23degrees im guessing. We were fortunate and were greeted by the dolphins some 15mins into our trip out. What a great experience swimming with these majestic creatures of the ocean, coming just a few meters of you at times.Myself & the wife were fortunate enough to swim with dolphins back in 2013 in Zanzibar, but this was a better experience as they come much closer. My daughter 12 & her cousins 14&11 loved the experience. "A MUST DO ACTIVITY WHEN VISITING PONTA.....BIG UPS ANGIE & TEAM......KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK THAT YOU ARE DOING FOR CONSERVATION". Hope to visit in the near future. :-)
Written July 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

FransL98
The Netherlands369 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2016 • Couples
We booked 3 trips at Dolphin Encountours Research Center. The 1st 2 where on 1 day, these 2 trips where great! You get well informed, the gear is in good condition, the crew is dedicated and still very passionated after all this years. We did see humpbackwhales and had 2 great encounters and some nice interaction with the dolphins.

The 3th trip was on the next day at 6 o'clock. We had been early out of bed for a few nights and asked if we could go on a later trip (at 11). Angie said, thats okay but there is a chanche that we have to cancel that 1 because of high winds. We arrived early and there was nobody at the office, but there was written on the sign that the trip was cancelled. (later i saw that i already had recieved a mail that it was cancelled because the wind was up)

We walked to the beach and as far as i could see (im not a sailor) there was not much wind and also the waves where low. I have seen boats of the same type and size as DERC uses going in and out the ocean. Angie told me that they are boats going in/out with divers, i wasnt that close so i cant tell if thats true or not, but there are also other companies which do the dolphin encounters. I do know that 1 week before this we had a snorkel trip in Tofo with higher winds and bigger waves, there was even a strong current, which went quite well. After this we went back to our hotel, the lady who runs it and lives in Punta asked why we where back so early. I told here the trip was cancelled and the 1st thing she said was; Where you going which Angie, yes i said. She says; Angie is always the first one to cancel a trip....

Maybe this is a good thing, if you think its unsafe why risk it. But from my point of view, and what the lady told me, i think this trip was cancelled for any reason but not because of the ''bad'' weather.

We also did not get a refunds because, Angie wrote me: ''You were not given a refund because it was your choice not to goat 6 o'clock.'' Thats true, but there was a trip already planned on the planning board the day before, for 11 o'clock. That was already there before we asked if we could go on the 11 o'clock trip. Now i dont mind about the refund, we had 2 amazing trips and the Seasafari is not expensive, at least not for us Europeans.

Would i reccomend DERC to others, yes i would. But my advise is that you pay at the counter and not pay in advance.

All in all, Angie could be right the way things went. But from my point of view the reason was not the weather why this trip was cancelled....
Written October 8, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Andre and Renkse Many thanks for your feedback and constructive criticism. I am thrilled to hear that you had some great encounters with our local dolphins on the two tours we did. We understand your point of view regarding the last tour that was cancelled and although we try our very best to accommodate all our guests sometimes it is simply not possible. In most cases our guests are refunded as per our standard conditions, however if guests choose to sit out a launch due to their own decision and that launch goes regardless then it is not refunded. I remember the day in question very well; the wind was already blowing onshore from sunrise as predicted and a decision was taken then to cancel the 11am but still do the 6am which offered up rough ride and no dolphin sightings. Our two other guests that were booked on the 6am launch were also booked on the 11am; they were refunded. There are many days that the wind only allows us to get one launch out, hence my insistence in trying to get peeps to book early. We take guests and children out who have never swam in the open ocean before, some have never snorkelled. Our work is to create a safe space for these encounters to take place. Safety for the dolphins and safety for our guests. I guide each and every one of our tours and my experience and reams of data has shown that calmer seas offer far better encounters with our dolphins. Operators around the globe will take you out in far rougher seas than what I would, however unlike snorkelling over reef and scuba diving we have to locate the dolphins, this is done by driving around as they are not in a fixed location. Driving around in rough seas and finding no animals has resulted in complaints and refunds in the past. With that said we do not operate in poor sea state. This is a personal company choice that we make to ensure both the comfort and safety of our guests. Thank you again for your feedback. For the Love of Dolphins Angie Gullan
Written October 17, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 98

Dolphin Encountours Research Center - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All things to do in Ponta do Ouro
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars