Rendez-Vous De La Baie Visitor Centre

Rendez-Vous De La Baie Visitor Centre, Church Point: Hours, Address, Rendez-Vous De La Baie Visitor Centre Reviews: 4.5/5

Rendez-Vous De La Baie Visitor Centre

Rendez-Vous De La Baie Visitor Centre
4.5
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
The Rendez-vous de la Baie Visitor Centre, located on the campus of Universite Sainte-Anne in Church Point, is a vibrant hub where residents, students and visitors meet. The Centre houses an artist-run gallery, a visitor information centre, a souvenir boutique, a theatre, e-cinema programs, and an internet cafe with free wi-fi where various culture, music and art events are regularly held. Officially opened on August 13, 2010, the new Acadian Interpretive Centre/Museum introduces visitors to the culture of Acadians in Clare through their history, language, music and much more (donations accepted. The Centre is open year-round. Summer hours: 8 a.m. To 6 pm weekdays, 9 a.m.To 5 p.m. Saturdays/Sundays. Guided walks in Le Petit Bois trails ($). Fall Hours are in effect: Mon-Fri 8 am to 5 pm; closed Sat-Sun.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

4.5
30 reviews
Excellent
23
Very good
6
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Y7887PKlarryh
New Braunfels, United States4 contributions
Research my genealogy
Aug. 2019
Great culture and genealogy center w, knowledgeable staff members to guide you.
Was able to find info I needed to complete my families past history.
Written August 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a positive experience interacting with our staff and that you were able to research your genealogy during your visit to the centre.
Written August 28, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rachel116
Brooklyn, NY7 contributions
very disappointing no-show for clam dig excursion
Jul. 2019 • Couples
My group used Rendez-Vois de la Baie to schedule a clam dig and clam bake at Belliveaus Cove. We made arrangements a month in advance and were told where and when to meet our guide. Unfortunately, the guide did not end up showing up and we wasted 45 minutes waiting around (in addition to planning our entire day around this activity). When we spoke to the guide on the phone later, he told us that Rendez-Vous had given him the wrong time (3pm, as opposed to the 1pm time we had been told), and that we could not have gone out at 1pm because of the tides. Would not recommend scheduling any activities through this company.
Written July 1, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
It is truly unfortunate that you did not get to participate in our clamdigging experience. This was a pre-arranged tour on Canada Day outside of our regular program, and our first excursion of the year with our new clam digger. As per our follow up email, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the miscommunication and making you have to wait. In retrospect we should not have agreed in coordinating a custom time to accommodate you outside of our program schedule, during a time when the tide was not low enough to properly clamdig. Thank you for this valuable learning opportunity.
Written July 4, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

743odettew
Meteghan Centre, Canada31 contributions
Easy quick lunch
Nov. 2017
Nice atmostphere to meet friends or co-workers to have a quick lunch. Situation at University Sainte-Anne in Church Point, NS along St. Mary's Bay in the french community.
Written November 10, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Richard M
St. Augustine, FL57 contributions
Great experience!
Jun. 2017 • Couples
This was one of our more surprising and enjoyable quick stops as we made our way all around Nova Scotia. The Visitor Centre is located at Universite Sainte-Anne, pretty much on the other side of the wooden church.

When we first got their we spoke to the information desk about the area, and the best place to try Rappie Pie (Acadian dish). Very helpful and friendly!

The best part though is the museum they have which charts the Acadian experience from arrival in Nova Scotia to today.
Written June 30, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your nice review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our Visitor Information counter and the Acadian Interpretive Centre/museum! Should you be in our area again, we encourage you to explore the trails behind the centre that lead to a new lighthouse with interpretive exhibits.
Written July 3, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Arlabob
Washington DC, DC20 contributions
An excellent introduction to Acadia
May 2017 • Couples
This small museum is really well-done. The displays are professionally done and give a broad overview of the history and culture of Acadia. We were really glad we stopped to take a look. A highlight of the day.
Written June 14, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very pleased to read that your visit to our Acadian Interpretive Centre/museum was a highlight of your day! Should you drop by again, we encourage you to explore the trail network behind the centre that leads to a new lighthouse with interpretive exhibits and an intertidal zone experience open this summer.
Written June 25, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mindy and Roger A
Janesville, WI578 contributions
Visitor Center & Free Acadian Museum
Oct. 2016 • Couples
This Visitor Center/Museum is located at Saint Marie University in Church Point, NS on scenic highway 1 between Digby & Yarmouth. Look for the building with the RED ROOF! The Visitor Center has lots of brochures for the area. They also have Provincial Maps in both English & French. There is also an area where you can purchase light lunch items, drinks, etc..

There is also a very nice museum included with the Visitor Center that takes you through the history of the French Acadian history in Nova Scotia. The history is displayed in chronological order. There are many stories of the Acadian struggle in Nova Scotia. The Development of Agriculture, Forestry & Fishing. Also included is today's Acadian. Many of the Acadian's who live in this part of Nova Scotia carry on bilingual lay in both English & Acadian French. THE MUSEUM IS FREE!

At a minimum, this is an excellent place to pick-up information & brochures for the area. If possible, take some time to go through the adjacent museum of Acadian History.
Written October 3, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit at the tourist bureau and in the Acadian Interpretive Centre/museum. Should you drop by again, we encourage you to explore the trail network in the back of the centre, that leads to a new lighthouse with interpretive exhibits, to be open for summer 2017.
Written October 6, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Peeper67
Church Point, Canada17 contributions
Friendly Information
Jul. 2015
This is a wonderful place to stop and get information at the visitor centre and grab a coffee and snack at the Lisa T cafe. People are super friendly. There's also the Tre-carre art gallery.
Written September 3, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased that you had a positive experience at our Visitor Centre. Our staff takes great pride in welcoming and helping visitors. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Written September 7, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sierra M
Westfield, NJ89 contributions
Needs More Info About The Deportation
Aug. 2015 • Family
This museum is very informative. I used it as an intro to Acadian culture in Nova Scotia. I learned a lot, but I really wanted to gain more knowledge about the actual deportation. I guess I'll have to read a book.
Written August 12, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience and found our museum very informative. To answer your comment as to why there is not much information on the Deportation -- it was a deliberate decision -- given that the history of our Acadian region of SW Nova Scotia started *after the Deportation*, when the Acadians were permitted to establish a colony in what is now known as la Baie Sainte-Marie/Municipality of Clare. We decided to focus all of our interpretive space telling the rich and vibrant local story. The Grand-Pré National Historic Site, located 2 hours drive in the Annapolis Valley, does an excellent job of interpreting the full story of the Deportation in its entirely. Our guides are also very well-versed in the Deportation story, and would be more than happy to offer a free guided tour or answer your questions on a future visit.
Written August 17, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

danceadream
Ottawa, Canada44 contributions
Good coffee, good people
May 2015
The museum is a history of Acadia, and it gives an ode to those who continue to make it a reality. What I think is neat, is that some of the face you see on the wall in the art and culture section work for University Sainte-Anne (the adjacent university.) in the summer with aspiring French language learners. If you are lucky, Maybe you will see some musicians and/or actors/actrices from the bay!

If you keep going past rendez vous down this little gravel road for a couple minutes, you will hit the coast. I saw a seal there resting on some rocks. The view ahead is of Long Island across the bay.
Written June 26, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We very much appreciate hearing that you had a positive experience visiting the Acadian Interpretive Centre and especially learning about the local arts & culture community. Many talented local musicians and artists are employed as animators in the Spring & Summer French Immersion sessions held on campus. It was great to hear you spotted a seal along the coast in back of the centre -- often you can see several at a time basking on the rocks at low tide. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Written June 29, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DavegLeBlanc
Church Point, Canada68 contributions
Acadian information
Sep. 2014 • Business
Very friendly staff ready to help you. There are many things to do in the area therefore this is the place to stop to get info on activities going on.
Written April 29, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate hearing that you enjoyed interacting with our friendly staff, as they take great pride in sharing their knowledge of Acadian culture/history and local tourism activities. We encourage all visitors to pick up a 2015 Visitors' Guide at the centre. Look forward to welcoming you again.
Written May 5, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 24
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing