We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn Kingswear

Closed Now: 12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Open today: 12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Great food and service

Under new management and it shows. Lovely atmosphere and great food. Glad we gave The Ship Inn... read more

Reviewed September 11, 2018
72rachel1964
,
Newbury, United Kingdom
via mobile
lovely food

came on pie night ,but had to book as gets busy, I highly recommend you book a table at 6.00, as we... read more

Reviewed August 30, 2018
diver1954
,
Leeds, United Kingdom
Read all 63 reviews
13
All photos (13)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good28%
  • Average4%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(12 reviews)
“ship inn”(7 reviews)
“scallops”(3 reviews)
About
The Ship Inn is an old English Inn offering a warm welcome to visitors. Our extensive range of beers, ciders and spirits is complemented by an excellent wine list. We are open for lunch every day and dinner from Monday to Saturday, offering an ever...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 12:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Higher Street, Kingswear, Dartmouth TQ6 0AG, England
Website
+44 1803 752348
Call
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
33
18
3
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
33
18
3
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub ship inn scallops steak steam train last year gets busy food was great pie first night staff were very friendly seafood baguette the river sausage lower ferry dog
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 61 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Under new management and it shows. Lovely atmosphere and great food. Glad we gave The Ship Inn another chance. Will definitely visit again. .steaks were delicious!

Thank 72rachel1964
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Visited Dartmouth for the Regatta and staying the Kingswear side we decided to stop at the Ship for our first night for a bite to eat.. what a disappointment. Cashing in on the Regatta , they they only offered a ‘Regatta Menu’ consisting of a...More

1  Thank Tambuti_1
Kevin J, Owner at The Ship Inn Kingswear, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Thanks for giving us this feedback when you were at the pub - oh no you didn't bother. I am not even going to give this the decency of responding to each point as the 'frozen mushrooms' claim shows your total ignorance of catering, needless...More

Reviewed August 30, 2018

came on pie night ,but had to book as gets busy, I highly recommend you book a table at 6.00, as we had to wait 45 mins for our pie to arrive, was very nice and very tasty, staff very pleasant, good choice of Ales,

Thank diver1954
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

We popped in for tea and cold drinks before boarding the steam train. Friendly and efficient service, great views from the terrace.

Thank CoraBob
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Nice little bar with many window seats and tables facing the river dart.The steam railway station in also just Infront of the pub. Good pub grub and friendly service.

Thank Eddmuss
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

Good and friendly pub with locals as well as tourists- steady walk up hill from ferry. Welcome change to Dartmouth hustle trying to get a drink was a struggle. The Ship Inn is great with views across the Dart. Bet it could tell some tales.

Thank Roger60Cambridge
Kevin J, Owner at The Ship Inn Kingswear, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

The old place is full of stories sadly many of which are now lost, but glad you enjoyed your trip over to see us. Hope to see you again soon. Kevin & Michelle

Reviewed July 1, 2018

While staying in Kingswear, we watched the England soccer team play in the World's Cup and had a pub dinner at the Ship's Inn. The ham steak was very good and the bartendress knew how to pull a draught. Surprisingly, the pub was not crowded...More

Thank Lynn P
Kevin J, Owner at The Ship Inn Kingswear, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Hi Wish we could have secured a better result - but the boys did well. Glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon. Kevin & MIchelle

Reviewed June 20, 2018

The Ship Inn was a welcome sight, having walked for four hours from Brixham along the coastal path. It was a bit further than I thought - much to the delight of the locals who apparently hear that regularly! Very friendly landlord (Kevin), but not...More

Thank 99jonathan
Reviewed June 18, 2018

A local pub but with a restaurant section offering well cooked standard dishes and some surprises. Some locals miss the bar stools, others appreciate a little more space.

Thank _richardrawlins2
Kevin J, Owner at The Ship Inn Kingswear, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Thank you for your kind words and glad you enjoyed your visit - there are still a couple of bar stools but not too many so people can still get to the bar to order. Hope to see you again soon. Kevin & Michelle

Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I were having a weekend away for our anniversary with our 7 month old daughter and took the lower ferry over to Kingswear from Dartmouth today, we decided to eat at the Ship Inn and were not disappointed! We ordered a Turkey...More

Thank Ruffy79
Kevin J, Owner at The Ship Inn Kingswear, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Hi Thank you for your lovely review and it was a great pleasure to see you all. Hope to see you again. Kevin & Michelle

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Royal Castle Hotel
1,191 reviews
.50 km away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
356 reviews
.64 km away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
1,701 reviews
1.00 km away
Townstal Farmhouse
138 reviews
1.33 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 5 nearby restaurants
Steam Packet Inn
170 reviews
.03 km away
Beth's Bistro
250 reviews
.40 km away
The Ship Inn
239 reviews
.04 km away
Moor at 13
11 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 5 nearby attractions
Hockings Dairy Cream Ices
145 reviews
.50 km away
Manna from Devon Cooking School
51 reviews
.57 km away
Dart Harbour
326 reviews
.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Donna H
February 27, 2018|
Answer
Response from Kevin J | Property representative |
Sadly not
0
Votes