We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nautilus Liveaboards

Features Animals
Ensenada, Mexico
More
About Nautilus Liveaboards
350 great white sharks in stunning clear blue water at Guadalupe. A population of giant mantas that are as friendly as puppy dogs interacting with divers at Socorro. These amazing adventures are what Nautilus Liveaboards offers almost every day! Book a trip on our luxury ISM safety certified steel ships. Convenient departures from Baja, Mexico.
Read more
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travellers talk about

Nautilus Liveaboards
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
71Reviews6Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 54
  • 1
  • 2
  • 5
  • 9
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Cindy R wrote a review Jul. 2021
Lindsay, Canada68 contributions27 helpful votes
We sailed on the Belle Amie July 17-22 to see the great white sharks of Guadalupe. The owner markets July as the best time to visit and claimed the sharks would be friskier after the COVID closure. See their website and five-reasons-to-dive-with-great-white-sharks. We were originally to be in Fiji which was postponed again because of COVID so only had this time in July to travel. We arrived to find out from a crew member that the 2 boats before us had not seen sharks. No one gave us a heads up that the sharking had not been going well. The boat that left before us finally saw sharks near the end of their trip. The first day we saw one in the submersibles. The second day none. The third day in the last 45 minutes we had about 10 total minutes with a large shark that made passes of the surface cages. We had contacted the owner and were assured if we did not get hot sharking on the last day we would receive a partial credit. We kept being told the credit was being calculated. We learned the first boat received a full credit. We returned home and our travel agent had received a vague offer of $1000 usd. We paid $8,000 usd plus airfare etc. We were not willing to pay more money for another trip limited to the same time period after spending our hard earned money for such a poor experience. We know this is wildlife and they cannot make sharks appear but to advertise sharks, sharks and more sharks and July is the best kept secret does seem to be disingenuous unless you are willing to stand behind your words. Covid protocols were outlined in detail and were also why we also chose Nautilus. I am a health care professional and have been working hard for the past 1.5 years during COVID and wanted a break and a safe trip. Right from the hospitality suite at the hotel masks were not enforced for passengers despite mandatory signage. I had to ask for a passenger to put a mask on in the van which was full. I had to ask the Captain to have a few people put on masks during the briefing. Wearing masks indoors or on the dive deck were not regularly enforced and I was on holidays and not the mask police. It got tiring. The captain was not around very much as he had a friend visiting and he should have been taking a lead on this. Meals and presentations were not split into two groups as in their protocol so distancing was not possible, and again face masking was an issue. We really did not want to spend 14 days in quarantine at the end of the trip in a hotel at our expense. I was shocked at the new cage designs. The openings are now only suitable for Go Pros or a compact camera. Approx just over 1 x 2 feet window was the largest size. We have traveled with Nautilus before. As always the crew took good care of us, the food was very good and the rooms were well kept. Nautilus is the only company sailing in July. Unfortunately we learned the hard way. This is no way to treat repeat customers or any future customer.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ExtremeTM wrote a review Jul. 2021
15 contributions4 helpful votes
Spoke to Jill. Tried to reschedule my Guadalupe trip due to heart breaking and devastating news I just received about a loved one. Jill offered no empathy, no resolution except if she sells my seat I can rebook for a later date for twice the amount I paid. When I questioned her about her poor attitude, she said I was being rude and hung up on me. I have never been treated with such hostility , such indifference from a company representative in in my life. Shame on you Nautilus. Where's your humanity?
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
2trvlrs2 wrote a review Mar. 2021
Meridian, Idaho9 contributions25 helpful votes
After having one minor misunderstanding and contacting the company, they immediately rectified the situation. I would HIGHLY recommend diving Nautilus not only for the unforgettable adventure but their peerless customer service and attention to detail! My personal thanks to Jennifer for her prompt attention to this matter!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jorge wrote a review Mar. 2021
1 contribution
Thank you very much for all your attentions, we had an excellent trip. I was really amazed by all the safety measures, Nautilus Explorer is by far the safest vessel I have been on,I really want to congratulate you on this, we felt super safe!! A big high five to your chef, I can tell you he cooks better than my wife, we enjoyed all the meals. The rest of the staff are really profesional, always ready to help with a big smile. The divemasters are always on top of safety and also pointing out all the big fauna this beautiful place has to show!!! There is absolutely nothing to complain about. If I had to use one word to describe the trip it would be Excellent!!! To bad I can only rate with 5 stars this company deserves a few more.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jesse wrote a review Mar. 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
While overall I am sure that the company delivers a quality experience, my personal experience working with the company to rectify their inability to deliver the promised October trip was not positive. The trip I selected and paid a deposit for was canceled as the company could not secure approval from the local government. They offered different trips or trips in 2022, but as with most people I am unable to commit to a date a year in advance, nor can I move around my schedule for 2021, nor do I want to go on a different trip than what I purchased. When I received the cancelation email I requested a refund. This email was ignored. I followed up with a call and spoke with Mary Anne in Accounting. My refund was refused and that she would speak with the owner. I never received a call and then received an email rejecting my refund. Overall, this is a bad business practice, and while they likely deliver a quality experience, I would caution people to tread carefully.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from NautilusLiveaboards, Public Relations Manager at Nautilus Liveaboards
Responded Mar. 15, 2021
Hi Jesse, apologies for the delay in responding to this message, we are currently dealing with a large number of people calling to rebook their trip in 2022. Your booking was made on the Nautilus Belle Amie, which we advised would be stationed in Ensenada from July to October on standby and in readiness to head out and take guests diving in Guadalupe should the restrictions lift. Following your conversation with Mary Anne on the afternoon of the 3rd March, she did advise she would contact the owner, however you threatened to do a charge back if no-one called you back in 30 minutes. You then immediately posted a review on Yelp and then on TripAdvisor before anyone could contact you. We do not want to cancel Guadalupe and are working hard to come up with the best options for our clients during these times.
Read more
Previous
123456
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Ensenada
from US$32.50
More Info
from US$32.06
More Info
from US$78.00
More Info
from US$76.93
More Info