We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Banff Trail Riders

Features Animals
Closes in 26 min: 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Book In Advance
Tours from Banff Trail Riders tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
322
All photos (322)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good22%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“hour ride”(88 reviews)
“sleigh ride”(62 reviews)
“steak”(54 reviews)
About
Discover a side of Banff you can only see on horseback. Banff Trail Riders (previously Holiday on Horseback take you to places most travellers never experience. We offer hourly rides, backcountry lodge and tent pack trips, sleigh rides and more. Get...more
Closes in 26 min
Hours Today: 9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
See all hours
Contact
132 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
Website
+1 403-762-4551
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Banff Trail Riders
from US$95.35
More Info
from US$544.05
More Info
from US$129.80
More Info
from US$79.32
More Info
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
651 results
Traveller rating
364
140
48
38
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
364
140
48
38
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour ride sleigh ride steak warner stables spray river cowboy cookout an experienced rider riding experience bow river baked potato long ride great ride hot chocolate sulphur mountain from australia once in a lifetime small group
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 651 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

It was such a wonderful experience! I felt totally safe and at ease on lovely “Wombat”. The guide Mike was awesome! The hour felt more like 20 minutes. I would definitely go again!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Verena S
BanffHorseback, Manager at Banff Trail Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Were glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed October 15, 2018

Four of us did the six day trip this summer with our guide, Sarah. The experience was truly amazing; breathtaking views, bear and elk, newly found waterfalls. The food was incredibly good and plentiful (Mary and Grace are the Julia Child of the Rockies!). The...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Sightseer594115
BanffHorseback, Manager at Banff Trail Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I really appreciate your review. It is a special place in the backcountry. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to the staff.

Reviewed October 12, 2018

Early October and the temperature in Banff was freezing and we spent a beautiful afternoon riding alongside The Bow river surrounded by fabulous mountains. I am not an experienced rider and the horse was big but friendly and perfect to ride. The guides were very...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank martyn1152016
BanffHorseback, Manager at Banff Trail Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Your welcome, thank you for taking the time to write the review. Im glad you and your daughter enjoyed the Cowboy Cookout.

Reviewed October 11, 2018

My wife and I did this tour as part of our travel package last week. It was seriously disappointing and a big let down on what was otherwise a great holiday. Zoe, the host driver did do a very good job BUT it had been...More

Date of experience: October 2018
3  Thank LiamoF
BanffHorseback, Manager at Banff Trail Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your response. Im sorry you did not enjoy the experience. We did receive snow supper early this year which we have no control over. Having said that there is no excuse for the lack of engagement from the staff. I can only apologize.

Reviewed October 8, 2018

This is our second time taking a trail ride with Warner Stables in Banff. The first time was enjoyable, but this second time was even better. The staff are super knowledgable and I felt very comfortable having them guide us on the trail ride. The...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 123canadiangirl123
BanffHorseback, Manager at Banff Trail Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for coming back and riding with us again. We have lots more rides you can do, for your 3rd time why not try a backcountry trip. You will not be disappointed. Here is a 10% discount returning rider code RIDEAGAIN If you want...More

Reviewed October 8, 2018

I have been on several horseback riding adventures and even a sleigh ride with Banff a Trail Rides and have enjoyed each and everyone of them. The guides, the horse, the scenery are all top notch. I am an absolute repeat customer and next year...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank clcamacho
BanffHorseback, Manager at Banff Trail Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review we always appreciate repeat customers. You will most definitely love the spray river ride. Its a great experience to cross the river.

Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

First off we have never riden horses so that in itself was fun The horses were obviously used to inexperienced handlers but were well behaved and did respond to certain commands Obviously we weren’t galloping in the wild open but the ride was scenic and...More

Thank Dred174d
BanffHorseback, Manager at Banff Trail Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Were glad you enjoyed the ride.

Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

We had alot of fun and felt very safe with their well traind horses. The guides told us some interesting information about banff and bow river. It was really worth it👍🏼

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank DeniseB4353
BanffHorseback, Manager at Banff Trail Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Were glad you enjoyed the ride.

Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

My husband & I did a 2 hour trail ride. We’re both pretty adventurous and this was pretty boring for the both of us. We didn’t visit anywhere spectacular with any gorgeous views. Horseback riding wouldn’t be something we put on our itinerary again.

Thank Bnecke
BanffHorseback, Manager at Banff Trail Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to share your opinions. Were sorry it did not meet your expectations.

Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

Our 1hr Banff Fairmont carriage ride was awesome. Mike was entertaining and interesting, and horse Butch was beautiful and a pleasure to ride with. I’ll be recommending this tour to my friends and family.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank rockywest
BanffHorseback, Manager at Banff Trail Riders, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Were glad you enjoyed the ride. Please share with all your friends

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 33 nearby hotels
Bow View Lodge
961 reviews
.57 km away
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
2,598 reviews
.60 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
1,133 reviews
.70 km away
Glacier View Inn
7 reviews
.74 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 158 nearby restaurants
Chuck's Steakhouse
355 reviews
.70 km away
The Bear Street Tavern
1,543 reviews
.71 km away
Wild Flour- Banff's Artisan Bakery Cafe
908 reviews
.70 km away
The Bison Restaurant
1,207 reviews
.72 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 153 nearby attractions
Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies
521 reviews
.62 km away
Buffalo Nations Luxton Museum
306 reviews
.60 km away
Banff Park Museum
396 reviews
.68 km away
Canada House Art Gallery
69 reviews
.66 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Diane M
July 30, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from BanffHorseback | Property representative |
250lbs.
0
Votes
Catherine S
June 14, 2018|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from TravelBedfordshire | Reviewed this property |
If you're fit, it's within walking distance from the town centre. Turn right once you're over the river bridge. It's on Sundance Road. Clearly signposted at the end of their track.
1
Vote
Sylvia_05501
March 7, 2017|
Answer
Response from BanffHorseback | Property representative |
No experience necessary, we will give you some instructions and we have lots of calm horses. Most of our customers on our hourly rides have not ridden before
1
Vote