We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres

Features Animals
Tofino, Canada
More
About Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres
Jamie's Whaling Station has been offering authentic, family-friendly eco-adventures since 1982. We are your connection to Whales, Bears, and Hot Springs Cove in Tofino & Ucluelet. Join us for one of many adventures on our larger family-friendly vessels or on our fast-paced Zodiac vessels. We also offer Kayaking tours through our partner Paddle West Kayaking and Water Taxi services through Clayoquot Connection. Whatever West Coast adventure you're looking for we're ready to get you out on the water to create some lifelong memories.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
See all hours
Travellers talk about

Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
1,255Reviews5Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 952
  • 186
  • 58
  • 35
  • 24
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
DammitJanet wrote a review Mar. 2020
2 contributions
One of the most awe inspiring things in my life to view 2 Fin Whales and then 3 Humpback Whales while out on the tour. The staff and captain were top notch and as a life long flat lander prairie gal felt secure and safe on the boat. Highly recommend this tour company.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
John D wrote a review Mar. 2020
2 contributions
Our trip started off by just going in to purchase a t-shirt. Arrived when people from previous tour came back and told us what they had seen and experienced. Look on their faces said it all. We booked for our party of 5. We could have not asked for a better day on the water as the winds were low and the sea was calm. Scenery was beautiful but not as nice as the rare Fin Whales we encountered . The crew was very excited to see them also and were very knowledgeable about them and the Humpback Whales we also seen. The captain of the boat was very experienced as he kept us on them. They had disappeared for a short period and while we were stationary a couple appeared right before our eyes and close to the ship. We have numerous encounters throughout our entire trip. We actually stayed out a little longer than what the tour said as the captain and crew were also very excited to see the Fin Whales also. This lead me to believe that they were just as interested in nature and the surroundings rather than just the old mighty dollar. We highly highly recommend them. This boat (MV Lukwa)was previously owned by another company on the island and we were on a tour in telegraph cove years ago and seen a record amount of killer whale pods while on-board. Lukwa in our opinion has something special about her.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
vancityash wrote a review Nov. 2019
Vancouver, Canada24 contributions1 helpful vote
We had an amazing time on our hot springs tour last week. Our guide was really helpful and informative. We saw two grey whales and some sea otters.. which has been on the bucket list for quite some time. And the hot springs were pretty neat! Its about 30 mins walk thru an old growth forest to the springs, all of which is completely majestic. We are so greatful we got the chance to experience this fantastic tour. Thank u so much! Chris is a lovely guide.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Yolanda wrote a review Nov. 2019
Bellingham, Washington38 contributions5 helpful votes
We paid $129.00 for a whale watching excursion. We left the harbor and drove into a thick fog bank. We drove around shivering in the cold for 3 hours getting nauseated in zero visibility. We were encouraged to sign up for the tour that morning in light of the forecast, they wanted our $$ even though they knew we wouldn't see anything in my opinion. Jamie's loves to tell you how they have this voucher if you dont see a whale. Turns out, you have to be on standby the day of if you do this, and they wont get you on the boat unless there are seats < 1 hour prior. False advertising. The guy at the desk kept complaining how he was the only one working. Not impressed. Would not recommend.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JWSAdventures, Adventure Team at Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres
Responded Nov. 21, 2019
Hello Adrienne, Thank you for joining us earlier this month. We’re sad to read your comments and wish we were able to find whales for your group. We always try our best to host an inspiring tour with wildlife, interesting information about our area, and the best views we can find. We would like to address a few of your concerns. Experiencing fog in nature certainly isn’t ideal, but we still regularly view whales on foggy days, and enjoy a 95% sightings success rate from March through November, regardless of weather conditions. We had spotted whales in our area for several days prior to your tour. It is important to note that fog is very common to coastal towns, including Tofino, and it is very difficult to predict when it may roll in. To prepare for conditions while on the water, all passengers are suited up in our full-bodied flotation suits, which provide dual purpose of safety equipment and warmth. We also provide a wind/rain jacket, fleece gloves and hats. We always recommend passengers dress in warm, layered clothing, as temperatures on the open ocean can be several degrees lower than on land. Thank you for mentioning our Rain Check Policy. It is something we are proud to offer for the small percentage of guests who do not spot whales during their tour. The details of the rain check tickets are posted for our guests to see on our website and in our offices. We are one of the only companies to offer this option for whale watching tours. We have no reason to hide any details of this policy. While we understand there may not always be an option to re-book, depending on scheduling or availability, the tickets have no expiry date, so they can be used on a future visit. We’re sorry to hear you disagree with this offer. The nature of viewing wildlife in their natural habitat is that there are no guarantees because we are watching them in the wild. This is the reason we have the Rain Check Policy. We have discussed your comments about the front desk guy with our staff member and he indicated that he politely asked for patience while he hung-up multiple full body suits worn by you and the other passengers before he could provide the rain check tickets because we was working alone. We very much appreciate you joining us and would like to make ourselves available if you have any other questions. - Jamie's
Read more
Graham H wrote a review Oct. 2019
Glasgow, United Kingdom96 contributions17 helpful votes
Weather was not ideal for whale watching as water rather choppy. However we went out, the commentary and crew were very good, we thought we saw the back of one whale although I'm not sure. We saw one sea otter and headed back to harbour.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from JWSAdventures, Adventure Team at Jamie's Whaling Station and Adventure Centres
Responded Oct. 17, 2019
Hi Graham, Thank you for joining us and taking some time to share your experience. While our crews review multiple weather forecasting services before departing, we understand that not all of our passengers will be accustomed to boating on the open waters of the west coast of Vancouver Island. Safety is our number 1 consideration, but we also consider the comfort of our passengers when determining if we should depart as scheduled or cancel tours. When we do decide to depart, if we believe it might be less comfortable due to conditions then we will often give passengers the option to re-book or cancel without charge. Of course, there are many factors that determine these decisions, but our focus is to provide exceptional experiences, every trip. Despite an excellent success rate through our season, there are times that we are not fortunate to view whales. We're glad to hear your trip was able to find an animal, but we're sorry that you didn't get better looks at it. When our 2-3 hour tours are not successful in finding whales we offer our long standing Rain-Check tickets, giving our passengers the ability to join for a second or third chance to view the whales they are seeking. These tickets do not carry an expiry date so if you are not able to use the tickets during your current visit, they may still be used in the future. They can also be used from our Tofino or Ucluelet location, giving several options to re-book each day. Our skippers and crew will determine whether the tour is deemed a Rain-Check based on many factors, including the quality of sightings. All the conditions of our Rain-Check Policy can be found on our website. In your case, if the Rain-Check was not offered it implies that we had multiple looks, however we would like more information from you regarding the date of your tour and we are more than happy to extend our Rain-Check offer to you if valid. Please call our Tofino office, or email ryan@jamies.com with more details of your tour. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to hearing from you soon. - Jamie's Team
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Vancouver Island
from US$125.97
More Info
from US$538.38
More Info
from US$118.35
More Info
from US$110.93
More Info