Gray Line Sightseeing Victoria

Gray Line Sightseeing Victoria

Gray Line Sightseeing Victoria
4
10:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Thursday
10:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Friday
10:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Saturday
10:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Sunday
10:30 AM - 3:30 PM
About
Sightseeing Victoria Gray Line Tours, operated by The Wilson’s Group, allow visitors to explore Victoria BC aboard an Open Top Double Decker bus! Whether you choose a Hop-On Hop-Off tour, day, night or a City Sightseeing tour, you are assured a memorable experience. Sightseeing Victoria tours are designed to give visitors complete flexibility to explore the many points of interest Victoria has to offer at their own pace. With over 15 stops, the tour provides the best of Victoria. For over 100 years, Gray Line’s world-famous Blue Diamond logo has been synonymous with sightseeing and local experiences. In addition to the exclusive Reasons to Go , our comfortable transport, and experienced guides always make for a personal, informative, and entertaining adventure.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Gray Line Sightseeing Victoria
Travellers talk about
(18 reviews)
(7 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles599 reviews
Excellent
352
Very good
112
Average
46
Poor
36
Terrible
53

Mbtur
10 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2024 • Friends
We purchased the 24 hr hop on hop off. Norm our first driver is a native and was very informative (our send driver played a pre-recorded dialog that was, eh). Thought we’d use it more but after a full loop (stopped for lunch in Cook Street Village) we knew we wanted to just explore on our own after a carriage ride
Written May 22, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jeff B
Lake Oswego, OR37 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2019 • Couples
Get this 1st off, this way you can see where you want to spend time the next day. The ticket is good for 24 hours.
Written April 10, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Don'tWaitForRetirement
California5,477 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2018 • Friends
We booked our CVS tour to Butchart Gardens on the internet before our cruise. We had booked the 11AM tour, however we made it into the center of Victoria earlier than expected and they allowed us to take the 10AM tour instead. The CVS kiosk is very easy to find outside the Empress Hotel in the center of Victoria. (See my photos).

When they say 'tour', they really mean a bus ride to and from Butchart Gardens with narration. Your entry ticket is included, but you're on your own in the gardens and you can pick which time you want to come back as they have buses pick-up every hour again from Butchart. I liked that flexibility. We were in the gardens around 2 hours. If you plan on eating there, you would probably add another 60-90 minutes. This schedule allowed us to get back to the center of Victoria and see the town before having to take a shuttle ride back to the ship. By the way, the approx duration of the bus ride from the center of Victoria to Butchart Gardens was 30-40 minutes.

The bus was modern and clean and the driver/narrator Rob was one of the best I've ever had on a bus tour. His narration was very clear and slow and he put passengers at ease with his directions of what to expect when we got there, etc. You could tell he was very experienced.

Butchart Gardens itself was beautiful and a great place to take close up photos of flowers. I'm glad we went early in the day when it wasn't quite so busy.

They have a cafe, plenty of WCs, a visitor center and a large quality gift shop.

Please CLICK the THANK button if you found this review useful.
Written June 17, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour. We try to accommodate guests however we can. We understand that people may want longer at the gardens than others, as you said some may like to stay for lunch or tea. Rob is one of our senior drivers and has been with CVS for many years, we are glad you enjoyed his tour! We will be sure to let him know about the lovely review. We hope to see you again, thank you for the review!
Written August 13, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Crushed_Tilley_Hat
Blind Bay, Canada126 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 • Friends
Unexpected price hike….too fast to take in anything.
Price went from 39$ to 48$ overnight. Operator said it was a special that had ended and the visitor Center had out of date info. Went back to the info Center after the tour and they still had the same 39$ cost. It was a Christmas Eve tour and we were a Little late for the first stop, but it was an easy walk to the second stop. Our tour lacking the first stop was just over an hour. We like the sights and narration both recorded and from the driver. But no time for photos or to actually take in the attractions. The tour was too fast and should have allowed for short stops at the sights for a better experience. As the price was increased to 48$ per person, for a group of four it would have been far more economical and sight friendly to hire a cab and grab a tour guide from the visitor Center. Bottom line was that we did not get the value for the price paid. Save your money and hire a car service.
Written December 31, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
I truly apologize that our prices were not communicated to you properly. We try to pick the stops to make sure our guests have the opportunity to take photos and experience all the major attractions in Victoria. Unfortunately, we can't stop at every beautiful sight, as much as we would like to. We would love to have you on board during the summer season to experience the hop on, hop off aspect of the tour, where you can hop off at any time to explore further any areas you find interesting!
Written February 18, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

littleedward
San Diego, CA13 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2016 • Family
To Gray Line and CVS Tours:
Last Thursday, May 5, 2016 my daughter and I visited the beautiful city of Victoria, British Columbia. We are from San Diego and had a day on our Seattle trip to go to Victoria. After much research we decided the best use of our time was to visit Butchart Gardens via the Express offered on the Gray Line website. We came by the Victoria Clipper so our arrival would be at 10:45 and we had to check in for our return by 5:00. In looking at the schedule Gray Line’s website we thought this was doable. We saw the bus also stopped at Butterfly Gardens but were told when making reservations online we could add the Butterfly Gardens at the site.

To our delight we arrived in Victoria ahead of schedule and saw the line for Butchart Gardens was on the lawn of the Empress Hotel so we were sure we could make the 11:00 bus. We checked at the Gray Line kiosk only to discover they were not the ones providing the service. Why the switch and bait? We did our research and read reviews. If I had known I would have known that CVS has a history and not a good one!

We then moved over to the CVS kiosk to check in. The woman in front of us was buying a ticket and was told she would have to take the 12:00 bus because the 11:00 was looking full. She was to form a new line. While she was paying for her ticket the staff personnel noticed I prepaid and exchanged my tickets stating I could take the 11:00 bus because I prepaid and I was guaranteed a seat on that bus. There was only one line for that bus and they would see my ticket and know I would have a seat. After standing in line for about 10 minutes more my daughter and I started to wonder…where is the 11:00 bus. She asked and was assured it was on the way and yes we had priority seating because we prepaid. At 11:20 the bus arrived and we did not get on the bus as well as the 20 or more people in front of us. However, the lady who bought her ticket for 12:00 was the first one on. That was just wrong! Don’t make promises you can’t keep.

Despite the online schedule stating the next bus would be there at 12:10 and the staff said 12:00 because the buses run every hour on the hour, the next bus came about 11:50 and left at noon. We were loading when the staff personnel asked us if who wanted to go to Butterfly Gardens. When I raised my hand he said we could purchase them at the kiosk for $16.80 each. My daughter purchased them while I got on the bus. She was on before they finished loading.

Half hour later we arrived at the Butterfly Gardens and the bus driver said he would return on the hour every hour and if we forget just check the schedule inside. That did not make sense. You can’t arrive every hour on the hour at the Empress and at Butterfly Gardens. Schedule inside said next but at 1:30 (and the online one said 1:40) so we presumed he meant 1:30.

We enjoyed our hour at Butterfly Gardens and was out at the bus stop by 1:25. Bus arrived at 1:30 as the sign inside stated. As we were waiting for the people to get off the bus one woman asked the bus driver about tickets to Butterfly Gardens. He said she was supposed to get them before they left the Empress but she could just buy them at Butterfly Gardens for $13.25 then just grab the next bus to Butchart Gardens …they run every hour on the hour. What!? Why did we pay more for the privilege of the bus ride but she was able to pay a lesser price with the same benefits.

We arrived at Butchart Gardens about 1:40 and again the bus driver stated the bus will pick up every hour on the hour until 5 pm. We set our phones to 3:30 so we could be out there by 4:00. I had my doubts because it didn’t make sense. There was no posted bus times for CVS tours at Butchart Gardens but the online site said pick up times left were 4:15 and 4:45. We enjoyed a very limited time at the Gardens and was back out there with 5 minutes to spare. With no sign of the bus and no people after about 10 minutes of waiting we asked the staff at Butchart if he knew when the bus was coming. He said it came at 4:00 and next one was at 6:15. What?! We were there at 4:00 there was no bus and if we waited for the next bus we would miss our ferry. We debated taking a city bus sitting there but wasn’t sure if we would make it back in time. Besides we paid for a ticket back! A few other people came out looking for the bus and they did take the city bus. We called the number on the ticket (incurring roaming and international charges). They sent a taxi over at their cost but honestly, it should never have gotten to this point.

First, Gray Line should have informed the customer they were not the ones providing the service. That was switch and bait. That is illegal. I thought I was getting a company that I had used and trusted on previous trips but did not. I cannot say they are trusted any longer. You may not have anything to do with how our day went but Gray Line certainly approved of this company.

Second, posting a schedule online, at your sites and having employees quote schedules is ridiculous when all 3 schedules are different! It wasted a lot of my time. Precious time I could use seeing Victoria. I did not travel over 1300 miles so I can wait in your lines while you over sell tickets and charge various prices. I expect when I pay for transportation there would be order and consistency in the times.

Third, employees need to stop paying lip service to satisfy people and give real answers. If you only have a certain amount of space then you need to sell only that amount of tickets. If you are going to guarantee prepaid people a seat then there should be a separate line for lose people so they can actually have priority seating. If they don’t then please stop telling people you do!

Fourth, your prices should be consistent. Why sell tickets at different prices. It isn’t right to charge some people higher prices.
Written May 9, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

bulldpog
Hockley tx.49 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2018 • Couples
We were in Victoria on June 14th 2018, we chose to do the Scenic Victoria and Craigdarroch Castle tour. our tickets said 9:15 am, we were on time in fact we were a little early, However that was not the case for 11 other people on the tour, Dave our driver waited 45 min. on them, when we finally got underway, our driver said we were going to the castel first, as we arrived at the castel the time was 10:15 am Dave our driver said to be back at 11:15am, we had to walk almost 10 min to get to the castel, the guy that was telling us about the castel kept us outside for another 20 min talking,
for a total of 30 or more, there was also not 1 but 2 tour buses there, as anyone knows a person can't move any faster than the person in front of them, we were rushed to say the least. were were back at the bus stop at 11:22 just 7 min late and the bus was gone, we found another driver that called Daves personal cell phone and told him he needed to return and pick us up, which he never did. after over an hour on the phone trying to get a cab and finally reaching our ship. we were picked up by Greg a dispatcher, he was so sweet and appolgized for what happened and made sure we got back to our ship, he was the only bright spot of an otherwise lousy day, when we arrived back at our ship we were told by the excursion desk that Dave told them that we were in fact 25 min late and the other passengers were complaining and yellng to him to go, I find it hard to belive that the same people that we waited 45 min on before we could leave the dock, would conplain that we were 7 min late. I think he was trying to cover his own butt and yes we were only 7 min because both my sister and I both looked at our watch. bottom line we sail on the Alaska cruises every other year having already made 3 trips, As far as I'm concerned we will never book another excursion that CVS Tour company does the tour. again I want to thank Greg, for his kindness.
Written June 18, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about the situation that you experienced. This tour was operated by a shore excursion company that works with the cruise lines. They were using one of our buses and drivers to preform this work. In this instance we follow the rules that are laid out by the company who charters the bus. When you were late getting back to the bus the driver phoned the shore excursion contact and he was told to continue on the tour. It was not our driver’s decision to leave you behind he was following the request of the company that chartered our bus and driver. CVS was eventually notified of your situation and we took it upon ourselves to come out and rescue you. We were happy to do this, but, we were not in charge of your tour and we did not make the decision to leave you at the castle when you were late. Again we are sorry for the situation you found yourself in but it is important to distinguish between which company left you behind (the shore excursion company) and the company rescued you (CVS).
Written August 19, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KeezySMU
Orlando, FL28 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2017
We arrived by cruise ship & paid to be taken to town by bus & were dropped off in front of this "hop on hop off" bus. The fellow selling tickets- Mitch, would not give me any information other than the bus would not leave for 45 minutes. He said to go check for another company. In the moment I hesitated, he sold a large group of tickets and we just barely got a seat. When I told Mitch that I would give a bad review, he laughed at me and said,"go ahead". They proceeded to sell more tickets even when all seats were taken. There were only 2 busses running and there was a 1 hour wait between busses. The ride was cramped with not much useful narration. Everyone was afraid to hop off for fear of never getting another seat. When we arrived back at the starting point I wanted to stay on but the driver said just get off we are not leaving for an hour and it is easier to walk. Use your money for a real tour. Hopefully other tours in Victoria like tourists.
Written October 6, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello KeezySMU, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, I am deeply sorry that your experience was not up to our standards of excellent customer service. We will ensure that your experience will not be repeated in the future. Situations such as yours warrant thorough internal reviews and further improvements on ensuring that our staff are professional in their interactions with customers and that customer experiences are positive. In light of your experience, we would like to offer you two complimentary day passes on our Hop on Hop off tour for a day of your choosing; if this is something that would interest you, please call our office directly at 250-385-6553 and ask for Bryan and we will be happy to assist you.
Written December 1, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Swabado
Oro Valley, AZ1,775 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2014 • Couples
The Hop-on Hop-Off Sightseeing Victoria City Tour bus was a great way to see Victoria BC. The bus tour goes through China Town, numerous neighborhoods and along the Strait of Juan de Fuca Water Way. One of the interesting items we saw along the route included two brightly painted piano’s that the City of Victoria had place on two separate street corners for pedestrians to play if they so desired. The bus tour also goes near the old Chinese’s Cemetery but not right by it as the streets in that area are for cars only. The old Chinese Cemetery, which is right on the waterfront, was an interesting and free place to visit with scenic views across the Strait of Juan de Fuca.
The sightseeing bus ticket is good for a 24 hour period and includes the water taxi. To get the most for your money, make sure you take a water taxi as this will give you a different perspective of Victoria and prevent you from having to walk everywhere.
Written December 8, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

TimRichter
Calgary, Canada12 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Just took a sightseeing tour around Victoria on Gray Line. The tour was expensive and the guide was terrible. He didn’t know his history, prattled on with opinions (“I hate this building”), moaned about paying property tax and the cost of housing like a grumpy old man. On top of it he told a wildly inappropriate story about an 18 year old girl who was texting and waking and was killed when she walked in front of another Gray Line bus! I had my 9 year old on the tour!
Written July 23, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello TimRichter, Thank you for your feedback. We actually spoke on the phone and you also informed us about your experience. Since our conversation on the phone, we have refunded all of your tickets and this driver has also been let go. We do not take things like this lightly and we are truly sorry that you had this negative experience. We take pride in our service and we have acted accordingly to your feedback which will help better our service. Thank you for your advice and we hope that you come back to Victoria for a visit.
Written July 26, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Casa Molly Holbox Island
seattle8 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2019 • Couples
I'll just give a list of issues...
-Air was not working on top floor of bus- hot and windows fogged up and could not see out.
-Website states you can choose your departure time from Gardens but this is not true. -You must leave at 2:30
-We were told to arrive to pick up 15 min before departure, sat around for at least 30 min after departure time, but then drove to another location to pick up passengers and then back to original area to drop of workers... spent about 45 min on bus unnecessarily.
-Our "tour" was schedule to leave at 11:30 for a 12:10 arrival time to Gardens- did not arrive until 1:00- We had to leave and be back on bus at 2:30. We basically paid about $60 US for 2 people to have an inconvenient bus taxi to Gardens with very limited timeframe to enjoy Gardens.
I would not recommend this tour- you are better off paying a bit more for car rental or taxi and being able to control your timeline to enjoy yourself.
Written March 25, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 585

Gray Line Sightseeing Victoria - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Victoria HotelsVictoria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Victoria
All things to do in Victoria
Day Trips in Victoria
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars