We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

RIDE THE GLIDE - RTG E-Bikes Inc.

Victoria, Canada
More
About RIDE THE GLIDE - RTG E-Bikes Inc.
We apologize but due to COVID and extenuating circumstances our E-bike rentals have been suspended indefinitely. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We do however, offer sales and service of our own line of E-bikes and a variety of e-scooters both online and from our storefront in Victoria. We hope to see you sometime soon!
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
See all hours

RIDE THE GLIDE - RTG E-Bikes Inc.
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
46Reviews2Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
someguycgy wrote a review May 2021
Calgary, Canada7 contributions3 helpful votes
I did not rent from this location, but purchased two new e-scooters from Ride The Glide in March 2020 and this review is about my experience and service issues. After a year of use, one scooter was having some issues with the motor, and the other had a few issues including a loose front stem pole. I called RTG and spoke to one of the owners about sending them in for an annual full service to deal with these issues and get them into A1 condition again for another season of use. When spending $1200+ on a bike or e-scooter etc. - my expectation for that kind of coin is that you don’t just trash the item after first year. RTG doesn’t offer any servicing options or plans, but I negotiated a price of $350-$400 per scooter for servicing. Several weeks later, I was told the bill would be over $1000. We were charged over $450 in labour costs for one scooter to “diagnose an electrical issue”. I paid the full cost of the bill without argument - despite it being a lot higher than agreed to, plus I had to pay $300 in shipping and handling costs, so over $1300 in costs to do the full service on these two machines. When they arrived back to us, there were some issues on both scooters with headlamp and rear light wiring being loose/not working, plus a misunderstanding on new tires/flats but which wasn’t a huge deal as we just bought another new tire. I notified RTG of these things, and they sent an interact transfer refund of $100 towards costs for us to fix the lights and wiring issues ourselves. Unfortunately within a matter of days, the motor problem on one of the scooters started up again, rendering one scooter totally unusable. I went to deposit the refund the following week, but the interac had been cancelled by the vendor with a message saying “OFFER RETRACTED”. I wrote an email to RTG to ask why they had “retracted” the refund, and at same time notified them that the rear hub motor issue was still a major problem, and one of the scooters was not useable at all. RTG did not respond, so 5 days later I called and spoke to one of the owners. He told me that they cancelled the interac transfer and didn’t respond to my emails about the scooter still not working, because “all you do is <profanity>, and I’m tired of listening to all your <profanity>”. I explained that I was trying to reach a resolution and ultimately get these scooters working again - and that the reason I was frustrated is that after spending $1300, now one of the scooters has come back and is dead/inoperable with a serious issue still. RTG had shipped our new scooters without the protective hub motor cabling housing installed. I didn’t even know they were supposed to come with this protective housing until a few weeks ago when one of our friends ordered the same scooter from another vendor in Canada, but when we got our scooters brand new from RTG, I thought it was weird that on one of the scooters open wiring was left open and went exposed into the rear hub motor. I used electrical tape to cover up the exposed wiring to provide some kind of protection. These missing plastic hub wiring protectors have caused some big issues - wiring into the rear hub motor on one scooter has degraded and frayed together causing the rear hub motor to short out. This issue means I now have to spend another $300 on a replacement hub motor. The owner of RTG insisted I was a liar and that he personally checked all scooters before they came out and that there was no way he could have made any mistake or sent them out without these protectors. RTG also did not check the wiring or cabling during the “full service” - and so they sent it back with the degraded and frayed wiring going into the rear hub. Instead of owning the mistakes, such as sending them out new without the hub cap protectors, or not identifying these issues during the $1000+ service we were billed for - instead of trying to find a resolution to these issues to get us back riding again - instead I was called a liar, called out as someone that is <profanity>, and RTG acted in a shady way by offering - then cancelling without telling me - the $100 refund. So that's my experience of dealing with the owners of Ride The Glide.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from RTG-E-Bikes, Owner at RIDE THE GLIDE - RTG E-Bikes Inc.
Responded Jun. 16, 2021
Wow, there are so many twists of truths and outright fabrications to this review I can't, and won't, get into it. Shame on you for taking the low road. During the conversation on the phone that you referred to there was no profanity and you were offered money back and yet you said nothing. The transfer was retracted because you never collected it (after nine days) and because of that we anticipated this kind of response from you. We have the emails to support the truth of what was said and agreed upon. If twisting the truth and making up stories makes you feel better and helps you sleep at night, so be it. Your actions and continued actions have caused, and continue to cause, the issues with your scooters. Shame on you; being a business owner you should know better.
Read more
Odyssey793351 wrote a review Oct. 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Contacted the store trying to educate my self on Zero scooter. I have never owned one. I tried few on my recent trips to Washington DC and love the experience! I looked around on the website to see who sell Zero scooter, and I found ridetheglide.ca I checked the website and it says that the scooter only has 6 months warranty. This makes me a bit nervous as the scooter thousands of dollars. So just like every other smart buyers out there, I would like to educate myself before investing $$$ on a product that only comes with 6 months of warranty. I sent emails to Ridetheglide (RTG) and asked them what's the cost to fix these scooter if something goes wrong with them and they are out of warranty. They promised me that they will get me the list, and I said great. Days went by, I didn't hear from them. I wrote email again and the promised to get back to me before end of day. Again, silence. I wrote email again and they promised to get back to me the next day. Again, silence. I wrote again and they said they were so busy and didn't get a chance to look for it but promise to get it to me. Days went by and nothing. I wrote again and followed up with them, and they kept saying that they have to look for it. Days went by, and still nothing. My alarm finally went off and I thought these guys are just playing with me and never intended to inform me about the repair cost. I wrote email again to them and complaint that I have been waiting for sometime and they kept delaying and delaying it. They responded to me and said that I am just phishing for information. My jaw drop and I was in an awe. I already said to them that I have never owned an electric scooter and the scooter only comes with 6 months warranty, and therefore I think it is a legit and smart questions to ask about repair cost before committing to one. They accused me of phishing for information. From a regular conversation looking to educate myself on a scooter, to dramatic. I have never in my life deal with any business that refuse to inform customer of repair cost of a product AND accuse customer of phishing. These guys are just weird and paranoid. I don't understand and will never understand. They recommended me to go to smartwheel.ca and I am so glad that they did. No drama and accusation from smartwheel.ca. So for those who are looking to educate themselves before buying anything from RTG, prepare for not getting any information and prepare for being led on. Do yourself a favor and go to a different store.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from aliciab663, Owner at RIDE THE GLIDE - RTG E-Bikes Inc.
Responded Oct. 5, 2019
Hi Andre, This is not the forum for this review. And that just goes to show that you are simply hell bent on bad mouthing our company. Some people simply cannot be pleased. We were always upfront and honest with you, I can't even see how it would benefit us to string you along. When it was clear that we were not the right business for you we suggested another, which apparently you are happy with, so what exactly is your angle now? Anyway as I said this is not the correct forum for this review (this is a review site for tourism business, of which you have no knowledge of our business). If anyone is interested in reading our full response they can do so on our Google page where Andre has also posted under a different alias.
Read more
Mike wrote a review Aug. 2019
1 contribution
Very reasonably price and good quality bikes. With the excellent bike lanes in town and the miles of roads with lower traffic my wife and I had a wonderful afternoon on the bikes.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from aliciab663, Owner at RIDE THE GLIDE - RTG E-Bikes Inc.
Responded Oct. 5, 2019
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we are very glad you had an enjoyable time on the bikes exploring Victoria!
Read more
Greg N wrote a review Jul. 2019
Didsbury, Canada60 contributions33 helpful votes
Rented an ebike. Staff were knowledgeable, and got me started. Provided a great beginners - type route. Loads of fun!
Read more
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from aliciab663, Owner at RIDE THE GLIDE - RTG E-Bikes Inc.
Responded Oct. 5, 2019
Thank you very much for taking the time to review! So glad that you enjoyed the bike and the route!
Read more
Adi D wrote a review Jul. 2019
Toronto, Canada20 contributions28 helpful votes
This was our first experience with Ebikes. The whole experience with all the staff was excellent. Michael who delivered the Ebikes was very nice. He fully explained how they work as this was our first time. Prior to our booking we had few questions, Corinne and the team were very nice in getting back to me with all the answers. Would sruly love to do this again and I recommend this to every one. We were a party of 7 riders and we all had so much fun with the Ebikes.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from aliciab663, Owner at RIDE THE GLIDE - RTG E-Bikes Inc.
Responded Oct. 5, 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate it. We are so glad that your whole group enjoyed the experience!
Read more
Previous
123456