We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Powder Mountain Cat and Heli Skiing

Whistler, Canada
More
Travellers talk about

Powder Mountain Cat and Heli Skiing
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
82Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 1
  • 2
  • 2
  • 5
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nick F wrote a review Feb. 2021
Abbotsford, Canada13 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Thanks Powder Mountain Heli. Best blue bird day I've ever had. Thanks to our guide Don for the best powder runs all day long and Jason our pilot for the smooth ride. A great company with friendly and professional staff. I will definitely return.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Simon Bold wrote a review Jan. 2021
Whistler, Canada9 contributions4 helpful votes
10/10 would recommend! Never ending bottomless powder within incredible terrain. I went today and was blown away about the whole experience. If you are looking for the one thing that Whistler can offer you that will make your day, trip, year, life memorable then look no further. A day like this i'll remember for the rest of my life. There wasn't anyone else on the mountain so we had fresh all day. Matched us with equal ability level skiers and we end up doing 9 runs. The guides were extremely professional, knowledgeable and friendly. I cant thank the team, Duncan, Nat, Max, Cristian and Pete for making feel at home and taking me to a surreal place both mentally and physically. Great service, great team with a guaranteed great time.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Eric S wrote a review Mar. 2020
Vancouver, Canada6 contributions1 helpful vote
I've included screenshots of our email exchange, and one of their cached website - BEFORE THEY PULLED IT DOWN AND DELETED THE GUARANTEE AFTER I COMPLAINED. Unreal. So here's the story. The website "used to" guarantee 7,000 vertical feet guaranteed for their cat skiing day. We had a very challenged cat group, with one person double heel ejecting on his first turn, and continued slow pace and falls throughout the day. Granted, this was a possibility when you can't fill the 12 person cat with your own friends / group all at the same high level. As a result, we were very slow, and people were tired. So the guides shut down the day a bit early, BEFORE WE SKIED 7,000 vertical feet. They asked us if we wanted to ski down the cat road instead of riding in the cat. I recall 7 people rode the cat and and 5 skied the road, which amounted to about 1,200 vertical feet or so. CLEARLY, SKIING ON A CAT ROAD IS NOT WHAT WE PAID FOR. That being said, we still had an "ok" day, given the non-high end cat cabin and basic lunch sandwiches. Its what happened when I contacted them asking for a credit or refund based on not hitting the guarantee. After working in the ski industry for nearly 20 years, and being a lawyer, what happened next was shocking. I've attached screenshots of the email exchange, and captioned them. Essentially, I explained that I tracked the day on an app, and we didn't ski 7,000' vertical feet, except for the cat road ski out. They said "sorry you were disappointed, we can offer a 5% credit on your next trip." 5% = $30 CAD on a $600 day. Really? So I asked again, complained, and after asking what the status was almost 2 weeks later, they responded again - without even the courage so leave their name - and still said 5%. Here's the kicker: THEY ADMITTED TO ALTERING THEIR WEBSITE TO DELETE THE GUARANTEE. So, they have a guarantee, someone calls them on it, they offer a paltry 5% discount, then realizing they are now exposed, pull the guarantee. Un-friggin' believable. While I'm sure SOME people have a good experience, this after-the-fact complete lack of a semblance of customer service, and, in my opinion, breach of contract, is appalling, and I CANNOT RECOMMEND this operation.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gordon C, Manager at Powder Mountain Cat and Heli Skiing
Responded Mar. 4, 2020
Hi Eric, I'm glad you had such a great day according to your previous emails. I'm also glad the food was good and that our guides kept you safe in the backcountry. Yes we made a clerical error on the website which you pointed out and we fixed, thank you for that. Thank you for taking the time to write this in depth review and we will take it into consideration for the future. Have a great day.
Read more
AlexandraShadow wrote a review Feb. 2020
Whistler, Canada1 contribution
What a great day at Powder Mountain Catskiing and Heliskiing. Thank to the two stars of the day: our guides Mack and Phil, a great lunch prepared by Riverside Café and the best cat driver ever. What a great day and just 20 minutes from Whistler.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Amanda D wrote a review Feb. 2020
Vancouver, Canada45 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
Absolutely amazing. Our guides, Don & Rory were outstanding. And our cat driver Ace was stellar. We had an incredibly memorable day on the mountain. The views are spectacular, the snow is beautiful. I highly recommend it!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Whistler
from US$228.12
More Info
from US$119.78
More Info
from US$139.29
More Info