Dee Jay Charters Boat Tours

Dee Jay Charters Boat Tours

Dee Jay Charters Boat Tours
4.5
Boat Tours
Read more
This location was reported permanently closed
About
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Dee Jay Charters Boat Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor
Want other options you can book now?
Show options
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.5
97 reviews
Excellent
87
Very good
4
Average
0
Poor
2
Terrible
4

Rebecca M
2 contributions
Jul. 2018 • Solo
I booked online and received a confirmation. I waited with two other groups who had booked separately and no one ever came. Ended up going with the company next door (Iceberg Quest) which has taken them over, but it cost more and it was not much of a "tour", so a bit disappointing. Never heard from Dee Jay's except an automated e-mail asking for a review, so here it is: don't book with them right now. Since the takeover they seem to be completely unreliable.
Written August 5, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Joanie T
Ajax, Ontario, Canada117 contributions
Aug. 2018 • Friends
I am writing to let everyone know that I booked a tour with DJ tours I even booked early even emailed Jason who I met the last time I was down I was told book the date did so aug 6th this was going to be such a great day as it's my birthday ! I'm so upset as I was told they are no longer doing tour handed me off to another tour group I'm sure they are very good but man up and say that they are no longer doing tours would not recommend them to anymore sorry booked with a better tour group such a sad day
Written August 1, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

deanomc
Regina, Canada30 contributions
Jul. 2018 • Friends
Had a great time on the charter tour. The captain and the crew were awesome. The water was a bit rough but the captain did a great job keeping us closer to shore. Unfortunately weren't able to find any whales this time but still had a great time and learned some of the history of the place. Highly recommend.
Written July 21, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

amaclark
Calgary, Canada5 contributions
Jun. 2018 • Family
They were kind enough to let us reschedule at the last minute due to poor weather. The guides were very informed and helpful with any questions we had. It wasn't a guarantee that we would see any whales but we did, along with some bald eagles and a minke.
Written June 30, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

leftySeattle
Seattle65 contributions
Sep. 2017 • Couples
Dee Jay Charters cancelled our tour because of poor weather and because it was so late in the season. We really wanted to go out so we went with another tour and Dee Jay Charters was absolutely right -- it was not worth going out. I really thank them for their honesty and for cancelling rather than taking our money and wasting our time. Thank you! Wish we would've gone with your recommendation.
Written September 26, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

sherri19791979
Salmon Cove, Canada1 contribution
Aug. 2017
Spoke with a employee Jason and he persuaded me to book a trip even though the whales are very scarce this time of year . So drove over an hour with my family to go on this trip as the kids were very excited to go. Arrive at the boat and no one showed up and I never received a call for the cancellation very poor management. So to say the least do not recommend!!!!!
Written September 9, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hey Sherri, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Dee Jay Charters. We are very Sorry that your tour did not depart, Unfortunately insufficient interest is what we are up against during our slow season. That being said we always make contact with all of our reserved guest by the means they provided, and inform them of the cancellation. Often giving them ample time to reserve with another provider or make alternate arrangements for another date or time with us. I would like to know the details Name, Date and Time of your reservation so I can look into this matter further. Once again we are very sorry that you did not receive notice of your cancellation. If you have another chance to join us we would love the opportunity to showcase what Newfoundland and Dee Jay Charters has to offer. We apologize that DJC did not live up to your expectations. Jason Dee Jays info@deejaycharters.ca
Written September 10, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Freedom92277
Harrow, UK11 contributions
Aug. 2017 • Family
Had a fantastic time in the morning and we're lucky to see a Whale this late in the season. A friendly and small family boat made it more enjoyable.
Written August 23, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Rob M
2 contributions
Aug. 2017 • Couples
Just a fantastic experience. Jason was an exceptional tour guide. The whales cooperated and put on a half hour plus display up close and personal. Highly recommend Dee Jay Tours.
Written August 13, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

ElaineCD
Ottawa, Canada9 contributions
Aug. 2017 • Friends
What a great 2.5 hour boat tour! There were 12 in our group, and we all thoroughly enjoyed our very informative and friendly tour guide. We were mesmerized by the whales all around us, and thought it was a special treat to go into the Gut and see Cape Spear from the ocean. We went out a 10 am in the morning, which saved us the tax, plus because we were a group of more than 10, there was also another discount. I organized the trip to Newfoundland for our friends, who all thought this boat trip was very special indeed. It was a great way to start our stay in St. John's!
Written August 9, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Gumby P
Beaverton, Canada281 contributions
Aug. 2017 • Family
Had a "whale of a time" on the boat with Jason, Amy and the Captain. It was a bit of a pitchy day outside of the harbour; but the sun was shining and then, there were the whales. Jason does a great job of narrating and keeping out a keen eye for sightings. We were able to see a fin whale and a humpback. I even saw a puffin swimming, which is such a cute sight! On our return to St. John's Harbour, the four of us got "screeched in" (albeit one of us had Purity Strawberry Syrup instead of real Newfie Screech). Fantastic time!
Written August 7, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 95

DEE JAY CHARTERS BOAT TOURS (St. John's) - 2022 What to Know BEFORE You Go