We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

My Backyard Tours - Day Tours
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
57
All photos (57)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent94%
  • Very good6%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“city tour”(30 reviews)
“winter clothing”(13 reviews)
“bannock”(11 reviews)
About
See Yellowknife through the eyes of people who came for two years and stayed a lifetime. Enjoy learning about Yellowknife's history, meet local artisans or hike to Cameron Waterfalls. Want to experience more of the Northwest Territories? Our fly-out...more
Contact
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2N4, Canada
Website
+1 867-920-4654
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
116
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
116
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city tour winter clothing bannock cameron falls northern lights tour hot chocolate aurora viewing ice falls cookies heavy duty email communication canadian winter cabin owner frozen lake small group visited yellowknife camera settings
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 123 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2018

The Aurora tour offer by My Backyard Tours is just like its name: spending time with your friends and family in your owned cozy cabin while enjoying the delicious homemade food. Yes, they have their owned cabin! I will never forget the night I spent...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank gina_hung2000
Margaret P, Owner at My Backyard Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

We're delighted to know you had such a great time! Looking forward to seeing you in Yellowknife again soon!

Reviewed October 15, 2018

The reason why we chose My Backyard Tours was because the good reviews, it is a small group and we only have phones which do not take good Aurora pictures. We contacted with Margaret to make sure we will have some aurora pictures before we...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank ponponca
Margaret P, Owner at My Backyard Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thanks for the kind review! We're so delighted you had such a wonderful evening. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Me and my family for the first time visited Canada Yellowknife in September 2018 solely for the aurora. We stay in Yellowknife for 4 nights hoping to see aurora at least for one night. After months and months of research we decided to join Backyard...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank williamlG6453BF
Margaret P, Owner at My Backyard Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Thank you for the kind review. We are happy you had a great time and the aurora were spectacular. Hope to see you again!

Reviewed September 24, 2018

We started our day with an historic tour of Yellowknife. Laurie picked us up at our hotel and drove us all around town providing tons of local information, both historic and current. The 3 hour tour was broken up by a stroll along a boardwalk...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Colleen C
Margaret P, Owner at My Backyard Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Happy to know you enjoyed our tours! Thank you for the review.

Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

My Backyard Tours is the best. For us it was like having a group of the most interesting, engaging and knowledgeable Yellowknife experts all be our friends for the week. We did three tours with Margaret and Amanda’s company - the city tour, Cameron Falls...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Richard D
Margaret P, Owner at My Backyard Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

WOW! Thank you so much for the wonderful accolades. We're delighted you had such a great experience. Looking forward to seeing you again back up North!

Reviewed September 9, 2018

Amanda and Margaret have put together a group of unbelievable locals to conduct their tours. Some are retired. Some work other jobs. But everyone of them is knowledgeable, engaged, and will give you an amazing trip. We spent over two days touring the old town,...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Angeles
Margaret P, Owner at My Backyard Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Thanks so much for your review! Hope to see you up North again soon!

Reviewed June 28, 2018

We were in Yellowknife earlier this month and took a 2.5 hour tour with this company. Our guide Laurie was great; she is a true local citizen (born and bred!) and provided us with very interesting and in-depth details on the city and surrounding area....More

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Jennifer G
Reviewed April 16, 2018

We were on their last viewing of the season and it was a very cold (for us) night but with the friendly atmosphere and cozy cottage we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Bill picked us up at our hotel bang on time, drove the half hour...More

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank ayranywhere
yellowknifemargaret, Owner at My Backyard Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2018

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you and having you join us on our tour. M.

Reviewed April 6, 2018

The small and cozy setting created a good experience for my visit. The privacy to view the aurora is much better than sitting in a car only. The cabin was warm and all the snacks/beverages were delicious. It was extremely cold this visit but able...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank susanapsco
Reviewed April 3, 2018

This is THE Aurora Borealis viewing experience in Yellowknife. We got picked up at our hotel, and were taken to a cabin on a lake along the Ingraham trail, about 40 minutes drive outside of Yellowknife, away from the light pollution. Welcomed (on a cold...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank LeftymartinMiles
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sherryshi2018
July 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Margaret P | Property representative |
Hi Sherry, I believe we've been in touch and YOU'RE booked on one our of our AWESOME tours. Sorry for the delay, we very much appreciate your inquiry and will make a point to check in with Trip Advisor more often. See you... More
0
Votes
pkong13141
June 18, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Margaret P | Property representative |
Hello, thank you for your interest. Our website address is under the name of My Backyard Tours. Search My Backyard Tours on the internet you will find us. Trip Adviser does not allow for us to post our website address... More
0
Votes