Perplexcity

Perplexcity, Barrie: Hours, Address, Perplexcity Reviews: 3/5

Escape Games • Game & Entertainment Centres
Wednesday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
1:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Sunday
1:00 PM - 9:00 PM
About
New business as of January 2019 New owners, newly renovated Come in and see for yourself! New escape rooms coming soon!
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

3.0
42 reviews
Excellent
14
Very good
5
Average
6
Poor
10
Terrible
7

Strawbyn
Toronto, Canada6 contributions
Wow
Nov. 2019 • Friends
I have always wanted to check this facility out and do something different with friends and family over the holidays. However, reading the reviews I found a reply from the owner of Perplexcity and I don't think they responded in a very mature business manner. It totally threw me off and for that reason alone, I won't be bothering to purchasing gift certificates for my "small ( minded)" group this Christmas. 🤦🏻‍♀️

Written November 4, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Laxmom08
44 contributions
Wouldn’t spend the money again
Jul. 2019 • Friends
The first impression when you walk in is not great at all. We went for an escape room which we have done before at other places. The room we booked was ok, there was no introduction about how to use the different kinds of locks or what the rules were. We were sent into the room with the walker talkie to use for hints but since the “gamemaster” is not watching your progress or listening to you they cannot provide helpful hints. The room seemed more like a store bought escape room game set up with minimal creative thought. Some of the puzzles were good and the theme was cool. Unfortunately the room is not sound proofed at all and the whole time we were in the room you could hear the noises from the video game machines and ping pong table just outside the room. This didn’t make it seem very immersive and since one of the clues was sound based it was also hard to hear.
Written June 30, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JDC_5757
Toronto, Canada3 contributions
Substandard
Feb. 2019 • Family
Went as a family to try one of the escape rooms...3 adults and two children.

Walking in, our first impression wasn’t great. The place was dead. Staff seemed friendly. Washrooms were smelly and disgusting. Overall, things seemed quite disorganized.

The escape room was terrible. Very disjointed and poorly explained. Two-way radios were provided to ask for clues, but nobody responded. No staff were watching the room to be able to give helpful hints anyway. We actually had to leave the room to ask for a hint at one point.

Overall, it was a waste of money and time, and provide a terrible first escape room experience for some of us.
Written March 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DrSLA
Toronto, Canada37 contributions
We won't be back!
May 2018
We won’t be back, for several reasons, some more important than others. 1) We gave gift certificates to another couple and it was embarrassing to us (the givers) and to the recipients that the tax wasn’t included in the cost of the gift certificate. No recipient should have to pay the tax on something that was a gift! 2) The gift recipient phoned and emailed in order to make reservations for four of us. The multiple phone calls and emails went unanswered. Although she ultimately made the reservations online, she was reluctant to do so as the website did not indicate that it was “secure” but, due to the unreturned phone calls and emails, she had no choice but to reserve online. 3) When we arrived, not only were we not made “welcome”, we were virtually ignored. Indeed, another customer asked us if there were any staff to be found. 4) When we were “introduced” to the escape process, it was not made clear how the phone/walkie-talkie was to be used to acquire any hints. 5) When someone did appear to offer a couple of hints, she wasted part of our valuable 60 minutes by being a little too chatty instead of simply giving us the hints in a polite, straightforward manner. 6) We did not succeed in discovering the solution (which is fine). What was most unsatisfactory, however, was that the staff refused to reveal what we had missed and the ultimate solution to the puzzle. Their only response was that we would have to come back and try again – presumably the same room. No way! IF we were to come back, we would want to try a different escape room. It was this lack of “closure” about the solution to the Escape Room that is the most important reason for this negative review and is the main reason (among many) that we will not return to this particular venue!
Written May 21, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

stefaniei18
Toronto, Canada47 contributions
Okay escape room, the staff was nice.
Mar. 2018 • Friends
The escape room was good, we just had a few problems where we would solve the clues, but the locks weren't working properly. Even after we called in the game master, it took her a few minutes to get the lock open with the correct code (that we had as well). The walkie talkies you get in the room weren't always working, we tried calling for about two minutes at one point and I don't know if the game master was too far away or the walkies just weren't working, but we lost time. We felt like we should have gotten a few more minutes because of these issues, but we did not.
Written March 4, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kris M
Toronto, Canada5 contributions
Don't Waste Your Time or Money
Dec. 2017
What a complete disaster of an evening - was attending a function for a celebration and was charged $35.00 per person for food. The food was substandard, cold, tasteless and the meat was inedible. There was no dessert, coffee, or tea included. The bar was staffed with under aged, under trained people who were unable to fill drink orders in a timely fashion or correctly. Dinner dishes and empty drink glasses were left on the tables to pile up and when staff was asked to remove them, we were informed they were too busy. If you are interested in dancing, be prepared for outdated 80's tunes and a DJ that will not take requests. Don't waste your time or money.
Written December 7, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tadeene M, Owner at Perplexcity Escape Rooms, responded to this review Please be advised that the person who organized your event from your small (minded) networking group included a surcharge on that $35. Dessert was not included as your organizer said you wouldn't pay more for it. For those of you (quite a few) who were respectful and pleasant I apologize as for grouping you in this reply.) So due to the fact that perhaps you couldn't afford to pay more, I allowed Karen to bring in her own cake which she made available. Your group is upset because your organizer did not give you the proper time for dinner. (The dinner was booked for 7 p.m., which I have documented in an email). Our staff are not underage and ALL servers have their SMART SERVE so please be careful with the rumours you spread. Your group couldn't wait to get served at the table and bombarded the bar making it next to impossible to serve the tables. As for dishes, first your group complained that we weren't giving enough time to get food and within seconds complained that dishes weren't removed. The DJ took requests and the other group there actually stayed longer because they were enjoying the music. Rose is well known throughout the community for her catering and your organizer was excited to have her. The group on the other side of the restaurant who know how to have a good time even wrote a thank you letter praising Perplexcity and their event. Perhaps it is the arrogance of your small business group that is the problem. Karen advised that I should basically cater to your small business group or you will take me down - go ahead! Please don't ever come back unless you want to act like respectful human beings. Finally, your organizer is being sued by me. She has not paid her bill for the food you ate. She told me she had given you your money back. We value customers that come into our establishment who will respect our staff as we will respect them.
Written December 9, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DWtheplanner
Burlington, Ontario35 contributions
Challenging but staff uninvolved.
Oct. 2017 • Friends
Our family attended in October to celebrate an adult birthday. We booked 2 rooms, I will only review the one that I entered. We arrived 10 minutes early to get set, but Perplexcity was running 20 minutes behind, so we sat and waited. There was a video screen set up, but no movie running on it and no offer to put something on while we waited. We figure it out and killed time. We were eventually summoned to our room, and were given an insincere briefing by our 'guide'. We went into the room and it had the standard locks etc, which would have been fine. Unfortunately, one of the clues involved using a door knocker that was located on the wall. We found the code and entered it, using the knocker. Nothing happened. After repeating it a few times we figured that we had the clue wrong and went to work looking for a different code. We periodically re-entered the original code, but still no luck. Finally, our time ran out. We asked about the knocker and the code and when our guide asked, told him the code that we thought it was and that we had entered repeatedly. He looked embarrassed and said it was the right code, they must not have heard us. We explained that we had lost a lot of time on this and he said that he could give us back 5 minutes, but that was all. So this sort of ruined the whole experience and frankly, the guide not only ignored us while we were in the room knocking correctly, but he also didn't care afterward. We won't be returning and won't recommend this place to anyone else. They just don't care about your experience.
Written November 7, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. The video you speak of was there only for the Hallowe'en weekend and was only played when requested. It is not part of our regular business. It is unfortunate that our gamemaster did not hear the knocking. We have addressed this issue. I can assure you that staff do care about your experience and actually brought it to management's attention so that the issue could be addressed.
Written November 9, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

beetontraveler
Beeton, Ontario1 contribution
Terrible customer service - never go to this place
Oct. 2017 • Friends
We had an appointment to go to Perplexcity on Saturday night, on Saturday morning, my brother was in a motorcycle accident and broke his neck and back. Perplexcity asked us to prove that we were at the Hospital before they would allow us to reschedule! When we called back to try and discuss, the owner just talked over me and told me that they would see us at our booked time or not at all! What a horrible business!
Written October 16, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lex1982
Canada28 contributions
Good day out
Sep. 2017 • Family
Me and a friend and our 5 children came for the day. The rooms were not as I expected but was neat. Kids had fun. After they played games while we sat and had a drink. It is great for a rainy or cold day/night. Lots to do after the rooms are complete
Written September 5, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for the review. Sounds like your family had a good time. I'm sure you can appreciate that reviews are important to us as we strive to make our customers experience a great one! If you would like to discuss your experience further and advise on what you feel would have made your experience better, please email info@perplexcity.ca. We would love to hear more.
Written September 7, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vancy
Orillia, Canada21 contributions
Service just okay. Game fun but quite challenging!
May 2017 • Friends
I'm curious about the success rate of the escape rooms. Our group found the rooms quite challenging, but it was a fun afternoon!
Side note: have you seen the replies the manager has been sending to these reviews? So defensive and pretty unprofessional. He/she puts the blame on the customers for their bad experiences. If I were the owner I would want someone else to be the face of my company.
Written September 4, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for the review. We do not post nor track success rates for the following reason: The groups doing the escape rooms are not always equal. Some may have more people than others and some may have more experience than others. We can assure you that our rooms were professionally designed to create fun and mental challenge. Our philosophy at Perplexcity is that if you had fun and you communicated with your teammates, then you have succeeded.
Written September 8, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 42
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing