We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dundurn Castle

610 York Boulevard, Hamilton, Ontario L8R 3H1, Canada
+1 905-546-2872
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Not quite a castle

Despite the word "castle" in the name, this is probably more accurately described as a mansion or... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
KerryandTim
,
Austin, Texas
Nice Day Trip

Our family had a great trip here. Our youngest daughter is in a wheelchair so could only visit the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
dianebK3935KB
Read all 584 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Experience a guided tour of this 40-room Italianate-style villa built in the 1830's on Burlington Heights; the former site of a fortified military encampment established by the British in 1813.
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good29%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the kitchen” (84 reviews)
“military museum” (62 reviews)
“guided tour” (37 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 12:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
LOCATION
610 York Boulevard, Hamilton, Ontario L8R 3H1, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 905-546-2872
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the kitchen"
in 84 reviews
"military museum"
in 62 reviews
"guided tour"
in 37 reviews
"nineteenth century"
in 7 reviews
"casa loma"
in 7 reviews
"grounds are lovely"
in 6 reviews
"cookies"
in 20 reviews
"christmas season"
in 7 reviews
"great tour"
in 20 reviews
"decorated for christmas"
in 6 reviews
"dressed in period clothing"
in 7 reviews
"upper canada"
in 6 reviews
"gift shop"
in 25 reviews
"running water"
in 7 reviews
"canadian history"
in 22 reviews
"back in the day"
in 7 reviews
"learn something"
in 8 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Despite the word "castle" in the name, this is probably more accurately described as a mansion or home. To me, it had the feel of a plantation home from the southern U.S. It was large and rambling and had many nice, refined elements, but it...More

1  Thank KerryandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family had a great trip here. Our youngest daughter is in a wheelchair so could only visit the main floor of the mansion. The tour guides were great. They took our daughter on a different tour while we continued up stairs onto the rest...More

2  Thank dianebK3935KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dundurn Castle is an interesting and educational destination. This time of year, the garden is so worth the trip. So interesting to see how the family prepared for winter months. What a gem!!

1  Thank tomhammer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are always in Hamilton but never thought of visiting this site. Our family decided to bring two teen nieces who were visiting Canada. We enjoyed the tour very much! Staff was courteous and the tour guide politely answered questions. Tour caters to all ages!...More

2  Thank Margarita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great place for kids and adults. Our son had a school trip to Dundarn castle and he couldnt stop talking about it so we decided to take him and our youngest again, and we all loved it. The castle as well as...More

Thank Nanap777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When in Hamilton you must see this historical 40 room mansion which has been called a castle. At one point in history it was considered the largest castle in Canada. The hours are 12-4 and $11.50 for adults and includes the military museum on the...More

2  Thank sheila270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Horrible staff - act they're doing you a favor by allowing you into their PUBLIC museum and grounds.More

Thank larrykaulback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancaHicks, Curatorial Program Assistant at Dundurn Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're sorry that you had a horrible experience and that we didn't meet your expectations during your visit. We would appreciate it if you could contact us directly as your feedback is important to us, as all comments help us provide better service. We can...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place is awesome! You can only visit by joining the guided tour, and it is an excellent experience! The house is well maintained, the tour has plenty of good information about the place, objects, owners and people who lived there. With the guided tour...More

1  Thank JulioXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancaHicks, Curatorial Program Assistant at Dundurn Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! We also have a 2 acre Kitchen Garden, located on the east side of Dundurn Park. The garden is open, Tuesday to Sunday from 12pm to 4pm and is free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve been about a dozen times over the years and this was by far the best. Our Interpreter Adam was amazing. He shared stories we’d never heard, showed hidden gems and was very knowledgeable. He knew his history and kept the visit light and airy...More

1  Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancaHicks, Curatorial Program Assistant at Dundurn Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! Our tours are not scripted so it is possible on every tour of Dundurn, you'll get something unique.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very interesting story behind dundurn castle. The dress up in the clothes back in time and is a beautiful home. Usually let you taste some desserts as well. have been numerous times and loved them all :)

1  Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancaHicks, Curatorial Program Assistant at Dundurn Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Hamilton
Admiral Inn Hamilton
236 reviews
.07 km away
Visitors Inn
246 reviews
1.27 km away
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
291 reviews
1.30 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
768 reviews
1.42 km away
Nearby Restaurants
My Little Asia
43 reviews
.82 km away
La Luna
173 reviews
1.07 km away
The Powerhouse
125 reviews
.17 km away
Rolly Rockets BBQ
57 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bayfront Park
233 reviews
1.20 km away
Art Gallery of Hamilton
132 reviews
1.54 km away
Pier 4 Park
103 reviews
1.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
blurryeyedplanner46
July 10, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from FrancaHicks | Property representative |
Hello, The 2 acres Kitchen Garden is open Tuesday to Sunday from 12pm to 4pm until the end of September. The only day it is closed is Mondays. The site offers free garden tours on Saturdays and Sundays at 1230pm and 2pm... More
1
Vote
lindalmccutcheon
June 14, 2018|
Answer
Response from FrancaHicks | Property representative |
$11.50 per adult, $9.50 per senior and student, $6.00 per child. Children 6 and under are free.
0
Votes
Jachro
March 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Thomas M | Reviewed this property |
Only toured the Castle (The military museum is very close - not far at all - but was closing). At the castle there was a set time to meet with the docent. There was only 5 of us in our tour (in winter) it started around... More
1
Vote
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor