We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor: This business is temporarily closed until 2022-05-21
About Ahoy Rentals
Waterfront location providing rentals for Canoeing, Kayaking, Stand Up Paddleboarding, sailing and cycling rentals. All safety equipment provided. Sailing and paddling instruction available for beginners. We also have an experienced captain who can takes groups of up to 5 out on a 26' Sailboat for an afternoon sail or a sunset sail.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
See all hours
Travellers talk about

Ahoy Rentals
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
69Reviews3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
  • 4
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lovemylife2016 wrote a review Aug. 2021
Kingston, Canada51 contributions31 helpful votes
My husband and I booked the Sail and Picnic to celebrate our anniversary. It was a perfect three hours. We stopped at Cedar Island for our picnic. The food was delicious. The charter was easy to book and Andrew was pleasant to deal with. We definitely will do this again!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Wes wrote a review Jul. 2021
Halifax, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
They were super nice and so easy to speak with. They made sure we knew where we were going and that the bike I rented was comfortable. The booking process was also really easy. The bike worked well and I enjoyed it. They were really knowledgeable and helpful with our own bike.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Tindur L wrote a review Jul. 2021
1 contribution4 helpful votes
We had a reservation for two kayaks for 5 p.m. and arrived at 4:45. We were told that no boats were available at that time and that we had to wait for boats, which we did. At 10 past 5 we were informed that there were still no boats available, and since they closed at 6 we would not get the full hour we were supposed to pay for. We ended up leaving at 15 past 5 as we wanted the full hour we booked. The staff was unhelpful and were not prepared to make any compensations. The schedule is very flawed and booking backed up severly which made everyone with a booking wait. Will not be going there any time soon.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew K, Customer Service Rep. at Ahoy Rentals
Responded Jul. 7, 2021
Hi there, I was working that evening and am sorry you had this experience. Unfortunately 8 boats that were supposed to return at 5pm did not arrive on time. I did call both parties out on the water to ensure their safety but they had a hard time returning against the wind. I recognized your frustration and did try to accommodate your booking by offering a tandem kayak instead of two singles to ensure you both had the full hour on the water. You refused this recommendation and insisted on waiting for two single kayaks. We are sorry that the boats for your reservation did not arrive on time but honestly it was out of our control. Unfortunately we do close at 6pm on weekends so we could not extend your booking otherwise we would have. You indicated you did not feel you should pay for the full hour and I acknowledged and agreed. Hopefully this explanation allows you more closure with you experience ! :)
Read more
Zerolnj wrote a review Jul. 2021
Saskatoon, Canada1 contribution4 helpful votes
Avoid this place at all cost! I would give a minus 5 stars if I could. Had a near death experience with this business. We rented two kayaks on a sunny day, and when we were further away from the shore, the weather started to get stormy and we got stuck on the water. We tried the life whistle, but no help from the rental is coming. Luckily two gentlemen on a passing by sail boat saved our lives by dragging us back to the dock. When we were back to the dock soaking wet, instead of asking for our well-being and safety, the first thing the business owner said to us was “you’re not supposed to go into the lake”. He tried to blame us for not reading the very vaguely drafted safety instructions on the wall and not “asking the staff the right questions”. We had mentioned to the staff earlier when renting the boats that we are novice in kayaking and we are new to this area. Yet the only “instruction” we had ever gotten was “if you get used to the paddling, you can go wherever you want”. At the end he even tried to grab my credit card so he can get his payment. I can see how this man is trying to save operational cost by using undertrained staff, cutting off contingency safety measures, and placing every blame on his customers. Very unethical and unprofessional. I don’t know how this business is still running with such a irresponsible owner running the business.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew K, Owner at Ahoy Rentals
Responded Jul. 7, 2021
This was not a near death experience, customer was wearing a lifejacket and the kayak did not overturn. The customer did not follow the safety instructions given to them. The staff identified the customers as inexperienced and told them to stay in front of the building. Yes, I said you were not supposed to go out that far as this was against the advice given to them. I have been in business for 24 years and understand the value of safety and we ensure all customers are told the safety issues for that day. It is unfortunate that this customer had an unpleasant experience,, but they need to be responsible for not listening to staff. The comment that I tried to grab the customers credit card is false. When the customer was being reluctant to pay the agreed rental fee I placed the device closer to him to indicate that payment was required.
Read more
Xiaojin Z wrote a review Jul. 2021
2 contributions6 helpful votes
Do not go! 1. Charge your 15 mins ahead before you go Kayak 2. NO RESCUE BOAT 3. No staff providing safety instructions even when asked 4. Renting out the Kayak if though they know there is storm is coming very soon. 5. AS BOSS not respecting the customers. Blaming and yelling to the costumers and not willing to take any responsibility. We as travellers coming to Kingston for fun. Renting two Kayaks, after about 1 hour, the thunderstorm come in. We tried to blow the whistle, but there is no rescue coming. The wind blowed is to the centre of the lake and we could not get back because of the wind and waves. We were saved by two gentlemen on a passing by sail boat. And when we’ve back to the dock, the business owner started to yelling and blaming us, while trying to avoid any responsibility on his end. We went on the Kayak at about 2 hours pm. There is pic on 3:39. AS THE ONWER ONLT CARE about Money! Value your life and stay away from this place. Thank you!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew K, Owner at Ahoy Rentals
Responded Jul. 7, 2021
The comments from this customer are false. 1. The customer made the booking and arrived 15 minutes late, this is not our fault that they did not arrive at the time they made the booking. 2. We own a rescue boat and is used when we see customers in trouble. 3. We asked this customer of their paddling experience and when they indicated that they had limited experience, we advised them to stay close to shore and also asked them to read the safety instructions listed on the building. 4. We knew there was a storm coming within the hour, so we told them to stay close within earshot, so we could call them back. The whistle was not heard because the customer did not follow the directions and were 4 kms away and downwind. Hard to keep customers safe when they do not follow the expert advice of the staff.
Read more
Previous
123456