We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holtz Spa

Neighbourhood: Byward Market Area
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 135 Rideau St | 2nd Floor, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5W8, Canada
Phone Number:
+1 613-241-7770
Website
Today
09:00 - 20:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Fri 09:00 - 20:00
Sat - Tue 09:00 - 18:00
Description:

Holtz Spa is Ottawa's largest full service day spa and offers a welcomed...

Holtz Spa is Ottawa's largest full service day spa and offers a welcomed respite from Ottawa's busy downtown. Just steps away from Parliament Hill and all the major attractions, you will find an oasis of calm, where highly trained professionals offer a wide range of holistic treatments to balance, relax and rejuvenate. Massage Therapy and Bodywork, Advanced Skincare, Esthetics, a full service Hair Salon and on-site gourmet food services, create the perfect spa getaway destination for just one service or an entire day. Ask about our Couples Hotel & Spa Packages when planning your next visit to Ottawa.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 142 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 76
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 24
    Terrible
First experience and last at Holtz Spa after being burnt with hot pad and received no apology after I sent e-mail

My friend thought she would treat the two of us to a nice afternoon at Holtz Spa on Rideau. We both looked forward to a nice relaxing/pampered afternoon, which we did have... read more

3 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
Cinder65
,
Ottawa, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've been going to Holtz for many years for massage treatments. The staff have always been super friendly and attentive. One therapist in particular, Christine, has been amazing for getting all the kinks and pain out. If you have any kind of sports or medical injury, I would definitely recommend her. I always feel like a million bucks afterwards. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank JamesPritzy
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend thought she would treat the two of us to a nice afternoon at Holtz Spa on Rideau. We both looked forward to a nice relaxing/pampered afternoon, which we did have. After my massage I felt some discomfort on my back around my right shoulder blade and thought it was possibly from the heating pad used during my 30... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cinder65
Christine O, Owner at Holtz Spa, responded to this review

I apologize for the discomfort you experience and the inconvenience after your last visit to the Spa. I am following up with staff who both treated you on the day of your visit and those who attended to you. Today is the first day that your e-mail was brought to my attention and I asked about the first one, which... More 

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let me warn you firstly that tips are "cash only" something you only find out when you go to pay. Of course they have a handy ABM machine right there that charges a hefty premium that I'm sure goes right to the owner's pocket. The woman taking payment was unapologetic and cold when I suggested they should inform people before... More 

Helpful?
Thank mkjoss
Christine O, Owner at Holtz Spa, responded to this review

I apologize for the inconvenience you experience on your last visit with us. We have recently moved to our new location at 135 Rideau, which is one block east of our old location still on the North side of the street across from Rideau Centre. I appreciate your comment regarding advising clients of the "cash only" policy for gratuities and... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm not sure why this place is rated second best spa in Ottawa. It most definitely is not. It's attached to a hair salon and feels more like an after thought than a relaxing experience. It was difficult to locate in the first place (temporary signage may be the reason for that) and when we got there we were sadly... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelinMums
Christine O, Owner at Holtz Spa, responded to this review

I apologize that you were unhappy with your experience at Holtz Spa. Yes we have moved as a result of the sinkhole on Rideau Street. We have received very positive feedback from our clients who love the new spa, very comfortable and more modern. For all clients receiving two or more services Robes should be automatically offered. Robes are always... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2016

The Holtz supreme day at the Spa is an incredibly relaxing and beneficial experience! My facial was one of my favorites, so relaxing and my skin looks much more radiant and hydrated. All the services were beautifully done with thoughtful intellect experts. I also had a separate hair appointment the same week with Grace, referred to me by staff. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2016

I hadn't been to Holtz Spa since the spring and so when I went on the 4th November I was pleasantly surprised by the new location. They have moved to new digs on Rideau Street as of August 2016. Nice and easy to get to and the massage rooms and pedicure areas are much improved from the old location. everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank PDWilliams
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016

My second time at Holtz Spa for a massages. For the first time, I had a sport massage which was excellent for recovery after a half marathon few days earlier. This time I had an hour regular massage and got an half hour complimentary reflexology! Both are great! Staffs at the reception desk are all nice and friendly. I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank mamiko2016
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Agains't my better judgement I decided to return to Holtz Spa. Don't be fooled they aren't closed, just relocated. Doesn't really matter though since it's still a horrible place to go. Running from their Trip Advisor review history it seems since on here it says closed. Massage was actually ok however the environment is the loudest and most non relaxing... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Shane P
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016

I visited the Holtz Spa to enjoy a white chocolate truffle body wrap. What an amazing experience! My therapist, Buki, is skilled at her work and the treatment left my skin feeling better than ever before. I loved the experience of being wrapped cocoon-style and then lowered into the Amazing Hausler flotation bed. Hotlz Spa is a top-notch world class... More 

Helpful?
Thank dpendgracs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

Avoid this spa as they don't care to inform the clients about the changes in locations or hours of your appointments. I have booked an appointment for a facial treatment one month in advance and when I get there to have my treatment I realized that they moved away from the old location, but nobody informed me about the change.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sorina B
Christine O, Owner at Holtz Spa, responded to this review

My apologies over the confusion caused by our re-location on Rideau Street. Unfortunately, the sinkhole on Rideau Street June, 2016 created a situation where we were evacuated for almost a month and subsequently necessitated a move. We have made every effort to contact our clients in advance of appointments. When we had tried the telephone numbers on file they were... More 

Travellers who viewed Holtz Spa also viewed

 

Been to Holtz Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holtz Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?