We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand River Rafting Company

Paris, Canada
More
About Grand River Rafting Company
Grand River Rafting offers 2-5 hour wilderness paddles near Toronto, Ontario. As you paddle, you can try fresh water springs, go swimming, view wildlife or picnic on an island. Choose from five routes with a selection of 9 different boats. Located about 60-90 minutes from London, Waterloo, Toronto and Niagara.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
See all hours
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travellers talk about

Grand River Rafting Company
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
286Reviews16Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 236
  • 34
  • 8
  • 4
  • 5
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Taher A wrote a review Today
1 contribution
A must-do if you're in the area. We decided to go with the kayaks and it was exactly as we hoped it would be. It felt like we were kayaking through the Amazon. Our instructor was very friendly & he explained everything in detail. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
Helpful
Share
969nicoleg wrote a review May 2022
Ancaster11 contributions3 helpful votes
I love that we can either rush through it or take our time - it is an activity for all ages and experience - so much fun!!!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2021
Helpful
Share
GRiih wrote a review Sep. 2021
St. Catharines, Canada39 contributions37 helpful votes
We found our experience Grand River Rafting very well organized and enjoyable. We were contacted the evening before our visit. The river was running very fast so we were offered the option of cancellation with a full refund, rebooking to an alternate date or the option of taking a Yak, which would be more stable than a tandem Kayak (which is the option we selected). Our drop off point was also changed to lengthen the distance of the trip because of the fast speed of the water. We appreciated this flexibility to optimize our safety and enjoyment of our trip. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip down the Grand River!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Eva R wrote a review Sep. 2021
1 contribution
Thank you so much for a great experience! Very accommodating and flexible as we arrived late due to car trouble. This is a wonderful way to spend a day outdoors. Suitable for many skill and fitness levels. My son, who has a developmental disability and limited physical stamina had a great time and was able independently navigate the river. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Mary Ann W wrote a review Sep. 2021
1 contribution
Unfortunately I didn’t get to go because I hurt my foot and I couldn’t go. I had already rescheduled previously, and I was told because I rescheduled I couldn’t get a refund, not even a 75% refund. It clearly states on the website, “If cancellation is given 48 hours in advance, there is a full deposit refund… If cancellation is given the day before, there is a 75% refund.” I canceled more than 48 hours away and I was told because I rescheduled previously I didn’t qualify for a refund or a partial refund but I qualify for a credit note for this season which ended in less than ten days…. Given the flexible COVID regulations that all the businesses have, this doesn’t make sense… they’re basically forcing you to go and spread Covid if you get it because if you had already rescheduled you won’t get any money back… just beware, the website doesn’t state this so watch out before you book.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from River_Guides, Owner at Grand River Rafting Company
Responded Sep. 10, 2021
I have to smile when the review states this… “ they’re basically forcing you to go and spread Covid if you get it because if you had already rescheduled you won’t get any money back” This is the perfect opportunity to share our policy about a person cancelling due to COVID concerns. We have this health policy in place so that... " the customer is not forced to come and spread Covid!!! " 1) If a “Covid Concerned Customer” cancels under 48 hours, they will not lose the 25% refund cancellation fee… but instead can choose another date, once they are proven Covid negative. 2) A “Covid Concerned Customer” can choose any date up until the end of the season for that given year… providing boats are available. 3) The “Covid Concerned Customer” can choose another type of boat. And if more costs, pay the difference, but if less costs… there is no refund of the price difference. 4) The “Covid Concerned Customer” cannot get a refund… only choose another date or default their payment if not used by the end of the season. Ironically, our staff applied our COVID health protocol to this customer… to help them, since their cancellation notice was under 48 hours. The person cancelled under the 48 hours window on Aug 22, 2021. Our office staff emailed the customer, giving them two choices 1) They could immediately cancel and lose the 25% deposit 2) Or… we could waive the 25% cancellation fee, allowing them to rebook anytime until Oct 11, but there would be no refund if not used up by the end of the season. A time window of 49 days. The customer was thankful and agreed to the new cancellation conditions with no refund, and re-booked Sept 11, 2021. Then on Sept 8, 2021… the same customer cancelled and wanted a refund. Our office shared with the customer the trail of emails… where this customer agreed to a new cancellation agreement, which circumvents the cancellation policy on our website. Our office told the customer that even though they could not get a refund, they could still rebook up until Oct 11, 2021… which is 30 days, not 10 days as the customer claims. The customer then demanded the refund with a 25% retainer loss, as stated on the website, ignoring the fact that they had consented to no-refund. The customer also threatened to give a negative review if they did not get their money. This is like the person playing euchre… who puts a card down… and then pick the card back up to play something better instead! You cannot do that.
Read more
Previous
123456