Hernder Estate Wines

Hernder Estate Wines, St. Catharines: Hours, Address, Hernder Estate Wines Reviews: 4/5

Hernder Estate Wines
4
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
A Wine Lovers Paradise, open 7 days a week year round. Since covid we don't offer tastings but we do have wine flights, glass and bottle service on our licensed patio overlooking the vineyard. Coming in the winter? Enjoy our Cellar Room complete couches with fireplaces. We don't have a restaurant but we do have homemade flatbreads (we will be adding homemade soup in the winter). Our retail store is stocked with award winning vqa white wine, red wine, late harvest, icewine and fruit wines. We can even ship to your door throughout Canda. Getting married? Hernder's offers two locations for ceremonies as well as two reception rooms in our 1867 Victorian Barn complete with pine, stone and fireplaces. We do offer an all inclusive wedding package and our packages with pricing is available on www.hernder.com under Niagara Winery Weddings. We can accommodate car shows, anniversaries, birthdays or just a family reunion, just give us a call or email and let us help you with any event.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Popular mentions

4.0
113 reviews
Excellent
64
Very good
30
Average
7
Poor
2
Terrible
10

BigGeorge62
Port Perry, Canada1,047 contributions
Aug. 2021 • Couples
Hernder Estates is a nice spot. With Covid they were a little under staffed. Many places are challenged by the pandemic in regards to staffing. The patio is great and the wines ok.
Written September 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ashly
Welland, Canada5 contributions
Sep. 2020
Please avoid this place for your events and tours. It is not Covid safe (hand sanitizer is scarce, no directionals on the floor, no signage so customers wander cluelessly through events, no paper towels in bathrooms) and the staff respond to customer questions and feedback with a rude attitude and an accusatory/defensive tone. Super unprofessional, very poor customer/client service skills. If they are "doing their best" during this pandemic, I can tell you it is not good enough and my group did not feel safe.
Written November 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Ashley, we do appreciate your feedback and sorry that you felt unsafe and didn't have a good experience. We have sanitizer at both doors, entering the winery and from the patio coming in. We have disinfectant wipes at the bathrooms to keep people safe but yes we don't have paper towels (country plumbing) but we have hand driers in working order. We have proper signage stickers on the floor of the store all the way around and have had this since the Spring. Not sure if you have our location confused with another location? We even spray the tables/chairs outside as well as the tasting boards. Almost all of our review are very positive in regards to our wonderful staff, safety protocol and wines so I would hope you would come again and see we are a great place for couples and small groups.
Written November 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dan R
Toronto, Canada1 contribution
Sep. 2020 • Solo
The people are extremely friendly with the service to match it. The flatbread tasted wonderful with of course, their excellent wines! I will be going back there soon for sure! :D
Written September 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much, so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience!!! Hope to see you again =)
Written September 29, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Alexandra S
Thorold, Canada2 contributions
Aug. 2020 • Friends
This is a wonderful place where you can relax and enjoy a view and nature from the best patio in Niagara region. It is only few minutes drive from major highway. I felt like at home the way they treat their guests.
Please note, there's no restaurant here only a wine store where you can order homemade flatbread or bring your own picnic basket and pair it with their wine.
Written August 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for the review, so happy you to hear you enjoyed your visit and our wine with the picturesque view of the vineyard. Hope to see you again...Cheers!
Written August 27, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

K R
St. Catharines, Canada17 contributions
Aug. 2020
We visited Hernder yesterday. Had a lovely time. Large spacious patio about 1/3 in shade. Very generous samples when ordering a flight. The peach flat bread was awesome. Prices of bottles very reasonable. Felt safe with COVID practices in place here. You can buy a bottle and pay $5 corkage. I saw some even brought their own snack because of limited menu.
Written August 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate your kind words and praise. Hope to see you again, Cheers!
Written August 25, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SMoh
Whitby, Canada9 contributions
Jan. 2020 • Friends
Visited this winery for the icewine discovery pass event. Waited over 10 minutes for service which never came. Tried to wave for service but the guy looked at me and just ignored me. Everyone seemed very disorganized, bumping into each other and knocking bottles over. Get your act together! Got fed up and left! Terrible service.
Written January 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for reviewing google and here with your same dissatisfaction. We appreciate feedback and again we are sorry that we were 10-12 minutes behind. We do look around so as it may of looked like we saw you and ignored you, we definitely didn't so I am sorry you felt that. All wineries experienced the same issue over the festival at one time or another as guests were telling us other places had a 20-30 wait. Its a festival, all the wineries do the best they can do, you unfortunately came at the worst possible time then judged us which is unfortunate. We welcome you to come when its not a festival and see what a great fun winery we really are, with amazing staff.
Written January 27, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Les W
Mississauga, Canada37 contributions
Dec. 2019
The grape and wine industry in Ontario, producing over 70% of total Canadian wine volume, now boasts over 180 wineries. My wife and I have begun a concerted effort to visit most of them.

Our recent travels, found us at Hernder Estate Wines, about 20 minutes south-west of St Catherines.

From the moment we entered the property through Niagara's "only covered bridge", until we left over 90 minutes later, the visit was truly a wine lovers treat. The first thing we noticed, was the welcoming "picture postcard" appeal of this "must see" destination. Next, the spacious retail wine shop and gift boutique, invited us into the renovated 1867 barn, complete with original post and beam construction. Our hosts, Ky and Dan, were simply "top notch", entertaining us with specifics about wine, as well as stories about the business, as they shared the history of this 27 year old family-run winery.

Now here comes the best part: Where most other wineries charge you anywhere from a $5 to a $20 tasting fee, at Hernder the tastings are FREE!!! That is correct... I said FREE!!! That being said, Hernder does ask you to make a donation (any amount you deem fit) to the Walker Cancer Centre in St Catherine's. After several tasty samples of Hernder wines, this was one donation we readily made.

Hernder wines are only available at the Hernder location. All wines are produced from 100% Ontario grown grapes, and all wines carry the VQA (Vintners Quality Alliance) status. The wine shop is open daily from 10:00 to 5:00 (phone 905-684-3300 to check holiday hours). Prices are very reasonable, ranging from $9 to $25 per bottle.

And remember... tasting are FREE!!!

P.S. Make sure to sample both the Rhubarb and Cranberry wines.
P.S.S. When the temperature is warmer, you are welcome to picnic on site.
Written December 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate the time you put into this. We are very passionate about our business as well as our staff so thank you for acknowledging "Dan the Man" and Ky. We believe in giving back so yes we do not charge for tasting but ask for a donation to the Walker Family Cancer Centre, together we can make a difference. Cheers!
Written January 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Noell B
Grimsby, Canada12 contributions
Nov. 2019
Beautiful spot and the wine is both yummy and affordable. A big thank you to Nate our wine sample provider on helping us make suggestions for ourselves and for Christmas gifts! We will be back soon!!
Written November 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review and acknowledging our employee Nate. We are passionate about our wine as do the staff. Hope to see you again, Cheers!
Written January 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

bigdoubled71
London, Canada3,092 contributions
Nov. 2019 • Couples
Hernder Estate Winery was a stop in the Wrapped up in the valley event recently in which they were pairing a beef sider on a brioche bun with creamy horseradish and their 2017 merlot. The beef slider was delicious and went very well with the wine. Hernder is a beautiful winery with a covered bridge.
Written November 24, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review and yes that beef on a brioche was delicious with our 2017 Merlot. Glad it was enjoyed, hope to have you back again for next years festival.
Written January 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Tania M
Toronto, Canada154 contributions
Jun. 2019 • Couples
A beautiful location for wedding venues on this 60 year old estate & winery. A covered bridge and rustic barn make for gorgeous country backdrops for photos. Wine tastings year round, known for their fruit and ice wine. Hernder Baco Noir is a favourite.
Written October 10, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The barn was actually built in 1867 so its 153 years old this year already! Thank you for the review and hope to see you again for some more Baco Noir.
Written January 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 109
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing