Parc de la Rivière-des-Mille-Îles

Parc de la Rivière-des-Mille-Îles, Laval: Hours, Address, Parc de la Rivière-des-Mille-Îles Reviews: 4/5

Parc de la Rivière-des-Mille-Îles

Parc de la Rivière-des-Mille-Îles
4
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
The Parc de la Rivière-des-Mille-Îles is the perfect place to enjoy the outdoors. This unique natural attraction is the most important preserved wildlife sanctuary in the Montreal region. What can be more exciting than observing animals in their natural habitat? Admire the flora of the park's many marshes, islands and banks, in a canoe, kayak, rabaska, pedal boat or row boat. Enjoy the scenery while hiking on the many trails of the park or take the Route bleue des voyageurs, a 155-kilometre navigable route divided into eight sections that runs from the Ottawa River region to Laval and end in the Lanaudière region.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

4.0
116 reviews
Excellent
52
Very good
51
Average
6
Poor
2
Terrible
5

teect
Montreal, Canada28 contributions
Fun family friendly and nearby
Jul. 2019
A lovely little low key local parc with basic services and grounds. opportunity to discover a river and small islands close to the urban area. Easy kayak and canoe rentals, learn to fish programs for youngsters. Beware, not much parking, but accessible by city bus. No lockers for personal stuff lock up.
Written March 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sonya L
Laval, Canada2 contributions
Paddle Board experience
Jul. 2019 • Friends
First time doing paddle board and totally loving it. I will surely return there to take some time, because the territory is quite big to see all of it.
Written July 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much! We are looking forward to your next visit :)
Written July 29, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

NorthfordBill
Northford, CT162 contributions
Average
Jul. 2019
Went on this pleasant 90 minute boat ride yesterday. I had read the reviews and we were really looking forward to it. It is an amazing stretch of river with small islands and beautiful homes. The boat is well maintained and covered which made for a very enjoyable ride. What was disappointing was that the young, energetic, enthusiastic, and very engaging tour guide presented entirely in French. If you don’t understand the language then you learn nothing of the history, habitat, or architecture of the area. Nothing written or pre-recorded information on headphones.
Written July 16, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our cruise as much because of the language barrier. Usually, our reservation staff should have told you when you booked your tickets that the cruise is in French. We apologize for that. However, we are currently working on something for anglophones. If you have more comments, please don't hesitate to call the Parc and ask for Catherine. Thank you so much, and have a great day!
Written July 29, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Debbie H
71 contributions
kayaking
Jun. 2019 • Couples
had a great time double kayaking with my hubby on a hot day. Canada day was wonderful and so many families were out. we will return.
Written July 3, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Blondie540
Montreal, Canada583 contributions
Awesome boat tour
Aug. 2018 • Friends
Today was my first visit to this beautiful area. Our group of ladies reserved to take a 2 hour boat tour on the Héron Bleu. A deck boat that holds approx 44 people. We were warmly greeted by captain Benoit and our exceptional botanist guide Alex. It was a wonderful afternoon on the water touring around the local islands and learning about all the wildlife in the area. It is such a lovely Eco friendly area, where birds, water fowl, turtles, and such thrive. The waterfront homes are magnificent to look at and the area so filled with such history. Our guide was so enthusiastic to tell us everything it was really a wonderful and very interesting experience. The park area where u get the boat, has picnic tables and a portable bathroom. Bring hand soap and kleenex :-) I highly recommed this area. Walk a few blocks to the local fun thriving shopping area which is filled with food, flavors, sights and sounds of a wonderful community. Thank u Benoit and Alex for a spectacular tour of the 1000 island river and some of its 100 islands.
Written August 25, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

JLC-mtl2015
Montreal, Canada372 contributions
If you really want to explore this park, think about paddling
May 2018 • Family
This park is a unique natural attraction in Laval it is an important birds and wildlife Sanctuary.

Some islands are to be saved and preserved for their biodiversity, and the Quebec government agrees.

There is a new center that just opened unfortunately on our last visit it was not open yet but it was coming soon.

The bike/walking trails takes you from the Berge des baigneurs behind the church and takes you to the summer eco nature center. There is an adult exercise area along the way. People of all age stroll in this nice surrounding.

So this park is divided into two sections:

Summer
You can explore the river by renting kayaks and canoes from behind the new center west of Cure-Antoine Labelle boulevard. (in fact, you must explore the river to really appreciate this park)

You rent per hour and they provide you with a map which presents where you can disembark your kayak or canoe and explore the islands.

Even from the trails, you might see turtles, ducks, herons and more.
The renting process is simple. I heard there is a cruise but you must reserve in advance.

Winter
The activities are in a park behind the church.

When the temperature allows, an outdoor ice rink is open to the public. You can borrow skates and training equipment for the young ones.

Sliding can be an option as well.
Fishing cabin are also installed if temperature and ice conditions allows it.

Ice Maze for young kids, fire pit makes this a fun winter day.

In the winter the river gets frozen and you can reach some Islands on foot to discover birds and maybe see animal trails.
Written August 8, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Linda R
Gatineau, Canada8 contributions
Nice day on the river
Jul. 2018 • Family
We rented a double kayak and spent the day on the river. Lots of places to stop and rest or eat. Staff is very helpful and nice. Prices are a little bit high however the parking is free. Overall, it is worth it.
Written August 1, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Grumpyogre
Guelph, Canada109 contributions
A work in progress?
Jul. 2018 • Business
They have just finished with an interpretive centre and it looks quite nice, unfortunately too many Day Camp kids running around. The park itself is not too bad, except that the area around the canoe/kayak rentals needs work, and it is quite worn from the constant traffic from the rentals. Perhaps paved pathways instead of dirt/mud?
Written July 23, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SaraJets
New York City, NY211 contributions
poor parc de la rivere
Jun. 2018 • Couples
We saw pictures and it looked absolutely beautiful. When we got there we noticed a muddy dump--nothing to see. No views of nature- brief glimpse of the lake. Total waste of time.
Written June 4, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi, the activities of the Park take place essentially on the river, we have an important boat rental center such as kayak, canoe, rowboat, pedal boat and the paddleboard. You can discover a fascinating biodiversity through islands. Photos available on our page are the proof. We hope to see you again in our Park to discover what we can offer.
Written July 20, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Julia S
Montreal, Canada12 contributions
Under renovations
May 2018 • Couples
The park website should advise it. Just bulldozers, gates, any sign of information. Everything closed and messy.
Written May 6, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are sorry that you are badly informed as for our building work. By that time, the park was not opened yet and we assure you that since your visit the site largely improved. The outer works are ended and the beauty of the Park is to its best.
Written July 20, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 34
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing