We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau

Old Port of Montreal | Corner McGill and de la Commune West, Montreal, Quebec QC H2Y 3H8, Canada
+1 514-284-0333
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic

Amazing!!! Beautiful facilities. Meticulously maintained. Friendly, polite and helpful staff. I... read more

Reviewed yesterday
ginarose35
via mobile
Unique with some kinks

Overall, we had a great experience and I would recommend to anyone with some caveats. No flip flops... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
janereichert
,
Edina, Minnesota
via mobile
Read all 621 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
Step onboard into a universe awash with astounding contrasts. In an invented space, between two water worlds... float away.Anchored at the Old Port of Montreal, Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau offers passengers the healing benefits of a spa coupled with the natural lulling movements of the St Lawrence River. Surrounded by enchanting decor, with Old Montreal as a magical backdrop, this mysterious and innovative floating spa offers privileged proximity to the river while enjoying the relaxing and energizing merits of the water circuit.Bota Bota is comprised of five decks on which you will find the various spa installations: two saunas with incredible views of the river and the Old Port, a eucalyptus steam bath, outdoor whirlpool baths, cold showers and baths, relaxation areas, restaurant, terraces and garden.Over and above its breathtaking Montreal location, this unique spa offers prolonged well-being to its passengers through massage therapy, body treatments, facial treatments, manicures and pedicures, as well as yoga and meditation.You can also delight your taste buds at the restaurant operated by Auberge sur la Route, with Michelin-starred chef Eric Gonzalez at its helm. Affiliated with the reputed Auberge St-Gabriel, Auberge sur la Route allows passengers to complement their experience with a fresh and simple menu, both original and comforting, for a serene healing of body and mind.
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good28%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“water circuit” (124 reviews)
“spa experience” (23 reviews)
LOCATION
Old Port of Montreal | Corner McGill and de la Commune West, Montreal, Quebec QC H2Y 3H8, Canada
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
CONTACT
Website
+1 514-284-0333
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 432 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Amazing!!! Beautiful facilities. Meticulously maintained. Friendly, polite and helpful staff. I was unsure about what to expect from Bota Bota after reading all of the grumbling reviews stating inferior, cramped "locker rooms," long check in/check out lines with careless staff, etc. This place was warm...More

Thank ginarose35
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall, we had a great experience and I would recommend to anyone with some caveats. No flip flops so bring your own. Bring a swim suit as this facility is co-ed. Check in was a somewhat stressful start- slow lines, lots of people, scattered desk...More

Thank janereichert
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear "janereichert", Thank you very much for your review. Our passengers valued feedback helps us improve our services. I am sorry if the check-in process was slow on the day of your visit. During rush hours (during our morning and evening promotions or weekends, for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did the three hour water circuit which had a cheaper rate because we entered before 11 am. The staff were friendly and helpful and we were given towels and fluffy robes which were really comfortable. You are given a wrist band that opens your...More

Thank Tobesk
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear "Tobestk", Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I'm very glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities and hope you will visit us again very soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We started with a couples massage, which we'd never done before, and it landed up being very enjoyable. We then spent the next couple hours taking in the water circuit - moving from hot tubs, to cold plunge pools, to saunas, to the steam room...More

Thank CarlawithaK
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear "CarlawithaK", Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Bota Bota is all about relaxing at your own pace, like travelling without moving! We hope you will visit again!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited last week and did the waterworks package 3hr package. We stayed most of the time and had a very relaxing experience, well worth the price. However, not at the other patrons of the spa were well enchanted. I’m particular there was a rude...More

Thank nillalexander
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear "nillalexander", I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time spent aboard. I am sorry if you felt like the agent was invasive. Our staff does regular rounds of the facilities to make sure that the silence and no-picture policy is respected, and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful way to experience Montreal! Soothing, sublime, amazing views, and just generally a calming retreat. So glad we did this while in town! My tip is get there late afternoon, stay during sunset, then see Montreal under lights - beautiful!

Thank Jemsch
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear "Jemsch", Thank you for your very kind words! Sunsets over Old Montreal are indeed stunning! We hope you will be back aboard next time you visit our beautiful city!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We loved the water circuit! So many options of sauna’s, pools, jacuzzis and lounge chairs I didn’t even get to try them all! Then a wonderful lomi lomi massage by Kia followed by a lovely glass of champagne looking out on the river. If I...More

Thank champagnetrips
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear "champagnetrips", Thank you for sharing your Bota Bota experience! The water circuit is, indeed, quite extended, with three saunas, three outside jacuzzis, two steam rooms, three cold plunges, a pool and many relaxation areas, both on the ship and in the Gardens section. I...More

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Great day for both of us. Baths were wonderful. We had a wonderful couple Swedish massage. I had the mani and pedi and my boyfriend had the sailor facial. All was wonderful with the spa services. Two weak points were the check-in time (as it...More

Thank suzisara2017
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear "suzisara2017", Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your time spent aboard. I am sorry if the check-in and check-out process were deficient on the day of your visit. There...More

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Went with my husband for a massage and baths. Had the best caring therapist. Breathtaking views of the Old Montreal and the Old Port. Had gone the previous weeks with 3 girlfriends and also enjoyed lunch at their restaurants. It's a great relaxing experience while...More

Thank N L
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear "N L", Thank you very much for sharing your Bota Bota experience with the TripAdvisor community! I'm really glad to read that you enjoyed your time spent aboard, both with your husbands and with your friends. We hope you will visit us again very...More

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

This is my first visit to this famous spa. I've been trying to be here since I know if this place and finally I came, well this is my experience. The concept is very unique that's a plus, they have a restaurant in the boat...More

Thank MasterGeorge8
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear "MasterGeorge8", Thank you so much for your positive comments. I will make sure to share your kind words with Mathieu who is indeed a very talented massage therapist. We hope you will visit Bota Bota again very soon!

Nearby
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the
Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and
commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship
stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate
headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by
nightfall transforms from a business district into a
youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and
restaurants heavily peopled by students and young
...More
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Gibbys
1,767 reviews
.36 km away
Le Cartet
504 reviews
.33 km away
Ikanos
265 reviews
.35 km away
Jellyfish Crudo+Charbon
104 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pointe-a-Calliere Museum
1,420 reviews
.39 km away
Rue St-Paul
1,498 reviews
.45 km away
Old Port of Montreal
1,984 reviews
.18 km away
Lieu Historique National du Canal-de-Lachine
596 reviews
.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ginarose35
13 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from MasterGeorge8 | Reviewed this property |
I think he will fit, but tell him to take take, you'll enjoy this experience.
1
Vote
kmcVacas
10 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Natalie E | Property representative |
Hello there ! I am sorry we did not respond earlier. On the spa premises, it's not possible to smoke. We ask our clients who wish to smoke to do so passed the front gate, a few meters away from the spa.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Kristine N
15 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Benjamin I | Reviewed this property |
There is no time limit.
1
Vote