Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon

Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon

Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon
5
Ski & Snow ToursSightseeing ToursNature & Wildlife ToursDay Trips
About
Welcome to Northern Tales Travel Services, your one-stop shopping spot for your Fall & Winter & Spring Northern Lights Adventure in the Yukon! Enjoy an aurora borealis viewing package with optional winter activities such as dog mushing, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, ice fishing, sightseeing flights and special events. Ask about custom, individual and private trips.
Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Awards
Travellers' Choice
2023

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Travellers talk about
(234 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles800 reviews
Excellent
742
Very good
46
Average
6
Poor
2
Terrible
4

Connector32967374798
Burnaby, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Couples
Incredible experience! Did the 5 day winter adventure tour and felt like we really got to see and do all the things we wanted to, with the security of knowing it was all arranged and managed by Nothern Tales. Renting the winter clothing was a good call as our standard winter gear wouldn't have been up to the task. The tour guides were all knowledgeable and friendly, and all the activities were excellent and as-described. We were also lucky enough to see the lights, but even if we hadn't the trip would have been worth it!
Written April 13, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kim D
Comox Valley, Canada2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Friends
Extraordinary job by all Northern Tales personnel. From Kevin's great smile greeting us at the airport to everything we saw ... all the questions I got answered ... we got very fortunate with a great Northern Lights show but everything else was top notch too ... the viewing center, the snacks, the fire and roasting marshmallows. Also able to do a city tour and a visit to the Yukon Wildlife Preserve. I would not hesitate to travel with this company again anytime anywhere. First class, organized, friendly and fun.
Written March 28, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

B H
15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Friends
Watching the aurora borealis was a long time dream of mine and my friends and I could not have found a better tour company. This was our third attempt to view the dancing lights in the sky. And we knew that so much of viewing has to do with the weather; but the staff of Northern Tales made our experience delightful. Their warming huts and campfire made our trip fun as we waited to watch the lights. It was delightful to meet people from all over the globe. The staff cheerfully helped with camera issues and took our photos with the lights in the background too. The warm weather gear we rented was well worth the cost, in that their gear kept us warm and we did not have to bring multiple pieces of luggage. I would definitely recommend this tour company and use them again if the opportunity came up!
Written March 26, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Christiane R
Chicago, IL4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Couples
Very fun experience! The northern lights didn't show up right away but were truly magical when they did. The tour was very well organized and the guides were responsive to our needs. They took pictures of the participants on their good camera and made them available for free after the evening. I would definitely recommend this company.
Written March 22, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

PricklyJoy
Phoenix, AZ2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Family
We have just returned home after a three night aurora borealis tour with Northern Tales. What a great experience. Although nature was not cooperating, the weather was cloudy, we had so much fun. The staff at Northern Tales is professional and determined to make the experience as pleasant as possible. The first night, the Aurora was only visible through a small break in the clouds on the far horizon. Mike made sure we were aware of it and with Laura's help, we were able to capture a photo. Marine gave us a great tour of the town and answered all of my questions, Finya showed her concern when my husband fell over a stump. Each and every one of the staff is incredible. Also, when one of the tours was canceled due to road conditions, our admission was immediately refunded. What a great company!

Our last two nights were a bust for the lights but whether sitting out by the viewing area, enjoying the fire, or warming in the cabin we were able to enjoy the company of adventurous people from all over the globe. A special shout out to the 6 beautiful women from Australia. Thanks for sharing your laughter, songs and joy of living. I don't want to forget the warmth of the group from New Jersey and Toronto. I don't remember all of your names but you helped to make this adventure special.
Written March 21, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Karen S
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Solo
Northern Tales staff were amazing on our recent tour. Kevin, Michael, Marine and Naomi were all incredibly knowledgeable about Whitehorse history and Yukon wildlife. We were all well treated at the Aurora viewing site with hot drinks and snacks and were entertained with the light painting. I would highly recommend this company!
Written March 18, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jannette C
Penticton, Canada52 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Friends
Hello we were up in the Yukon and toured with your amazing company to see the Northern Lights March 11-13 at Marsh Lake.
I would like to say how impressed I was with all your guides. They are so well organized and efficient while making sure you are having a great time. Even on the last day when we had snow so there wasn’t any Northern Lights Kevin kept us entertained with the photos and his talent in writing using the flashlight. Your cabins are great rustic but efficient . The team makes the experience even more special by enjoying themselves and sharing there experiences. The fact that you are so willing to share your photos is what I expected. One of the other companies lined us up to take pictures and were constantly flashing making it harder to get your own pictures. Then they turn around and charge $20 for each picture.
Written March 16, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Laura W
La Mirada, CA48 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Couples
I just looked at all these 5 star reviews for Northern Tales and I wish I could say that I had the same wonderful experience. We traveled around Feb 19th to Whitehorse. Transfers were fine. The Best Western was serviceable. The clothing package was inadequate. The clothes did not fit well and my husband I were still cold even with all our own layers that we had brought. Most of the guides were inattentive t the guests. When we went snowshoeing and ice fishing the guide did not check to see that everyone had their snowshoes on correctly. ne group that lagged behind us kept falling down and their shoes kept falling off. When we caught up with the guide to tell him all he could say that "it was too bad". This same guide was only interested in speaking with the other French speaking guests on that part of the trip. The warming hut wasn't very clean. During the ice fishing part of the trip, the guide was passing out tea and cookies, while handling raw bait. During the northern light viewing, the guides would single out one or two groups to talk with and ignore everyone else. The warming huts were not clean. We were placed with a Japanese group one night and the guide only spoke with them. All in all it was very disappointing.
Written March 8, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Laura, Thank you very much for posting your feedback. We appreciate it very much. Our guests' satisfaction is our top priority and we are committed to upkeep our standard of delivering only the most excellent service to our guests. We sincerely apologize that you felt that you did not receive this standard. Sadly, none of these issues were mentioned to us while you were with us in Whitehorse. We would have loved to address the issues immediately. When we hand the winter clothing package to our guests, we ask them to let us know if any items don't fit so we can do a swift exchange. We are sorry that this opportunity was missed. Please note that the winter clothing package you rented is rated at -45 degrees Celsius and we find it difficult to believe that you felt cold when it was between -5 and 0 degrees Celsius during your stay (as our clients are always happy with the clothing package and definitely warm and cozy when we experience a cold spell in the Yukon). Northern Tales does not operate the Ice Fishing & Snowshoeing Tour. We are in touch with our partner who operates this tour. You spent each Aurora night at a different viewing site with warming cabins. These newly built cabins are rustically styled to match the history of the Yukon Gold Rush. The cabins are definitely clean, and our business partner spends a lot of time and energy keeping the viewing sites up to a high standard. Regarding your comment on the Aurora tour. We pride ourselves on having international clients. This is what makes it even more exciting and interesting for our guests and tour guides. Our guests and guides love it! On each of your Aurora tours, we had 1 Japanese-speaking tour guide and a few Japanese-speaking guests. The other 2 tour guides with your group were English-speaking, though. We had about 25 guests on each of the tours (which is a client:guest ratio of 1:8). We are sorry that you felt ignored by your tour guides. Feedback like yours is never 'nice' to receive, but it keeps us on our toes. We need to push our team to work more diligently to ensure that every customer is taken care of during our tours. We appreciate your taking the time to write down your feedback, but we would have wished you had contacted us directly right away, giving us a chance to work on it while you were still a guest on our tours. all the best from Whitehorse!
Written March 8, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

r0ckinr0b
Lisbon, Portugal3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Friends
Professional, knowledgeable, enthusiastic guides looked after us. We did snowmobiling, Whitehorse tour , hot springs, wildlife animal reserve visit and of course Aurora spotting (successful on the 4th night) .
Written February 26, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sasha T
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Friends
Highly recommend this tour operator for seeing the northern lights and other winter activities. We got lucky and got to see the aurora three nights in a row, with the last night being absolutely spectacular with lights coming from the north, east and west all at once! I was a female traveler who went with my friend (another female traveler), and we felt safe the entire time in the hotel, during the transfers and walking around Whitehorse. Every Northern Tales employee was exceptionally kind and accommodating. They even took photos of us during all our activities at no extra charge and provided kindnesses such as bringing hot chocolate and baked goods on our excursions. In addition to 3 nights of aurora viewing, we also did dog sledding with Muktuk and snowmobiling booked through Northern Tales and went to the Eclipse Hot Springs on our own only because there was not a tour available at the time we wanted to go. This was truly a bucket list trip of a lifetime, and we are so thankful to Northern Tales for making it happen!
Written February 21, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 722

Aurora Borealis & Northern Lights Tours Yukon - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Whitehorse HotelsWhitehorse Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Whitehorse
All things to do in Whitehorse
Day Trips in Whitehorse
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars