We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rodgers Fishing Lodge

Features Animals
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Another Successful trip to Rodgers

My wife and I traveled to Rodgers to fish June 10 - 14 with some friends that had never been on a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Gary T
,
Kelowna, Canada
Making it work

Just got back from Rodgers Lodge for my third year in a row. The lodge has new management who are... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Jim L
via mobile
Read all 218 reviews
108
All photos (108)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good16%
  • Average2%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“halibut”(104 reviews)
“catch fish”(22 reviews)
“rock fish”(13 reviews)
About
Specialty Lodging in Tahsis
Contact
| Port Eliza Inlet, Tahsis, British Columbia, Canada
Website
+1 800-429-5288
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
163
37
5
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
163
37
5
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalibutcatch fishrock fishgreat tripwest coast of vancouver islandbrought homefloat planewater taxiyear after yearwork hardrain gearspring salmonsuccessful tripno frillskeep coming backbritish columbiacontinental breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

The fishing was good. The food was good....from there everything goes downhill. From the start you will have trouble communicating with the owner (Doug), unless you owe him money, in which case he will stay in touch. When he does communicate, don’t take it serious...More

1  Thank Trent233
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our party of 7 booked last winter (2018) and paid in full to fly to and from Vancouver to the lodge and fish 4 nights/5 days last week. We were regulars, this being our 5th trip to the lodge. It was always sketchy but we...More

5  Thank aldumas
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We cancelled your trip because some members of your party refused to drive into our lodge and insisted that we fly them in. The weather was really poor and we knew that the planes would not be able to fly across Vancouver Island into our...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I traveled to Rodgers to fish June 10 - 14 with some friends that had never been on a fishing trip before. This was our third year in a row for my wife and I. The lodge is being managed by new...More

Thank Gary T
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review Gary. I was pleased to hear that you and Linda had another good trip. Being in such a remote location we are presented with a lot of unexpected challenges. Some are easier to solve than others. You are right when you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just got back from Rodgers Lodge for my third year in a row. The lodge has new management who are from my perspective working hard to get their feet under the lodge operations. We were fed well and treated as well as can be expected...More

Thank Jim L
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review Jim. We have downsized our operation in Port Eliza in order to give our guests the best possible fishing experience that we can give them. Being in such a remote location it is not an easy place to get to when...More

Reviewed June 3, 2018

If you book with Rodgers fishing Lodge you will be sorry. Once they have received your money you can not get a response from them by phone or email. We waited 5 hours for the water taxi, was scammed $20.00 for parking, given a room...More

2  Thank brucehqp
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2018

On March 23rd 2018 we confirmed your reservations for your party of 4 with Doug Cetina for the dates of July 26th to July 30th for a 4 night stay and you are scheduled to fly into our Lodge from Vancouver BC. I guess that...More

Reviewed March 17, 2018

I finished 2017 with another wonderful and successful fishing trip to Rogers Fishing lodge. I am 85 years old and this trip I took along my son and grandson so we had three generations of my family fishing together. This was my third straight year...More

2  Thank doylecrow
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Hi Doyle........Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review and I am glad to hear that the 3 generations of your family had such a wonderful trip We are all looking forward to seeing you again this coming season.

Reviewed August 9, 2017

This was our (my wife and I) …… 7th consecutive year and is now our ‘custom’ to book our trip for next year before we depart. This was our best trip of the 7 years and we would attribute this to the fact we booked...More

2  Thank mjlarson
Reviewed August 5, 2017

Easy to understand that weather can effect fishing but that was not the problem here. The boats were in terrible shape, filthy and breaking down daily. From leaking gas tanks, bilge pumps not working, failing motors and broken down riggers. No working heads on the...More

11  Thank m h
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We have been in this business for 36 years and I have always said that we as strong as our weakest guide. I am sorry to hear about your experience. We run up to 20 guide...More

Reviewed July 10, 2017

Have been going to Rodgers Fishing Lodge for over 30 years. We have only missed a few of those years due to other commitments. We always come back with our limit of Halibut and Salmon with a few Ling Cod and Rock Cod thrown in....More

Thank PAUL H
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thanks for your review Paul. Hard to believe that 30 plus years have passed since you started fishing with us? Who can forget all of the good times that we have had over the years? The members of the famous Whoppers Fishing Club have certainly...More

Reviewed July 8, 2017

This was our 3rd time to Rodgers. My wife and I traveled from Kelowna BC via the drive in route to Rodgers. Terrific scenery. Although our trip started off with a couple of hiccups Lodge Manager Michelle worked very hard to rectify our concerns. Michelle...More

Thank Gary T
Doug R, Owner at Rodgers Fishing Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Our business is only as good as the people that are running it and like most businesses nowadays, it is an ongoing challenge to find good people. Being in such a remote location makes it even more difficult to attract qualified and professional managers, guides,...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Rainey S
August 17, 2017|
Answer
Response from kulla3 | Reviewed this property |
Our party of 7 booked last winter (2018) and paid in full to fly to and from Vancouver to the lodge and fish 4 nights/5 days last week. We were regulars, this being our 5th trip to the lodge. It was always sketchy but we... More
0
Votes
Deborah D
July 3, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Del J | Reviewed this property |
Deb- Rogers charged myself and another client....total almost $10,000 USD. He canceled trips on both of us and will not refund the money. Do not deposit money with this business
2
Votes