BC Ferries

BC Ferries, Sidney: Hours, Address, BC Ferries Reviews: 4/5

8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
BC Ferries provides passenger and vehicle ferry services to 45 ports of call across coastal BC, with sailings to and from Metro Vancouver, Vancouver Island, the Sunshine Coast, the Gulf Islands, and Northern BC. BC Ferries Vacations also offers over 100 travel packages, including return ferry and accommodation. When on board BC Ferries, there are plenty of options for food and shopping, along with great wildlife and sightseeing opportunities.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

4.0
4,477 reviews
Excellent
2,166
Very good
1,435
Average
488
Poor
166
Terrible
222

Hardeep k
1 contribution
May 2022 • Family
We were heading from duke point. My child spilled pop on table by mistake and started crying. I wiped everything and all the crew members pretented that they were busy. No help was offered which is fine i think they were good in pretending busy by sitting there and talking to each other. I went for refill and the cashier rushed towards me with in 5 seconds and confronted me saying that there are no refills and you have to pay for it right now before even filling. My kid was crying i looked at my kid and told the lady can i come back with my purse? She stood there for 10 seconds waiting for me to pay. I felt so embarressed and i am with kid and now dealing with this all. I paid for my food i never wanted anything for free but the way the whole crew dealt with me was horrible.
Not coming here ever again. Please dont give them business guys. There food was cold and premade too.
Written May 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Stephanie Z
1 contribution
Mar. 2022 • Solo
Looking back at the years traveling with BC ferries, I ask myself what’s been improved? Nothing! Instead, I’m experiencing more and more delays and increasing fares. It’s 23:21pm now on March 28th, the website ferry conditions page shows this ferry has arrived at 10:51pm, so it’s learned to cheat with fake data...
Written March 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

lar289
Victoria, Canada183 contributions
Feb. 2022
I take the ferry from mainland to Vancouver Island several times a year, so not weekly, let alone daily, and usually by car, so most times I can just relax in my car for the duration. But as a recent foot passenger I was stunned that there was absolutely no attempt to encourage distancing - it was like cattle boarding and de-boarding. They made absolutely no attempt to encourage passengers to distance, or mask (yes, that includes over your nose). This may change soon, but in the meantime BCFerries apparently can’t or won’t make the effort.
Written February 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

KellyA
1 contribution
Dec. 2021 • Family
There appears to be little or no accountability for this government run entity. Similar to air travel, controllable delays (staffing or mechanical issues) should see inconvenienced passengers compensated for delays.

There is an attitude of indifference which pervades BC Ferries. It is time to clean house at the top levels. There is poor performance in almost every regard compared to other ferry services around the world (high cost, questionable cleanliness, lack of timeliness, indifferent/borderline surly staffing). They take credit for the amazing views and hope that makes up for the frequent delays and myriad other problems.
Written December 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Codiak!
Abbotsford, Canada10,229 contributions
Dec. 2021
Travel remains restricted because of COVID variants but the BC Ferry system has in place mask protocols which offer a measure of confidence. Use their reservation system. The food on board is done by White Spot which is a BC institution. Beautiful BcC-- like Vancouver Island -- is awaiting you by using BC Ferries : )
Written December 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Craig, Thank you for the 5-star review! I too enjoy the food onboard – the White Spot burgers onboard are delicious, and I highly recommend ordering the bacon cheddar burger combo. Many thanks for the kind review. Kind regards, Amy – Customer Care BC Ferries
Written April 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

ryanvanveenphotography
Vernon, Canada444 contributions
Nov. 2021 • Couples
We had pouring rain for our ride there and back from horseshoe bay to langdale but still loved both trips! We are on the ferry on the way there and back! Reservations line went really smooth on both sides and we enjoyed our trip on both occasions!
Written December 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Ryan, Wow, thank you for the 5 star review! I too enjoy the rain – I find that it adds to the unique atmosphere that only the West Coast can offer. We do our best to provide the smoothest sailings possible for the comfort of our passengers. Many thanks for the positive review. Kind regards, Amy – Customer Care BC Ferries
Written April 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Joel K
Vancouver, Canada3,161 contributions
Dec. 2021
We had a pretty good experience with BCF in Sidney. They were flexible in getting us onto the 5 pm sailing even though we were booked on the 7 pm. we got home at 8.30 pm instead of 10 pm. The ferry ride from Sidney was way more crowded then from Horseshoe Bay. it was a little uncomfortable that BCF staff did not enforce the mask mandates, as they do not require vaccination certification and we were inside for over a hour+++ on the ferry.
Written December 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Joel, Thank you for the 4 star review! I’m happy to hear that our crew was able to assist you with getting onto an earlier sailing. I always enjoy travelling from Swartz Bay to Tsawwassen, as this passage offers many scenic views of the Gulf Islands. Once again, thank you for the kind review. Warm regards, Amy – Customer Care BC Ferries
Written April 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Gord M
1 contribution
Nov. 2021 • Solo
The person at the ticket booth in my opinion has no people skills. My vehicle is registered for 8200 Kg in order to be legal to pull my recreational trailer and she charged me the commercial rate although it is used personally. It is not over height or length. When she first entered it she charged me for 13 feet then said she had to refund it because she said she knew it was 20 feet and charged me that fee. My vehicle is only 18 feet but the way things were going a wasn’t about to argue with her so I paid the 20 feet. No talking to her, she was unbelievable. She is representing BC ferries on the front line. Makes you wonder.
Written November 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, Thank you for your review. I regret to hear about your negative experience at the terminal. Vehicles licensed to carry more than 5500kg in GVW are classified as commercial vehicles in our fare system. Keep in mind that certain exemptions applies for recreational vehicles (RV, motorhome, camper, camperized bus, 5th wheel, RV travel trailer, pick-up truck including F350's/duallys towing a 5th wheel). For future reference, if there is a fare discrepancy please ensure that you speak with the ticketing supervisor at the time of travel. Your review is greatly appreciated, as it allows us the opportunity to improve our services for the next time you travel. Kind regards, Amy – Customer Care BC Ferries
Written April 20, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mark K
Edmonton, Canada282 contributions
Aug. 2021
We enjoyed our trips with BC Ferries, Vancouver to Victoria, Victoria to Saltspring, then Victoria to Vancouver again. But careful when taking the Vancouver to Victoria Ferry, they packed us in so tight, I had to climb out of the rear passenger door!! We did complain and I'm sure that the head steward office sorted out the employee. Love the big boat, you can eat on it, watch the sunset, enjoy comfy chairs. The Ferry from Victoria to Saltspring has no food, so make sure you take some.
Written August 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Mary K, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your travels! It sounds like you had a great time exploring the West Coast via our ferries! However, I am sorry to hear about the difficulties exiting your vehicle. I am glad to hear you shared your concerns with the Chief Steward who was able to follow up with the crew about this. Our staff do their best to accommodate as may customers as safely as possible during our busy summer season to help alleviate sailing waits here possible and we never intend to inconvenience travellers. I am so happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our amenities onboard and even enjoy the beautiful British Columbia scenery! I hope you were able to visit the sun deck as you can definitely get some beautiful scrap-book worthy pictures. We look forward to welcoming you onboard again in the future! Kind regards, Olivia - Customer Care BC Ferries
Written November 30, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Paul R
1 contribution
Jul. 2021 • Couples
Unacceptable wait times! They should replace the entire system with bridges and tunnels. The whole experience of travelling with BC Ferries is stressful and expensive.
Written July 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 4,139
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about BC Ferries

BC Ferries is open:
  • Mon - Fri 7:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
  • Sat - Sun 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking BC Ferries tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 3 BC Ferries tours on Tripadvisor