BC Ferries

BC Ferries, Sidney: Hours, Address, BC Ferries Reviews: 4/5

7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
BC Ferries provides passenger and vehicle ferry services to 45 ports of call across coastal BC, with sailings to and from Metro Vancouver, Vancouver Island, the Sunshine Coast, the Gulf Islands, and Northern BC. BC Ferries Vacations also offers over 100 travel packages, including return ferry and accommodation. When on board BC Ferries, there are plenty of options for food and shopping, along with great wildlife and sightseeing opportunities.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

4.0
4,471 reviews
Excellent
2,163
Very good
1,435
Average
489
Poor
164
Terrible
220

Joel K
Vancouver, Canada3,016 contributions
Ferrying home from Vancouver Island
Dec. 2021
We had a pretty good experience with BCF in Sidney. They were flexible in getting us onto the 5 pm sailing even though we were booked on the 7 pm. we got home at 8.30 pm instead of 10 pm. The ferry ride from Sidney was way more crowded then from Horseshoe Bay. it was a little uncomfortable that BCF staff did not enforce the mask mandates, as they do not require vaccination certification and we were inside for over a hour+++ on the ferry.
Written December 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Gord M
1 contribution
Treated poorly
Nov. 2021 • Solo
The person at the ticket booth in my opinion has no people skills. My vehicle is registered for 8200 Kg in order to be legal to pull my recreational trailer and she charged me the commercial rate although it is used personally. It is not over height or length. When she first entered it she charged me for 13 feet then said she had to refund it because she said she knew it was 20 feet and charged me that fee. My vehicle is only 18 feet but the way things were going a wasn’t about to argue with her so I paid the 20 feet. No talking to her, she was unbelievable. She is representing BC ferries on the front line. Makes you wonder.
Written November 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mark K
Edmonton, Canada282 contributions
Still amazing that you can DRIVE onto a ship
Aug. 2021
We enjoyed our trips with BC Ferries, Vancouver to Victoria, Victoria to Saltspring, then Victoria to Vancouver again. But careful when taking the Vancouver to Victoria Ferry, they packed us in so tight, I had to climb out of the rear passenger door!! We did complain and I'm sure that the head steward office sorted out the employee. Love the big boat, you can eat on it, watch the sunset, enjoy comfy chairs. The Ferry from Victoria to Saltspring has no food, so make sure you take some.
Written August 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Mary K, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your travels! It sounds like you had a great time exploring the West Coast via our ferries! However, I am sorry to hear about the difficulties exiting your vehicle. I am glad to hear you shared your concerns with the Chief Steward who was able to follow up with the crew about this. Our staff do their best to accommodate as may customers as safely as possible during our busy summer season to help alleviate sailing waits here possible and we never intend to inconvenience travellers. I am so happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our amenities onboard and even enjoy the beautiful British Columbia scenery! I hope you were able to visit the sun deck as you can definitely get some beautiful scrap-book worthy pictures. We look forward to welcoming you onboard again in the future! Kind regards, Olivia - Customer Care BC Ferries
Written November 30, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Paul R
1 contribution
Unacceptable wait times
Jul. 2021 • Couples
Unacceptable wait times! They should replace the entire system with bridges and tunnels. The whole experience of travelling with BC Ferries is stressful and expensive.
Written July 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kris J
Lisbon, Portugal445 contributions
Overpriced necessity
Jan. 2021 • Solo
Ahh my good friends at bcfs; what a love / hate relationship. Your prices only corkscrew upwards, your privatization is obnoxious, but the views are unbelievable. Also worth noting that for every deadbeat employee there seems to be a superstar.
I have some great memories and some serious unresolved frustrations.
Tips- never have a bike on your roof rack 😣; and get outside (on the sunny side) for a pleasant trip.
Written March 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi 385krisj, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! You may be interested to know that we have released new fare options that will allow for customers to receive discounted rates when booking in advance. I recommend visiting our website to learn more. I am happy to hear that you have experienced positive interactions with our staff and have been able to enjoy our outstanding views in the past! The outer passenger deck is also my favourite place to enjoy a sailing on a sunny day. We look forward to welcoming you aboard in the future & we hope the love outweighs the hate in this relationship going forward! Cheers, Taylor - Customer Care BC Ferries
Written April 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Stephanie H
Victoria, Canada13 contributions
bring something to entertain urself.
Aug. 2020 • Family
always show up early, you never know how busy it will be . white spot is always fast and tasty. really hard right now having to be on passenger deck. when so many seats are blocked off for covid. really makes it difficult to busy urself for the hr and a half. hoping they let ppl go back to being in their cars.
Written February 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi StephanieDholt, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed the food onboard! Getting a bite to eat at the Coastal Cafe is one of my favourite ways to pass the time during a sailing. If you find that you are unable to find seating, I encourage you to reach out to a crew member or the Chief Steward in the future. Our staff will be happy to find a safe place for you to enjoy the crossing. We look forward to welcoming you aboard again! Kind regards, Taylor - Customer Care
Written February 16, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Bill2025
Surrey, Canada138 contributions
Excellent
Dec. 2020 • Couples
Check out BC Ferries Vacation Package, got an excellent deal for a getaway from Vancouver to Victoria for 3 nights. Staff on the ferry were always professional and Covid rules were enforced.
Written December 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Bill2025, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5-star review. The safety of our passengers and staff is our main priority and it is great to know that this was reflected in our cleaning and COVID-19 practices during your time with us. I am happy to hear that you consistently enjoyed a positive experience with our terminal staff! We look forward to welcoming you aboard again during your next BC Ferries Vacation. Kind regards, Taylor - Customer Care BC Ferries
Written January 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

David and Cindy
Temescal Valley, CA707 contributions
Great service
Oct. 2020
We arrived about 90 minutes before our ferry reservation time. Worked out great as they put us on the earlier ferry that was just about to board. Great service. Definitely recommend having a reservation especially since we travel in a motorhome.
Written December 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there Perseverance, Thank you for taking the time to write us a positive review. How lucky to have been allowed onboard an earlier sailing time! Arriving early for a reservation is always recommended, especially in instances such as this. I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy more out of your day having been sent onboard at an earlier time than expected. We look forward to welcoming you aboard again sometime soon. Kind regards, Taylor - Customer Care BC Ferries
Written January 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Carmen B
Vancouver53 contributions
Excellent service
Oct. 2020 • Couples
Efficient and the place has all the covid reminders in place. The place is clean. We are a little late leaving the port but they made up with the arrival at Duke's point. No time lost.
Written October 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Robereugene, Thank you for the 5 star review! I am glad to hear that you appreciated our COVID-19 signage and reminders at the terminal and onboard the vessel. We strive to educate all who travel with us to ensure we can all continue to share the coast safely, even in these trying times. I am also pleased that your sailing was able to make up time on the water to ensure you made a timely connection with your destination, as efficient service, alongside safety are two of our top priorities. We look forward to welcoming you on board again soon. Kind regards, Miranda - Customer Care
Written November 2, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kate
8 contributions
On time and no fuss.
Oct. 2020
I have caught the ferry between Horseshoe Bay and Nanaimo, the ferry has always been on time and a good expereince.
Written October 30, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi krcp743, Thank you for taking the time to write a 5-star review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your sailing between Vancouver and Vancouver Island! I always look forward to travelling on this route and love to take in the wondrous beauty of our coast while indulging on a coffee and snack from our Coastal Cafe express. We are proud to be a part of your journey along the coast of British Columbia. We look forward to welcoming you aboard again soon. Kind regards, Meghan - Customer Care BC Ferries
Written October 30, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 4,134
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing