We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greater Vancouver Zoo

Features Animals
5048 264 St, Aldergrove, British Columbia V4W 1N7, Canada
+1 604-856-6825
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Lots of walking, stressed animals and overpriced

My son didn't really enjoy the exhibit. He is very sensitive and usually loves animals. I am lead... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2017
Eyvette H
Bad Choice

We decided to do something different from our usual Sunday Drive to White Rock. So we decided to... read more

Reviewed 27 August 2017
Brad S
,
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
via mobile
Read all 429 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
Open year round and located only 45 minutes from Vancouver, Step Into The Wild at the largest zoo in BC! Discover the sights and sounds of over 140 species on 120 acres in the beautiful Fraser Valley! Experience the Zoo your way by bringing your own wagons, roller blades, bikes, skateboards, and picnic lunches. The playground and large picnic areas are great for birthdays, company BBQ's, group events or family picnics. In the summer, spend a Night In The Wild as you camp overnight inside the Zoo, and be sure to sign up for one of our popular Junior Zoologist Day Camps! Since 1970, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is focused on education and conservation.
  • Excellent19%
  • Very good33%
  • Average22%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“lion feeding” (16 reviews)
“birds of prey” (12 reviews)
“lots of space” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
5048 264 St, Aldergrove, British Columbia V4W 1N7, Canada

Similar Things to Do in Aldergrove

Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

My son didn't really enjoy the exhibit. He is very sensitive and usually loves animals. I am lead to believe the animals are entirely not happy! Lots of pacing and sitting in the sun... exhausted of the cage life? They did not appear like they...More

Thank Eyvette H
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about our facility and our animals. The Greater Vancouver Zoo is CAZA (Canada’s Accredited Zoos and Aquariums) accredited. The accreditation process takes place every five years where we go through a very comprehensive application submission,...More

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We decided to do something different from our usual Sunday Drive to White Rock. So we decided to head out to the Zoo and after driving from downtown Vancouver we were very unsatisfied as The entire zoo is run down with very limited number of...More

1  Thank Brad S
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about our facility and our animals. The Greater Vancouver Zoo is CAZA (Canada’s Accredited Zoos and Aquariums) accredited. The accreditation process takes place every five years where we go through a very comprehensive application submission,...More

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

I struggle seeing animals in captivity but it was interesting for the kids to see some wildlife they will likely not see in the mountains. The one negative thing I would say is this is another spot in our driving trip that had no plan...More

1  Thank Jason F
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We are happy to hear that your children had a good visit. Our facility is home to over 140 species on 120 acres. We only house animals that were born in captivity, former pets, surrendered...More

Reviewed 18 August 2017

This is a scruffy looking zoo. The animals look fine but the physical plant is run down and dated. It is pretty expensive at $25.50 for an adult ticket plus $6.00 for parking. Some of the exhibits were empty and in others the animals were...More

1  Thank Mmarymomm
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We are pleased to inform you that we are planning extensive renovations to our facility! As opposed to other zoos the Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding,...More

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We visited the zoo with young children last weekend. The zoo train was down for maintenance so that was disappointing but the state and condition of the zoo in general was terrible. Worn down, old, many empty exhibits and to see the animals in those...More

Thank Sarah C
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. At first glance some enclosures may appear empty; however it just requires a bit more time to search for the animal. On hot days such as the day you visited many of the animals seek...More

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Overpriced. Not many things to see. I have seen many zoos and for a city like vancouver this is almost embarrassing. The best part was that our family rented bikes (over priced) to bike around. You'll be fine in under 2 hours.More

Thank liketotravel777
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. Unlike many other Zoos, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding, and rely solely on admission rates to operate the Zoo year round. As added options, we...More

Reviewed 4 August 2017

A senior took his god children, 10 and 13, for our first visit. Beautiful wildlife, more so when seen in the wild, here, enclosed in surroundings in need of an update. The ugly: starting in the parking lot; difficult to read the worn out numbers...More

1  Thank wayan s
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. Our parking lot is patrolled an run by Impark and we are working with them on changing the machines to require license plate numbers rather than inputting the stall number, and we appreciate your patience....More

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Myself and my family went here and it was very disappointing to say the least. First of all, the price was ridiculous; if you showed your AMA membership you got 10%off!ONE ADMISSION, not of the total price. For my family of 4 adults it was...More

Thank Jennifer B
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. Unlike many other Zoos, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding, and rely solely on admission rates to operate the Zoo year round, however we are pleased...More

Reviewed 28 July 2017

2 stars now cause year after year no renovations done to liven up the look and feel of the place. Just visited today, July 28, 2017. No fresh paint anywhere either, NO new updated animal info signs either! Frustrating to witness and pay a ton...More

Thank Nolpreen
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We would like to appoligize for the late response to your concerns, but we are please to inform you that things are changing for the better. We now are housing 2 cheetahs, we have began...More

Reviewed 16 July 2017

Show your BCAA membership card for a 10% discount. The train wasn't running and there was a bit of construction but it was a good day for our 6 year old and 3 adults. There was staff at every turn and the animal enclosures were...More

2  Thank Bonnie S
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our facility and we are pleased to inform you that we are planning extensive renovations in the coming years! We hope to see you again soon!

Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Fox & Hounds
63 reviews
3.33 km away
Bob's Bar n' Grill
144 reviews
3.73 km away
Mazatlan Mexican Restaurant
33 reviews
3.05 km away
White Spot
39 reviews
3.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fox & Hounds Pub and Restaurant
15 reviews
3.33 km away
Twilight Drive-In
13 reviews
3.09 km away
Tanglebank Gardens
68 reviews
7.42 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lynn O
9 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Chris D | Reviewed this property |
No. There is a standard playground but no waterpark.
0
Votes
Teresa P
5 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chris D | Reviewed this property |
I would say be prepared for 4-5k if you want to see everything. It's flat and well maintained. You can rent a large pedal cart that fit two adults and two young kids but honestly walking it is best.
0
Votes
nicolelarche46
6 May 2017|
Answer
Response from GVZoo | Property representative |
Hello, Yes we do have overnight camping at the zoo! For an exciting adventure in the wild, you can join us for a family sleepover! On the Saturday evening, sent up your tent, go on a night walking safari, and play... More
0
Votes