We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greater Vancouver Zoo

Features Animals
Closed Now: 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Kids liked it

I struggle seeing animals in captivity but it was interesting for the kids to see some wildlife... read more

Reviewed August 22, 2017
Jason F
,
Brackendale
via mobile
Could be better for the money

Overpriced. Not many things to see. I have seen many zoos and for a city like vancouver this is... read more

Reviewed August 6, 2017
liketotravel777
,
Whitby, Canada
Read all 457 reviews
248
All photos (248)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good33%
  • Average21%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“bring your own”(11 reviews)
“lion feeding”(16 reviews)
“grizzly bear”(16 reviews)
About
Open year round and located only 45 minutes from Vancouver, Step Into The Wild at the largest zoo in BC! Discover the sights and sounds of over 140 species on 120 acres in the beautiful Fraser Valley! Experience the Zoo your way by bringing your own...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
5048 264 St, Aldergrove, British Columbia V4W 1N7, Canada
Website
+1 604-856-6825
Call
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Greater Vancouver Zoo
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
90
141
94
59
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
90
141
94
59
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbring your ownlion feedinggrizzly bearscience worldbirds of preylots of spacelarge enclosuresred pandapicnic tablesradical raptorsgrandchildrenangelamembershipwagonstrollerrescue
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 50 of 445 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

We decided to do something different from our usual Sunday Drive to White Rock. So we decided to head out to the Zoo and after driving from downtown Vancouver we were very unsatisfied as The entire zoo is run down with very limited number of...More

1  Thank Brad S
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about our facility and our animals. The Greater Vancouver Zoo is CAZA (Canada’s Accredited Zoos and Aquariums) accredited. The accreditation process takes place every five years where we go through a very comprehensive application submission,...More

Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile

I struggle seeing animals in captivity but it was interesting for the kids to see some wildlife they will likely not see in the mountains. The one negative thing I would say is this is another spot in our driving trip that had no plan...More

1  Thank Jason F
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We are happy to hear that your children had a good visit. Our facility is home to over 140 species on 120 acres. We only house animals that were born in captivity, former pets, surrendered...More

Reviewed August 18, 2017

This is a scruffy looking zoo. The animals look fine but the physical plant is run down and dated. It is pretty expensive at $25.50 for an adult ticket plus $6.00 for parking. Some of the exhibits were empty and in others the animals were...More

1  Thank Mmarymomm
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We are pleased to inform you that we are planning extensive renovations to our facility! As opposed to other zoos the Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding,...More

Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

We visited the zoo with young children last weekend. The zoo train was down for maintenance so that was disappointing but the state and condition of the zoo in general was terrible. Worn down, old, many empty exhibits and to see the animals in those...More

1  Thank SarahC6469
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. At first glance some enclosures may appear empty; however it just requires a bit more time to search for the animal. On hot days such as the day you visited many of the animals seek...More

Reviewed August 6, 2017

Overpriced. Not many things to see. I have seen many zoos and for a city like vancouver this is almost embarrassing. The best part was that our family rented bikes (over priced) to bike around. You'll be fine in under 2 hours.More

Thank liketotravel777
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. Unlike many other Zoos, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding, and rely solely on admission rates to operate the Zoo year round. As added options, we...More

Reviewed August 4, 2017

A senior took his god children, 10 and 13, for our first visit. Beautiful wildlife, more so when seen in the wild, here, enclosed in surroundings in need of an update. The ugly: starting in the parking lot; difficult to read the worn out numbers...More

1  Thank wayan s
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. Our parking lot is patrolled an run by Impark and we are working with them on changing the machines to require license plate numbers rather than inputting the stall number, and we appreciate your patience....More

Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

Myself and my family went here and it was very disappointing to say the least. First of all, the price was ridiculous; if you showed your AMA membership you got 10%off!ONE ADMISSION, not of the total price. For my family of 4 adults it was...More

Thank Jennifer B
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. Unlike many other Zoos, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding, and rely solely on admission rates to operate the Zoo year round, however we are pleased...More

Reviewed July 28, 2017

2 stars now cause year after year no renovations done to liven up the look and feel of the place. Just visited today, July 28, 2017. No fresh paint anywhere either, NO new updated animal info signs either! Frustrating to witness and pay a ton...More

Thank Nolpreen
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We would like to appoligize for the late response to your concerns, but we are please to inform you that things are changing for the better. We now are housing 2 cheetahs, we have began...More

Reviewed July 16, 2017

Show your BCAA membership card for a 10% discount. The train wasn't running and there was a bit of construction but it was a good day for our 6 year old and 3 adults. There was staff at every turn and the animal enclosures were...More

2  Thank Bonnie S
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our facility and we are pleased to inform you that we are planning extensive renovations in the coming years! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed July 13, 2017

Well this zoo is a real gem. At least it is for a zookeeper like me. Most enclosures are vast and naturally structured (as in a patch of forest with a fence around it). When building them, they seem to have thought about the animals...More

1  Thank DorisHeimgartner
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with us! Animal welfare and health is our highest priority. However, we are please to inform you that we are in the process of planning extensive renovations in the coming years and we are...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites
489 reviews
1.41 km away
Best Western Plus Country Meadows Inn
326 reviews
3.43 km away
BROOKSIDE INN Boutique Hotel
514 reviews
7.85 km away
Sandman Hotel Abbotsford Airport
91 reviews
8.98 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 56 restaurants in Aldergrove
Bob's Bar n' Grill
154 reviews
3.70 km away
Fox & Hounds
77 reviews
3.33 km away
Mazatlan Mexican Restaurant
51 reviews
3.02 km away
Tomo Sushi
50 reviews
3.30 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 8 attractions in Aldergrove
Fox & Hounds Pub and Restaurant
17 reviews
3.33 km away
Twilight Drive-In
18 reviews
3.09 km away
Alder Grove Heritage Society and Telephone Museum
5 reviews
3.60 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Trekkerchel
April 26, 2018|
Answer
Response from Bill M | Reviewed this property |
I’m not sure there is a great way. The zoo is a good distance from downtown.
0
Votes
ShelleyB1033
April 7, 2018|
Answer
Response from Jessica D |
Yes, you can rent them from the zoo for $10 with picture ID.
0
Votes
ShelleyB1033
April 7, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bill M | Reviewed this property |
I would say that the vast majority of it is very wheelchair accessible.
0
Votes