We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adventures By H.I.P.

Features Animals
Sooke, Canada
More
About Adventures By H.I.P.
Eco tourism and Ocean Adventure attraction. Explore the open waters of the Strait of Juan de Fuca with the experienced wildlife photographers of Adventures By HIP. We are Sooke, BC's premier ocean tour service for true wildlife enthusiasts. Adventures By HIP is located at the doorstep of the Sooke Harbour Resort and Marina and only steps away from The Prestige Oceanfront Resort.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 7:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
See all hours
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travellers talk about

Adventures By H.I.P.
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
203Reviews3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 200
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Marin wrote a review Jul. 23
1 contribution
I took a tour with them last Saturday and it was easily one of the highlights of my life. Humpbacks have been a dream of mine since I could remember, and we were lucky enough to see four of them, as well as lots of orcas, seals and sea lions. Mike was our guide and he was extremely friendly, fun, and professional at the same time. He knew exactly where to take us to see the best wildlife, and did a perfect job of giving us this amazing opportunity while also respecting the boundaries of the animals. The guides on the vessels took the images for us, so we didn't have to worry about fumbling around with a camera. The vessels were great also, and it was easy to view either side of the boat from any seat you were in. The rest of the staff were also very friendly. This part is off topic, but the younger girl with the beanie (sorry I never got your name haha), she was very sweet and gave me so much helpful information about marine courses. If you are reading this, thank you so much! All in all, this experience was life changing and I will forever be recommending Adventures by HIP to anyone looking for something to do on Vancouver Island! Thanks again! Marin <3
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from SarahElJefe, Owner at Adventures By H.I.P.
Responded today
Hi Marin! We are thrilled to hear that your tour resonated with you so strongly. Thank you so much for this thoughtful review, and thank you for acknowledging the efforts that Captain Mike puts in to allow you to experience as much wildlife as possible. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time on the water with us! We're also excited that you are pursuing your passions and finding your place in the marine industry. We hope to see you again in the future, and to hear about your salty endeavors! - Girl with the beanie (Abby)
Read more
Saeed S wrote a review Jul. 21
Inuvik, Canada2 contributions
Mike, Sarah, and Abby are all professional, responsive, and very caring and friendly. Their family business is worth the try over the bigger companies. Not just because it is cheaper. They take you with a small group of people in a small boat which allows whales to feel comfortable and come very close to the boat. You can see them again and again circling the boat and investigating you, a behavior known as "mugging." A bit scary but certainly worth it. Mike and Abby are also very knowledgeable and provide you with information about whales and plenty of other marine life you will see on the trip. You don't even have to take pictures, as Mike is taking care of that and sends them too you, so you can you focus on what is out there instead of your own lens. Highly Recommended....and of course thank you Abby, Sarah, and Mike! :)
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from SarahElJefe, Owner at Adventures By H.I.P.
Responded today
Hi Saeed! Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We are so glad you got to experience mugging, regardless if it can be a bit scary the first time! We only get mugged a couple times per season, so it's very special for everyone onboard when it does happen. We are so fortunate to have such an abundance of wildlife here in The Strait of Juan de Fuca, and we are always eager to share it with our wonderful guests. Thank you for choosing HIP for your adventure and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Tripper11 wrote a review Jul. 21
Powell River, Canada24 contributions11 helpful votes
Nine of us went out on a blue sky, breezy day for close to 3 hours. Mikes boat has very comfortable seating and easily takes the swells commonly found on the Yuan de Fuca Straight. We headed West and within 1/2 a hour Mike spotted a fin wave and moving in closer we were soon surrounded by a school of about 15 or more Humpback whales! They did numerous fin waves and tail showing but no breaching. It was quite the thrill to be among these huge animals. There were young calves swimming along side their moms. We travelled with the group for probably a hour enjoying the sight of so many all around us. We then travelled further West hoping to see Orcas but no luck. We followed the shore line closely on the way back and found a baby seal sunning on a rock with its mom. All in all a very nice experience enjoyed by all, right from Sarah having the forms all ready, to the clean, sanitized survival overalls passed out. They even had all weather gear for the 3 & 4 years olds. Thanks Mike & Sarah for the great experience! Can hardly wait to see the pictures taken by Mike and sent free to guests!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
JoTravels2011 wrote a review Jul. 13
Vancouver, Canada31 contributions37 helpful votes
We have been on many whale watching tours all over the Pacific but this was by far the worst experience we have ever had. The seas were very choppy - we did not feel safe. The ride was extremely rough, too much speed for the conditions and we actually were hurting from the hits. We got soaked and couldn’t see through the spray most of the time. We did see whales for about 20 minutes but not worth the 4 hours of torture to get there. We came home absolutely drenched and glad it was over.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SarahElJefe, Owner at Adventures By H.I.P.
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Joanne, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your Adventure with us. You are absolutely correct that the seas were indeed rough. To call them choppy would actually be an extreme understatement. The seas rough and the waves were quite large, but thankfully all of our vessels are quite capable of navigating through these conditions and believe it or not, we have been out in much worse. We can certainly understand however, how the severity of the conditions could be misinterpreted by those who are not as experienced on the seas as ourselves and we feel bad if you did not feel safe on the ride, but as you may have noticed; We were one of many, many whale watching boats that were out in the exact same conditions, on the exact same type of boats that you yourself were on that day. During the months of June and July, conditions like these are quite common in our area of the Salish Sea, and although it can be uncomfortable to get soaked, and ride the bumps, the encounters we have with our wildlife are often quite rewarding as they were on your tour. Our vessel actually did not exceed speeds of 18knots (approx 32kmh) while navigating the rough waters, and our vessels are actually all capable of speeds in excess of 40knots. Again, we do understand how this could be misinterpreted by non-mariners. For clarification, we typically only stay out for 2.5-3 hours on our tours, but as you stated in your review, we actually stayed out for a total of 4 hours that day. As the Captain had expressed to the group; "no one is more disappointed" than the captain himself when we do not see whales, which is why we put in a full extra hour to allow everyone to enjoy the whales that we did find at the 3 hour mark of the tour(not 20 minutes as you mistakenly stated in your review) The reason we stayed the extra full hour on the tour was to ensure that everyone aboard was able to enjoy the absolutely MAGICAL show that we were blessed with! Your group was able to witness a 6 month old Humpback Whale Calf, breeching and tail slapping over and over again. This is something that we as whale watchers who spend hundreds of hours per year on the water only have the pleasure of seeing and handful of times per season. The captain himself was absolutely EXHAUSTED that evening and truth be told, he has never in his career had to work so hard to find whales and please the group, but as it was a " mixed group" tour (not a private tour), we unfortunately could not abandon the search to please 1 person out of a 10 person mixed group tour. For the sake of others reading this reply, we would advise that if you are not the adventurous type; that you kindly either book a private tour that can be tailored to your specific needs, or book with a company that provides a less adventurous outing aboard the large 75-200 passenger vessels that run out of Victoria. Although you may have come back feeling a bit rattled, the rest of the group did thank us for the extra effort that we did put in this day, and we were very thankful for the praise we were given for our extreme efforts. We are also very thankful for the tip that your husband left for the captain. Happy and Safe travels!
Read more
MacFamily wrote a review Jul. 10
Calgary, Canada3 contributions
Most memorable experience!!! This year was our second trip to Sooke and our second AND third time whale watching with Mike and Sarah. Mike and Sarah love what they do and they truly share in the joy that YOU experience when seeing the most majestic animals in the ocean. Our private tour (family of six) was amazing and we were able to see a humpback whale up close. I returned for a second tour a few days later and lost count of the number of humpback whales we saw - including a mother and baby!!! We can’t wait to see the pictures and visit you, our new friends again!!!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from SarahElJefe, Owner at Adventures By H.I.P.
Responded 1 week ago
Hello MacLellans! Thank you for joining us again this year. We had an absolutely wonderful time with your family and we are so happy to hear that Sooke has now become an annual trip for you. We are looking forward to many more experiences with our new friends! Cheers!
Read more
Previous
123456